We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Adolphus, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
$179
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$269
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$221
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$139
$129
MagnoliaHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Dallas Hotel(Dallas)
$181
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,747)
Filter reviews
2,747 results
Traveler rating
1,622
621
265
141
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,622
621
265
141
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench roomrodeo barbeautiful historic hotelclassic hotelneiman marcusroom servicewalk in closetlobby barvalet parkingjunior suiteheart of downtownsitting arearooms are largean older hotelrooftop poolconvention centerconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,262 - 1,267 of 2,747 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The room was a nice size and the most fun part of the hotel was the decor. The second floor bar/tearoom is gorgeous and it's like you get to step back in elegant charm to days gone by. I had fun taking pictures everywhere. It has such a personality and it keeps the past alive but without being dated.

The view we had was amazing at night when the building outside was lit up. Dallas isn't much of a happening city unfortunately so it's shocking to see how little there is to do. However the hotel is around the corner from the most active area for nice restaurants. The Mexican restaurant Iron Cactus was AMAZING. It's across the street - do go there if you like Mexican food. Nice dining area and the service was incredible. Just taking about it makes me want to fly in for some more of their food.

The only negative part of the stay was walking into the room to find the toilet plugged with excrement and it flooding the floor when I flushed it thinking perhaps it wasn't flushed from the last visitor. Mind you, this should have been taken care of by the cleaning staff.. They were *very* quick to come fix it but it was shocking that there wasn't much of a sorry, or a drink coupon or anything offered for such a horrible way to enter the room.

However, despite the initial bad entry, the rest of the stay was very enjoyable. I was worried because many note that the hotel is dated, but i think there is a distinct difference between being shabby and worn and having decor from another time yet keeping all of the charm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DingerzDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for expressing your appreciation for the hotel's history and modern charms. Only a few hotels in the country can equal its century of service.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return.

Best regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have to praise the staff, they were also very helpful and kind. The hotel lacks for the star rating given.

The linens and beds were not ideal. The beds are rock hard, the bathrooms are freezing in the winter months. Bed sheets were stained, and when they changed them, they were still yellowed with age.. The pillows/linens are comparable to a motel 6. Even Motel 6 has nicer bed & pillows.

The bathroom was not clean, the shower curtain had rust stains on them, the water pressure was very low, and the tub had rust stains on it as well.

The "heat lamp" in the bathroom is a joke. Their temperature control in the rooms was horrid. They don't have an ice machine on any floor, you have to call in room service for ice. Out of 6 elevators, only 3 were working. The shuttle runs every 20 minutes, and it's only running from 8-8PM. They charge you after that.

Parking is a nightmare, but don't worry you can always pay 28 dollar for their nightly parking, and you have use the valet because you can't park yourself.

There is a daily charge for the hotel pool/gym. There is a daily charge for the WiFi.

Needles to say, I will not be returning to this hotel, nor recommending it. Yes, I understand it's a historical landmark, and it's an old hotel, but they still need to make some desperate changes to the quality of their rooms/services.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are colder from what I was told by staff.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank her727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your disappointing experience. Our senior management team is looking into your complaints and will be following up.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The Adolphus is an old favorite and it didn't disappoint. The quaint small suites come with furniture and a bathroom straight out of 1971, with a few broken tiles and soap dishes. Overall the Adolphus is still one of the most elegant hotels you'll find but it
would be nice if management would bring her into the 21st Century.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Hattrick56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the feedback. Your comments will help guide future refurbishments.

Thank you!

Best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Adolphus is definitely not your run of the mill chain hotel. Its charm and beauty is immediately evident once you step into the lobby. The rich wood paneling and art work sets it apart from the sterile lobbies of the more modern hotels. The executive suite was spacious, well appointed, and very comfortable. We have lived in the Dallas area for over 35 years and we have always wanted to experience the Adolphus. So we decided on the hotel and downtown Dallas for a short "local get away" over the MLK holiday. Glad we did. The only disappointment was the French Room was closed during our visit, but that gives us an excuse to return. What an elegant place!
RDH

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 830Ranger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

We hope you will return to experience The French Room.

Thank you!

Best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We love the "old world" classy look of this hotel. It has a very rich history and is ideally located in the center of downtown. The lobby itself is worth the visit. We have stayed here many times over the years and have never been disappointed.

If you go, spend the extra money and go to the hotel's French Room restaurant. You are in for a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justbeachy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that we impress you each time you stay with us.

Thank you for your compliments - and for recommending The French Room.

All the best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews