We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Custormer Service Ever!”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have never been disappointed. The staff is exceptional and always willing to help with a smile! The rooms were clean and spacious...And they told me I was in a "small queen". It was perfect! The only issue I had was that the bathroom lighting was a little dark which made putting a makeup a challenge, but other than that I would recommend this hotel to anyone and have! Thank you, Adolphus!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Sherri,

Thank you for recognizing our talented staff. Your high praise is much appreciated by one and all.

We hope you will return soon to relive your happy memories.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

I made a reservation with my debit card the week before my one night stay. I called the day we were scheduled to arrive to see about an early check in, and lo and behold, there was no reservation. We arrive and thankfully there was a room, but it was going to the $10 more than the previously agreed up on rate. The front desk guy argued with me for a minute, I told him to check the wedding prices and I was correct, the price was $129 not $139. I give them a credit card for this "new" reservation and we head up to our room. I open the fridge to store my water and there was trash in the refridgerator. GROSS. The room was ok, but not at all updated. There was no cold water the entire time we were there. My husband was miserable over that.

Move to check out time. I tell the front desk guy that we had trash in our room and no cold water. He cuts my bill in half. Supposed to be only $74 & some change. That was nice of them, we leave. Oh and the entire 9th floor smelled like sulphur.

I check my bank accounts on Monday and there is a $228 "pending" charge on my credit card and a "pending" charge on my debit card of $148. THAT'S ALMOST $400 DOLLARS. I called the Adolphus, the lady on the phone was clearly annoyed with me. She assures me that those are JUST authorizations and that they'll fall off and I'll only be charged $74.

Today...I pull up my bank accounts and the $228 did fall off of my credit card and was replaced by the agreed upon $74. However, the was also a charge of $148 on my debit card. No longer pending, it was fully charged. I call the Adolphus AGAIN. Turns out that they misspelled my name when I made the first reservation. I specifically asked the guy at the front desk to search by my debit card # when we arrived and he said they didn't even keep those on file and nothing would be billed. That's obviously not true. SO, I was billed the full price for my original reservation and then the $74 for the crappiest hotel experience in 27 years. But the good news is that I'll get my $148 back in 5-7 days and they're very sorry for the inconvenience.

I'd rather stay at the Holiday Inn. NEVER AGAIN will I stay at the Adolphus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your disappointing stay. Our senior management is working to fully understand and address this.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our last visit was an exceptional experience from the time we arrived to the time we departed. The staff was personable and helpful. The facilities were great for the price.
We had a problem that required first aid assistance. The hotel security people, once they were notified, were prompt, supportive, calming, and helpful. They made an extra effort to make sure we had the bandages and tape necessary to solve the problem. They helped sooth over a situation that would have made our stay less enjoyable. Thanks to them!
The food, the service, and quality of this hotel is excellent. I would recommend the Adolpus to anyone visiting Dallas.

Room Tip: The upper floors provide a better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear William,

Your thoughtful review is much appreciated by all who made your stay exceptional. This level of service and compassion is what we strive for every day.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.

We look forward to your next visit.

With warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had reservations through American Express Platinum Travel Services as they assured us this hotel was part of their " Fine Hotel and Resort" collection. It is highly recommended they remove this hotel from their list. I've stayed here 29 years ago and yes at that time is was nice. My goodness there have been no renovation since. It is true some things such as antique furniture, beautiful woodwork, luxury flooring, timeless treasured art need no renovation however please replace the toilets and bathtubs! We toured the room and decided to stay at the Omni downtown which had a 98% approval rating. The singing look alike Elvis valet attendant was funny, weird but funny. He did confirm the 19th floor is haunted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Brenda,

Thank you for sharing your view. We appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fit for QE2 and a cowgirl with the blues, this hotel is rare for the US. It's not pretentiously serious. The staff try to please and is respectful of the past and rooted in the reality of where the hotel is situated now... Grand Americana in the Texan twilight. The suite was comfy and a very nice bed made a good nights sleep. Will return here and the food in the Rodeo Grill with peanut shell floor stands testament to the Hi & the Lo in this unique hotel. Then the lobby has the French room nod to grand cuisine bourgeois amidst Mucha for the prairies Painted pastiches. An experience I do declare!

Room Tip: High floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDiscerningHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Our management and staff thoroughly enjoyed your review.

Thank you for your kind words and sense of humor.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location in downtown Dallas. Absolutely beautiful lobby area and main floor. Makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. The room itself was ok. Lots of room, but it was decorated in more of a bad western motif, and very dated. Disappointing after seeing the main floor. It was still a pleasant stay, and you should stay here at least once just because of the history. The building itself is awesome, with very interesting architectural features. Even if you don't stay here, it is well worth your time to go see the building and take a walk through the main floor area. My preference however is to stay in the Magnolia next door.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments.

Best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent our 16th wedding anniversary there last night! We absolutely LOVED everything about the hotel. The quaint antiquity,the beautiful elegance, the service! I'm convinced we had the best room in the house on the 14th floor on the end so we had 2 full walls of windows looking out across the city! We originally stayed to check this off our bucket list, but we loved it so much we will no doubt stay again! Tonight we stay at the Ritz Carlton... They have a lot to live up to!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a joy it is to read that we made your 16th wedding anniversary a night to remember, with elegance and style.

Thank you for including us on your bucket list.

All the best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 206 in Dallas
6,946 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#10 of 206 in Dallas
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 206 in Dallas
2,078 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 206 in Dallas
1,187 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#24 of 206 in Dallas
4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: $203 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing