We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!!! Will be returning!!!”
Review of Hotel St. Germain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. Germain
Ranked #3 of 23 Dallas B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel and its staff made our anniversary better than we could have ever imagined!!! From the time you walk in, you feel like you have stepped out of Dallas into old world France!!! Everything about this hotel is amazing! The service is impeccable! The food is FANTASTIC! The wine selection and liquor is worth every penny! We stayed in Suite 2 and loved every second of it!!! The beds have multiple pillows! The bath tub is huge and relaxing! They have many extras in the room! They have a turn down service at night which is fantastic!!! Seriously, every single part of our trip was memorable and amazing!!! I do not have a single negative thing to say about the Hotel St. Germaine! If you are looking for a romantic getaway and have money to spend, this is the place to come!!! I hope you enjoy your stay and dinner, as much as my fiancé and I did! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymousfrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family has had several New Year's dinners here but we never got lucky enough to stay here on that evening. This year my husband and I did and the experience was even more delightful than past dinners. Meagan went out of the way to customize our stay and accomodate us and all of our needs to the point of having special items in the room when we checked into suite 1. It is an amazing room and we adored the balcony!!

The dinner was superb as always and we enjoyed that with our family. Unfortunately, my mother in law is making a habit of goint to the ER in an ambulance and she did that the night before New Years so we had to change our dinner reservations from 7 people to 5 people that day. No problem. She was really sorry to miss the meal, but she seems fine now until the next issue comes up (very tough few months with them).

When we checked in before meeting our family for dinner, we were greeted by name and swiftly got all our items moved to our suite (yes, the fruit and cheese platter was appreciated). I wish I recall the lovely dark haired lady who checked us in because she immediately showed me pictures on her cell phone and later at midnight when we came back downstairs, introduced me to her husband. My husband and I had a delightful conversation just after midnight about our common interest. We were able to request a few drinks from the bar and they were deliverd to us in the parlor by a very nice maitre de.

It was a lovely evening followed by a delicious breakfast the following morning. Ivan presented us a nice fruit cup, delicious sausage egg souflle, and fresh pastries with tea and juice. He later helped us get everything out of our suite to our car.

Dinner and ALL service was fantastic!! Meagan was even there the following morning to wish us a Happy 2013 and give us a package of black eyed peas, corn bread, and cabbage for good luck in the New Year. That was a nice surprise and just part of the ambvience this hotel offers.

I can not say enough about the beautiful experience, we might need to go back for our anniversary this year even though we live here in Dallas. It was a magical New Year's Eve and a wonderful start of the New Year. We hope to do it again next year!!

Hope this does not trip my luck into booking a suite here next year because now everyone will want it!!! For me, service is the issue. I adore the Waldorf-Astoria in NYC for service and although meals at the Hotel St. Germain have always been fabulous, now I can add Five Star room's to this hotel. So glad we stayed here this night and am looking forward to more nights there!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carrbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staff is extremely gracious, welcoming, helpful, friendly, and proud to serve.
Breakfast is just as i remembered it in Provence. Did not do dinner but food looked wonderful and ambience is very quiet.
Other reviews are spot on.
Nobu is across the street!

Room Tip: rooms next to stairway door may hear it close (kind of loud)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1HighStandard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have been enjoying St. Germain for 7 years. We stay here every year on our anniversary in suite 3. The moment we drive up we feel like we've escaped the real world. Friendly service, beautiful rooms, top notch meal - we love it all! If you want romance, stay here. If you want a great nights sleep - stay here. If you want first class service - stay here!

Room Tip: Each room is full of romance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmandaFoxy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed in Suite 2. This is quaint hotel and a voyage back to provencial France. All the antiques and furnishings, wow! We were greated with old time keys for our room, a cheese and champagne tray waited in the room. The service was fantastic. We stayed and had dinner here, an unbelievable 8 course meal. You must try their fresh baked bread and homemade french pralines. St Germain is located in the heart of Dallas, near the Arts District and lots of other restaurants. It is a little pricey, but well worth it for a special occasion. We took advantage of it for an wedding anniversary night away.

Room Tip: Look at their website, all are listed with their decor and price. We had suite 2 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LT_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have been at the hotel for dinner two out of three of the last New Year's Eve celebrations and the food has been fantastic. We are very much looking forward to this New Year's Eve as well. The service has been wonderful in the past.

We almost lucked into a suite for this New Years after a last minute cancelation, but it did not work out. Our loss, we will try for next year. If we do not go to the Carribean for our anniversary this year, we will definetely try for a suite here in May of next year. They even allow pets!

We can only say the food has been wonderful and can not wait to actually stay there and experience one of the suites. A very wonderful experience so far.

Sharon

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Having visited numerous high quality hotels on 3 continents I can say without equivocation that our suite was the most spotlessly clean ever experienced. The beautiful drapery, magnificent French antique furnishings, and overall attention to detail within the suite was magnificent.
Chosen as one of the best restaurants in America by Zagat Survey, I can attest to the excellent French cuisine offered in the dining room. Dinner is a candlelit dining experience accompanied by silver and Limoges china served by white gloved waiters. A truly elegant evening leaving one with fond memories of how life should be lived.

The proprietor Claire Heymann deserves the accolades she has received from the press. Special mention goes to Cathryn the receptionist as well as the French Head Waiter, Christian.

Room Tip: Suite # 3 is simply maginificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdalainduna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
The Fairmont Dallas
#16 of 207 in Dallas
2,146 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 207 in Dallas
1,205 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 207 in Dallas
7,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 207 in Dallas
2,672 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#12 of 207 in Dallas
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Germain

Address: 2516 Maple Ave, Dallas, TX 75201-1951
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Dallas
Price Range: $200 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic Victorian hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing