We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Adolphus”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Adolphus”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a fantastic stay over Thanksgiving week this year at the Adolphus. The staff was friendly; the doormen were terrific; the hotel was clean and nicely maintained. If we go back to Dallas, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fingers769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a grand time at The Adolphus.

Thank you for letting us know.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    589
    251
    135
    91
See reviews for
349
856
169
843
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Spent two nights at the Adolphus. Eva at front desk was excellent, took good care of us. Beautiful historic hotel. You definitely want to hang out in the gorgeous lobby and enjoy high tea or a drink at the bar. The Christmas tree was stunning. Good sized room was clean and well maintained. Make sure you bring your dinner jacket to eat at the French Room. If not, the Rodeo Bar and Grill is a fun atmosphere with good food. Perfect location, close to everything. Two double bed junior suite was the perfect size for a family of four. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Lisa,

You made our staff's day with your beautiful compliments.

Thank you for letting them know that they impress you with their service, accommodations and unique amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I recently had an overnight stay at the Adolphus. The room was well appointed and updated while still retaining a classic feel. The bed was comfortable and the sitting area was useful even in my smaller, standard room. Being a historic property it features rich wood paneling in the lobby and elevators. The lobby bar was busy but the service remained very good. The staff was friendly without being pushy.

One last point: the room was a very good value. I recommend this hotel for any visitors to the downtown area of Dallas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your kind compliments. Our management and staff appreciate the recommendation very much.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Even though we live in Dallas area suburb we and a group of friends do an annual evening and night stay at the Adolphus Hotel during the period preceding Christmas. If weather permits we do a bike ride of the Downtown Dallas followed by a fine dinning experience. Last year we did the Adolphus's French Room, that is one of the finest restaurants in the Metro Area. This year, weather to cold to ride, we toured the Ross Perot Museum a short walk from the hotel. If your looking for a extraordinary hotel experience book the Adolphus.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

You are most kind, and we appreciate it.

Thank you so much.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

It pains me to write this, especially after a "5" earlier this year. I love Dallas and the history that the Adolphus represents. But....I think this hotel has fallen badly!

On this visit, we stayed two nights while in town for family events and holiday shopping. On arrival, we were given room 1420, a large room up a small flight of stairs from the elevator. As noted on my prior review, the room was quiet, and the bed was wonderful. On the first night, our room was a bit cold, but we attributed that to the cold air and a large bank of windows across our room.

The following morning, we left the room early for a day of errands and shopping - after phoning housekeeping to request daily linen and towel change. When we returned shortly before 5 PM, some 8 1/2 hours after our departure, we were shocked to find that the room had not been serviced! After a call to housekeeping, we did receive service. As we left for the evening, we noted the room was quite cold. In spite of setting the thermostat at 77 degrees (!), the room was chilly at the time of our return and stayed that way all night. As we had departed for the evening, we had requested the front desk to have maintenance check the temperature, but there was no evidence they did.

Other things we noticed on this trip:

1. The hotel seems understaffed and the staff who've been there before (we recognize them from prior stays) seem a little unenthusiastic. In particular, the front desk folks seemed like they were "going through the paces"!

2. The hotel is getting shopworn, The beautiful, small paneled elevators are showing terrible wear (see picture).

Dallas deserves to have the hotel be a Grande Dame! But, I think it requires some physical work and some enhanced management. Perhaps a sale or a takeover by an upscale hotelier (think Waldorf Astoria, J. W. Marriott, etc.) would rectify things. Sadly, we won't be staying here again anytime soon.

And, I hope management doesn't respond to this post by the usual "I'll pass it on" platitude. Please, please, fix things, because I so want to love the Adolphus again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andaltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Amazing hotel through and through. Rooms are lovely with king sized beds and separate tv view room. Staff on arrival very welcoming and reception staff very efficient. Wonderful ambience throughout the hotel with chandaliers, baroque styling, comfy sofas and grand piano. We were very happy during our stay and if in Dallas again, would not hesitate to stay there.

Amanda & Robert, Adelaide, Australia

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda7287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your kind compliments and enthusiastic recommendation.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stay at The Adolphus Hotel in Dallas TX and you will experience an elegant old world charm with all the modern amenities. From the moment you enter the lobby and look at the grandeur of this well preserved lady. Ask about the Steinway concert piano that sits in from of the lobby bar...it has quite a story! The rooms are well furnished with well equipped bathrooms. The French Room is well noted for its fine dinning, and you should not miss the opportunity to dine there. It will always be my favorite place to stay in Dallas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSPlanoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

What high praise and delightful comments!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great stay.

Warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,339 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,885 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
1,154 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 203 in Dallas
3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing