We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, faded, uninspiring.”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent a night here and wont be returning. The staff are nice and friendly but the decor is old frumpy and worn. I get its a grand dame from days of yor, but it doesnt have to look like it. When we booked, wifi was at least free in the common areas, but when we went down to use it and couldnt, we were told the hotel was bought 2 weeks ago and the first thing the new owners did was to discontinue free wifi. When you are staying for less than 24 hours, a $10 charge is a bit much. How hard and costly is it anyway to offer this sign of the times perk? Sure hope the new owners can brighten this thing up and bit and bring it out of the dark ages into a more vibrant and current experience. Too many other options in the area offering more to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJSW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments about our staff. They deserve high praise, to be sure.

Cordially,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,672 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

I came to Dallas for a conference and enjoyed staying in the Adolphus. While the Historic District may be aptly named, I felt that Dallas itself was not half as charming as the hotel, and if it weren't for the proximity of the Convention Center and the Dallas Art Museum, I may have been in any large impersonal city. The hotel was lovely, with huge lobby and sitting area replete with piano bar in the early evening and a nice bar for Happy Hour. The room I had was huge, and with the two beds, perfect for having my daughter join me for the four days I was in town. WIth the exception of not having a water kettle in my room, I found it a good experience all in all.

Room Tip: I really can't say, but I asked for a quiet room on the upper floors and felt as though I had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

As a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor, you have the experience and expertise to judge a hotel fairly. Your opinion carries great weight among travelers worldwide.

We are honored that you have high praise for The Adolphus. Our staff is delighted that they made you feel welcome - and that their outstanding service reflected favorably on the city.

You are most gracious and kind.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

From the moment my colleague and I checked into the hotel to the moment of departure, the staff was very professional, polite, and courteous. The hotel has a welcoming ambiance from the lobby to the reservation desk to the dining halls. Our room was clean and spacious. We were thrilled to see that there were two wash basins in the bathroom. The room was maintained daily. What especially impressed us was the hotel car/shuttle! The driver accommodated us in a timely and friendly manner. We did not have to deal with taxis or buses! Since this was our first trip to Dallas and we participated in a fast-paced conference, it was a pleasure to come back to the hotel and feel relaxed. Thank you and keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808traveler60595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Adolphus. It is always a joy to welcome guests who have an appreciation for all that we stand for and provide the weary traveler.

Your positive attitude and generosity of spirit obviously draw the best to you.

The complimentary sedan service we offer does rank high on everyone's list of favorite amenities.

Our staff thoroughly enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return.

Mahalo,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Parts of this hotel were really lovely - especially the foyer/lounge area which was very pretty in an Art Nouveau style but parts of it look very faded and past it's best.

The swirly patterned carpets in the hallways leading to the bedrooms put me in mind of cheap Vegas Hotels - they smelt about the same too.

The bedroom was ok - neither really good nor bad but it was spacious. The bathroom was tiled in marble which was nice but spoilt by the avocado green bath and toilet.

We had to wait ages to be seated for breakfast and the staff were pretty indifferent. We didn't bother to eat at the hotel before. The Rodeo bar didn't seem to really fit with the hotel but the bar staff were very friendly.

I'm sure that I would stay here again. The downtown area is pretty dead. If you needed to be at the convention centre then it's probably a good location but other than that there are probably nicer hotels to stay in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

In answer to your headline query, no.

The best is yet to come, with major renovations and refurbishments that will enhance the hotel's grandeur and prestige.

Thank you for staying with us.

Cordially,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

With classic elegance this hotel was a delight to stay in. The reviews I've read are critical of some of the extra charges, but they are typical of a hotel of this caliber. This is not a budget hotel offering free wifi, parking and breakfast. Don't expect it. Hotels at this level simply offer these amenities. If you want them, you just have to pay for them.

That being said, the history of this place dates back to 1912 so the lobby areas and rooms are very large. They have done a remarkable job of keeping the hotel nicely renovated. The lobby has a level of sophistication you don't see in most hotels anymore. The room I stayed in was very nice and clean with a sitting area and two queen beds. The bathroom had nice decor and fixtures.

The service was outstanding. All attendants were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant served a nice breakfast. Overall, it was a delight to stay in such a historic hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your appreciation for The Adolphus and its attributes is beautifully expressed.

Thank you for outlining how budget hotels and luxury hotels differ.

We are grateful, too, for your high praise for our guest rooms, decor, and services. As a senior contributor to TripAdvisor, you have the experience and expertise to judge a hotel fairly.

All of us at The Adolphus wish you happy travels.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Adolphus is a classic grand dame and great place to stay. The rooms are huge and the service good. I stayed there several days and only had 2 complaints. First, they still charge for wifi internet access. Who still charges for internet access? Also, I like a hotel that offers free coffee in the morning in the lobby. The Adolphus does not. Other than these two issues, this is a nice hotel at which to stay in downtown Dallas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Brian,

Thank you for your compliments and kind words. We appreciate your endorsement.

The feedback is invaluable and helps guide our amenities decisions.

We look forward to your return.

With kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I came down to Dallas for the Rock n' Roll Half Marathon. The location was great because it was only half mile from the start and the convention center. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL!! The rooms were very nice and spacious. I absolutely loved the pillows and wish we would've stayed longer so I could've used them more. It was super quiet in the evenings, which for us racing the next morning was very important. I loved the valet, it was a little expensive to park the car, but it was for the whole day. I was pleasantly surprised with our bill, but we also got a discounted rate because of the race. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Kasey,

Your beautiful review of The Adolphus made us all smile. It is a joy to know that we pleased you and your husband at every turn - and won the race.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with other travelers. We are most grateful.

Our staff looks forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 207 in Dallas
7,125 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#11 of 207 in Dallas
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 207 in Dallas
1,205 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 207 in Dallas
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: $218 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing