We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #17 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The ambiance of this hotel was outstanding. I especially loved that there was an afternoon tea service. The rooms were clean, certainly roomy, not that "hotel squashed in feeling".
Room service was prompt as well as tasty. Also, QUIET!!! Greatly enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

How very kind of you to take the time to write about your recent Adolphus experience.

We appreciate knowing that we impress, night after night.

Thank you for your compliments and high praise!

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,479
    574
    247
    134
    90
See reviews for
342
838
167
820
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent our 44th wedding anniversary at our favorite place ever, The Adolphus Hotel in downtown Dallas. Their staff is beyond compare, from the friendly greeting by the doorman to the ease of checking in by their excellent front desk staff. While we were dining downstairs at The French Room, the turn-down person noticed a button sitting on our desk and left a sewing kit for us. I was going to request one the next morning, but they anticipated my needs, as all their staff seems to do. The French Room is well worth the money. We love it and they make you feel like kings and queens while there. The wine parings with the prix fixed meal perfectly matched each course. I can't wait to see the rooms when they are finished with the remodel they are doing. Will definitely be returning in September for my birthday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Julie,

We are delighted that your romantic getaway at The Adolphus was all that you dreamed.

Thank you for including The French Room as part of your 44th wedding anniversary celebration. It is truly an extraordinary experience.

All of our staff wishes you both continued happiness. We look forward to seeing you on your birthday in September.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Adolphus Hotel is about 100 years old, and that is both its charm and its chief problem. The entry is grand, and reflects the sort of old world charm that many of us love. But the car entrance is too small and crowded. The rooms are very large, but seem old. The bathrooms are large but not particularly modern. However, once you decide to accept the hotel for what it is, it is wonderful. You won't have the gleaming marble and high tech showers, but you will have a wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is at the edge of the West End with all of the restaurants and clubs, and is a couple of blocks from Neiman-Marcus. The French Room is high end dining, and guests in the hotel get about a 25% reduction in the cost of the prix fixe meal. This hotel is virtually unique in Dallas, and well worthy of a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddymedbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and travel insight. We appreciate your praise for our staff, too. They look forward to your return.

All the best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Well, what can i say about this hotel. i can't fault it. There was one little thing. We arrived at around 4pm and went to the check-in desk where we were warmly greeted (by a very attractive girl). On our booking, they had down a King room. As i was travelling with my brother ths was not suitable. After looking at her monitor she said there weren't any double rooms left. She went to see the manager and were pleasently surprised thet not only did we get a free upgrade to a deluxe double Queen room but she also waived the cost of internet access entirely.

The room was beaytiful appointed with a huge bathroom and walk-in closet.The location is perfect within walking distance of Dealey pPlaza and other attractions. Howvever, you hardly ned walk as they provide free transoprtation from the hotlel within a 3 mile radius. That is plently - Dealey Plaza, The Aquarium, The Nature & Science museum etc. On top of this, if you need to drop off or pick up a car, ther is an Avis right next to the hotel. Plently of places to eat nearby and the hotel has it's own little bar and grill downstairs. if you're flush with cash there is the French Room but we didn't eat there. The only downer is the cost of the valet parkng but as we only needed it for 1 night it was done..oh, and plently of lifts. Great hotel, great location. Fab.

Room Tip: Just ask - they can only say no. Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackcatladder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind compliments and helpful insight about The Adolphus.

We appreciate your letting other travelers know about our complimentary luxury sedan service and the nearby attractions.

Our management and staff hope you and your brother return very soon.

Cordially,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The atmosphere was very oldy-worldly but amenities up to date as we wanted
Sunday brunch was OK - [someone needs to look into those artificial scrambled eggs !!!]
The front desk was quite helpful, here and there ...

next time MUST do French Room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Barbara,

We appreciate your kind compliments and valuable feedback.

You are quite right. The French Room is a must.

Thank you!

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Hill, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We travel to Dallas for pleasure which means a stay at the Adolphus and a sumptuous treat with a visit to the French Room restaurant. The Adolphus is a unique experience compared to the upscale chain hotels. The detailed craftsmanship and materials would be too costly to reproduce today. Coupled with the impeccable service of a staff dedicated to satisfy and spacious, quiet and well-appointed rooms, you are sure to enjoy your stay. The hotel is in the process of a planned renovation to continue its legacy. It has aged gracefully, but the redo will be welcome.

You have to plan a dinner in the French Room. It is hard to describe adequately with superlatives the service, ambiance and cuisine. It is the reason we return.

Room Tip: Check their website for special packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate knowing that we are your favorite hotel - and The French Room is your favorite restaurant.

Your high praise means so much to our management and staff.

Thank you, kindly.

Best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed here for a week while visiting Dallas on business. The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The lobby bar is a great place to have breakfast. The rooms are most comfortable and large compared with today's hotel standards. The only deficiency is with the housekeeping. Although the housekeepers are excellent, no one seems to be in charge. And some things, like setting the clock to the correct time, ensuring note paper is available near the phone were never looked after during my stay, in spite of repeated requests. The problem with housekeeping is NOT the staff but the supervisors. And if you expect to be back in your room during the day (on a multi-day stay) be sure to ask for housekeeping to pay early attention to your room. Otherwise, it probably will not get serviced until very late in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Akard Street -- there is a nice view of the small square at Main and Akard (sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your compliments and high praise are much appreciated, as are your helpful suggestions and feedback (both will be used toward further training).

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,915 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#7 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#16 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing