We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Adolphus and nearby great Armenian cafe called Cafe Dan”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Adolphus and nearby great Armenian cafe called Cafe Dan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My stay at the Adolphus was comfortable. It is an older hotel with old wood and great details. Queeen Elizabeth stayed there. The beds were very comfortable. I wasn't crazy about the interior design. It just didn't speak to me. Our room was huge though. It was conveniently close to the convention center. A bit humid and hot in July. The catered food there was pretty good. I did love the little cafe I found around the corner, Cafe Dan. I got the best Gyros sandwich I've ever had. Maybe it was the slight spiciness of it, probably Texas- style, that made it extra yummy and the home made pita bread was something I haven't found in decades. I went there two days in a row once I found it before I had to leave. The owner was expecially nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Janine,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your insight and your travel tips.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    578
    249
    134
    90
See reviews for
345
843
167
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sachse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I honestly have had nicer stays at La Quinta Inn's. We had requested a King Room. The room we received was spacious, clean, as clean as ancient carpet can get and the comforter was newer. That was where the positives ended. It was a queen bed. We could have lived with that, except the center was completely cratered out. There is no way two people can comfortably sleep in that bed. The springs were strung! The sink and bath tub did not drain. The bathroom door did not close. The mini fridge was not stocked. We informed the front desk and were not compensated at all. Even with empathy. The front desk basically said you get what you pay for. Which yes, this was a Groupon. On the Groupon we paid for a king room! We explained. She shrugged. To sour our visit even more. We waited in line for valet for 1/2 and hour. Then another 20 mins for our car. Once in the car I needed to adjust my seat. No problem, until the valet guy told us we needed to leave. I would say this hotel would not need to use the Groupon service to advertise if they actual stood up to what their reputation has been said to be. We will never stay at the hotel again and urge every person looking for a nice hotel to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure they give you the correct room. Don't bring your luggage up until you know for a fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Kelley,

We are very sorry that your stay was so disappointing. Our front office manager was unaware of your complaints. Rest assured, he has addressed each issue with his staff and followed up with the department heads involved.

It is painful when we learn of these disappointments too late. We strive to make every stay perfect, as countless positive reviews attest.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We value your opinion and appreciate the opportunity to make amends for what happened.

Very sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff are really helpful, the rooms are well appointed. The lounge with the piano bar is cozy. What more can you ask for? The hotel reminds me of downtown Chicago hotels when I was a kid.
Not a modern boutique hotel, but old fashioned ambiance. Everyone greets you with a "welcome back" when your return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eab405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments and recommendation. We appreciate knowing that we impressed you with our accommodations and service.

Our management and staff look forward to your return.

With warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We attended a Seminar in Dallas and stayed at the Adolphus for three nights. This is always a very nice place to stay and near the Convention Center. The rooms are spacious and have planty of closet space for us all. The staff always make their guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MissKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

You are most kind and gracious.

Thank you for complimenting our staff!

Cordially,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I are from Melbourne, Australia and we spent 16 days touring Texas. We had a wonderful five day stay at the Adolphus Hotel. It was the best accommodation experience we had in Texas, and the other hotels paled in comparison. Everything we wanted to see and do as tourists was within walking distance. Thank you for memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrotraveller1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a grand time at The Adolphus.

Thank you for choosing us - and for sharing your experience with other travelers!

We hope you will return soon.

Warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We attended MegaFest (4 nights) and stayed at the Adolphus. I liked the ambiance and its old world charm. It's a bit dated, but I loved the spacious guest rooms, large lobby and mezzanine floor. Staff truly make their guests feel right at home. Disappointed there was a fee for WiFI; it should be gratis for your guests. After long sessions at the convention center it was nice to slip downstairs to the friendly staffed restaurant. It was priced right and with the temperatures in the 100's we were pleased with its proximity to the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jkjg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a joy to be a part of MegaFest and welcome you into our home.

We are delighted that we provided a cool and comfortable oasis.

Thank you!

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was really nice. It was 1 mile from the American Airlines Arena. Staff was great. Rooms were spacious. Bistro food was really good. We ate buffet. I heard that the afternoon Tea is luxurious. The town car driver was great

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveledgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that we impressed you with our accommodations and services.

It is a pleasure to have your confidence and trust.

Thank you.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,091 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing