We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Grandeur in downtown Dallas!”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I can't say enough about the benefits of staying at the Adolphus! Beautiful architecture, both inside and out, courteous, competent, eager to assist and professional staff throughout, were what we expected and received at this hotel. Our yearly convention is held in Dallas & we know we have the best hotel one could ask for-thank you Adolphus! See you next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marti32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,397 - 2,403 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

I loved everything about this hotel. The rooms were decorated elegantly and traditionally. The lobby and other common areas seemed authentically historical and refined. The beds were so comfortable, and the linens were very crisp and pretty. Our room had a HUGE closet as well as spacious bathroom. The service was professional and welcoming, not at all stuffy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erazsicxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Adolphus is a lovely hotel. Very old fashioned and very well taken care of. I thouroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spmklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Stayed on a Monday night in the Summer during a business trip, landed a fantastic AAA great. Absolutely magnificent lobby. Staff was friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable. I had a mid-level room, which was huge and very nicely appointed.

On the downside, as pointed out in other reviews, it had tissue paper thin walls. Fortunately, I had quiet neighbors. Also, there are probably better neighborhoods or parts of this city to stay in, this part was sort of dull and borderline sketchy. Finally, the Rodeo Bar/Restaurant had a good bartender but had a lame menu and was a pretty weak scene.

Overall, I had a pleasant stay for my limited needs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I attend the Dallas convention center every year here and we always stay at the Adolphus. When I say "we," I mean thousands of women at the same time in the Adolphus and surrounding downtown hotels. We first were given a room with only one bed and had to be moved to the double bed room we had reserved. The next day I walked into the room at 5:30 PM and the housekeeping staff were just starting to clean our room. She left that day with only wiping down the bathroom and making the beds; no garbages emptied or floors cleaned. Several colleagues had trouble this year with not getting any new towels, or housekeeping leaving wet towels behind on the floor. Typically, this is NOT the Adolphus standard, so I'm guessing they must have laid off some staff due to the economy. That's the only excuse I'll make for them.

Room service was excellent, but you can also eat a great buffet downstairs at the Bistro. There's a nice burger restaurant also in the hotel that we ate at a couple of times, but the food quality wasn't consistent. First it was great, but the last time it was terrible.

Mixed opinions from fellow colleagues might suggest we'll try one of the other hotels this year. The Rennaissance has always been great, but not within walking distance of the convention center like the Adolphus is.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zbison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I had a wonderful time this summer at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas Texas. The hotel itself is exquisite. The hotel staff were friendly and bent over backwards to do whatever was needed to accomodate my needs. The food was delicious. The service was outstanding. It was in easy walking distance to the convention center. I enjoyed the walk, but they do have shuttle service available.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5,757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Great location to conduct business and convenient for other leisure activities.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttercup76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 207 in Dallas
7,122 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#11 of 207 in Dallas
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 207 in Dallas
1,204 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 207 in Dallas
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: $218 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing