We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could ask for and more!”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Adolphus is a beautiful building with excellent staff. The check in and check out was simple and fast. The rooms are gorgeous and extremely clean. I couldn't believe how amazing the food was! I cannot say enough about the staff, they went above and beyond to cater to every need. They did such a great job in every aspect! We had a fabulous time and can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiev421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Katie,

You made our day!

Thank you for your kind words of praise. This means the world to our management and staff.

We want every guest to have the same experience you did.

May you return often to relive your happy memories of The Adolphus.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,323 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent stay at the Adolphus. Love the classic, Old English decor. The hotel had a lot of character which is hard to find these day. My only complaint was that there was no free wi-fi. For the price that you are paying you would think that it would be included.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apear25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your review is most appreciated by everyone at The Adolphus.

Thank you for the compliments!

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice older hotel right in the heart of downtown Dallas. The staff was super friendly and attentive. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The beds were so comfortable, that just sitting on them makes you want a nap. This was my first stay at this Hotel and I had no complaints. Within walking distance of some neat attractions and many restaurants. The parking attendants were fast and always smiling. The restaurants are slightly expensive. I hear that the piano in the main lobby was supposed to go on the Titanic but was a day late for shipment and missed the boat... Lucky Piano!! I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Mandy,

We are delighted that you had a great stay.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with other travelers. We appreciate your thoughtfulness.

Our management and staff look forward to your return.

With kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I gave the room low marks because the air conditioner wouldn't get cold but they did fix it and they had left an old pizza in the room refrigerator. They had great shuttle service to and from the 3 mile radius.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kholder3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments. We wanted your stay to be flawless, and we sincerely apologize that it was not.

Our management and staff look forward to your return.

Kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have never been disappointed. The staff is exceptional and always willing to help with a smile! The rooms were clean and spacious...And they told me I was in a "small queen". It was perfect! The only issue I had was that the bathroom lighting was a little dark which made putting a makeup a challenge, but other than that I would recommend this hotel to anyone and have! Thank you, Adolphus!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Sherri,

Thank you for recognizing our talented staff. Your high praise is much appreciated by one and all.

We hope you will return soon to relive your happy memories.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I made a reservation with my debit card the week before my one night stay. I called the day we were scheduled to arrive to see about an early check in, and lo and behold, there was no reservation. We arrive and thankfully there was a room, but it was going to the $10 more than the previously agreed up on rate. The front desk guy argued with me for a minute, I told him to check the wedding prices and I was correct, the price was $129 not $139. I give them a credit card for this "new" reservation and we head up to our room. I open the fridge to store my water and there was trash in the refridgerator. GROSS. The room was ok, but not at all updated. There was no cold water the entire time we were there. My husband was miserable over that.

Move to check out time. I tell the front desk guy that we had trash in our room and no cold water. He cuts my bill in half. Supposed to be only $74 & some change. That was nice of them, we leave. Oh and the entire 9th floor smelled like sulphur.

I check my bank accounts on Monday and there is a $228 "pending" charge on my credit card and a "pending" charge on my debit card of $148. THAT'S ALMOST $400 DOLLARS. I called the Adolphus, the lady on the phone was clearly annoyed with me. She assures me that those are JUST authorizations and that they'll fall off and I'll only be charged $74.

Today...I pull up my bank accounts and the $228 did fall off of my credit card and was replaced by the agreed upon $74. However, the was also a charge of $148 on my debit card. No longer pending, it was fully charged. I call the Adolphus AGAIN. Turns out that they misspelled my name when I made the first reservation. I specifically asked the guy at the front desk to search by my debit card # when we arrived and he said they didn't even keep those on file and nothing would be billed. That's obviously not true. SO, I was billed the full price for my original reservation and then the $74 for the crappiest hotel experience in 27 years. But the good news is that I'll get my $148 back in 5-7 days and they're very sorry for the inconvenience.

I'd rather stay at the Holiday Inn. NEVER AGAIN will I stay at the Adolphus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your disappointing stay. Our senior management is working to fully understand and address this.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our last visit was an exceptional experience from the time we arrived to the time we departed. The staff was personable and helpful. The facilities were great for the price.
We had a problem that required first aid assistance. The hotel security people, once they were notified, were prompt, supportive, calming, and helpful. They made an extra effort to make sure we had the bandages and tape necessary to solve the problem. They helped sooth over a situation that would have made our stay less enjoyable. Thanks to them!
The food, the service, and quality of this hotel is excellent. I would recommend the Adolpus to anyone visiting Dallas.

Room Tip: The upper floors provide a better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear William,

Your thoughtful review is much appreciated by all who made your stay exceptional. This level of service and compassion is what we strive for every day.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.

We look forward to your next visit.

With warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 206 in Dallas
6,929 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#12 of 206 in Dallas
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 206 in Dallas
2,073 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 206 in Dallas
1,186 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#25 of 206 in Dallas
4,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: $212 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing