We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel!”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is the perfect hotel for anyone who is tired of boring, chain hotels. Great ambiance, wonderful staff and convenient location. This is a unique property with lots of history. Fabulous place for a romantic getaway weekend, especially with a dinner at the French Room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your experience is what we strive for every day. We are so pleased that you are impressed with everything at The Adolphus.

The French Room is a treasure, to be sure.

Thank you for letting other travelers know about your recent stay. We appreciate it.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    586
    251
    135
    91
See reviews for
348
848
168
838
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Recently had to stay in Downtown Dallas for a work event at the weekend. Being a "road warrior" you get used to hotels, the typical cookie cutter experience, where you just know what you are going to get - and even to the point where you can identify the room layout in the dark (sometimes that's handy) The Adolphus was NOT one of these cookie cutter type hotels, and was in fact a boutique type experience, but with a sense of history and elegance class. The staff, at every turn were helpful, knowledgable and down right friendly. The hotel decor, while not funky modernism, makes you feel homely, and welcoming. The rooms were great, spacious, comfortable and did I mention spacious - nothing worse that feeling like a mouse in a cage. All in all i thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Adolphus and would recommend to other business travelers or couples (or anyone really) looking for an enjoyable and comfortable stay in Downtown Dallas.

Room Tip: I didn't have the chance to sample any of the additional amenities, but if they are at the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Brad,

As a road warrior, you know the hotel industry well. We are delighted that The Adolphus impresses you - with its service and accommodations.

Thank you for your endorsement. It means so much to our staff to be appreciated.

We hope you will stay with us, again, soon.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent an overnight with my daughter just to get away for a day and it was beautiful. Everyone we encountered was extremly polite. The room was fabulous and spacious, the view was great too. I am coming back next month with my husband. We walked all around the area and did not need the car. thanks to all for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frdrices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that your mother daughter trip exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to share this with other travelers.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I hate writing bad reviews, and this is not really bad, it is just disappointing... I spent three nights here in January on business. I looked up the hotel and was intrigued by it's apparent grandure. You can tell that at one time it was an amazing property and that was some time ago. It is still nice and clean, but lacked updating. Things like brass were old and tarnished and worn out. With millions of dollars of restoration, it could be a grande dame again, but as she sits, she is old and tired.
It is known for it's 5 star French restaurant which I cannot comment on as I never ate there. The country western style, throw your peanuts on the floor, was quite welcoming and had good food and beer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sean,

Please accept our apologies for your disappointing visit.

Your feedback is invaluable, and we will take it to heart.

Thank you.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for business in early January for 3 days. The hotel has old school elegance, the staff was very prompt and courteous and the rooms were very nice compared to your typical chain hotel. The fitness had modern equipment and large enough to that you didn't feel cramped.

Room Tip: I did not use the spa, but the fitness center is very modern and above what you see at most hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and kind words. We are most grateful for your praise.

We appreciate knowing that the fitness center met your needs as well.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

You cannot beat this hotel in charm and elegance, its hard to believe you are in downtown Dallas. We are lucky to spend our nights (we have stayed here 6 times) in the suites with a terrace, it is truly a wonderful stay. From the Sales staff to the Valet everyone is so nice, they all seem to have worked at the hotel a long time. The location is perfect for wondering downtown and the views can be pretty cool depending on where your room is. Stay at Christmas time and enjoy the beautiful decorations, they do an outstanding job. They will be going through some renovations soon, we have heard they will retain the charm and characteristics that make the Adolphus the gem in downtown Dallas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HI1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

In a few words you have captured the essence of The Adolphus.

Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our historic hotel and the staff who welcomes guests with warmth and kindness.

We are delighted that you have found a home away from home with us.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you want to know the meaning of service, this is the place to stay. Many employees have a long history at this location. The lobby is so beautiful and antique. The rooms are large in size with views of downtown Dallas. I was told that they will be remodeling the rooms soon, which will be nice. Tho the rooms are nice and comfortable now, they are a bit outdated. But that doesn't take away from the charm and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Angie,

Thank you for recognizing our century of service. It is an honor to welcome guests from throughout the world who appreciate our history and splendid decor.

We look forward to your next visit.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,221 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing