We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel - Downtown Dallas”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at the Adolphus for 5 nights in a Junior Suite - very nice and clean room, extremely spacious and perfect for a long stay. Was in Dallas for a company convention at the Dallas Convention Center. Hotel is convenient to everything downtown. While we did not take advantage of the upscale dining options (French Room and afternoon tea) due to our schedule - there were plenty of other options that worked well for us.

It's nice to be in a hotel with warmth and character and not a 'convention' hotel - it's what I look for and found at the Adolphus. Staff was very nice. Housekeeping was a little skimpy on towels the first day but after that, no problem.

Easy walking distance to the original Neiman Marcus store. Also downtown drugstore (CVS) easy walking distance. AVIS office, right on the corner.

Room Tip: Stayed on 9th floor - no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharonjarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Sharon,

Our staff appreciates your praise and your compliments. They are especially meaningful, given your length of stay.

We do exude genuine warmth and character. This comes from a century of service, with many seasoned professionals, some with decades of experience in pleasing every guest, every time.

The Adolphus has a prime location, to be sure!

Thank you, Sharon. We hope you will return often.

Kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Adolphus during the big cheerleader compitiion. We arrived about 2 and checkin was very quick. We had a regular king room on the 11th floor. Plenty of room for myself and my daughter. Bed was comfortable, room very clean. Housekeeping was very patience with my teenage daughter who slept till noon and then took another hour to get readyWe had one large window in our room, bummer was it faced another set of rooms so our room did not get much sun. The rooms themselves and especially the bathroom could use more lighting. Linens and towels were very nice, my daughter was thrilled with the bathrobe.
We tried to eat at the bar and grill but the kitchen had already closed. The comp car is nice although I wish it ran later than 8pm. Great location for downtown, CVS and 7 eleven within the block.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one with a view. Ours was on the 11th floor, which is great but when looking out, only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clbl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are grateful for the feedback. Rest assured, it is read and acted upon.

Your positive experience is typical of what those who followed the convention policies experienced. Those who did not - and cheated in an attempt to get what they wanted - inconvenienced themselves and, more importantly, inconvenienced others who followed the rules. Sadly, it is a reflection of our times.

We applaud your fine example.

Thank you, again, for your kind words and praise.

Best regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Boss Man, lets do this again. I had a deluxe king room. I had the privilege of soaking in the whole Adolphus experience. The hotel is close to everything downtown and all it has to offer. I will definitely bring my family for a visit. Wonderful just wonderful . Need I say more?

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gamray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your high praise.

Please do bring your family on your next visit. We will help you create some beautiful memories, of that you can be sure.

Cordially,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Adolphous is such a treat. You would have to travel outside the state of Texas to find something comprable. The French Room is serious dining experience- one of the best in the USA.
The entire staff are well trained and eager to help make the stay special. Food at the Bistro- breakfast and lunch - was an excellent value considering the quality of the food and service.
The property is absolutely charming and filled with such marvelous history.
Excellent location and easy walk to most downtown attractions. Just a few blocks away from Neiman Marcus flagship store.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your kind compliments about the hotel and restaurants are greatly appreciated. We strive to achieve the excellence you experienced. We are delighted that our staff succeeded in impressing you.

Neiman Marcus is a must. It is the original store and has many unique qualities. Fortunately, as you wrote, it is a short walk from The Adolphus.

Thank you for appreciating our history and charm.

We look forward to your return.

Kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Adolphus hotel- I came across this hotel when looking for a place to stay while attending the national honor choir here in Dallas. By default we ended up here as all the other major chains were booked. To my surprise, my late booking turned out to be just the right thing for us! We ended up in a huge corner room with two queen beds, enormous bathroom and huge closet with built ins. This is a really neat historic hotel from days gone by where who's who of the roaring twenties came to live it up. One thing they have here is free car service! They take you anywhere you want to go in a three mile radius. The car is a sleek black sedan. Real movie star service! We used out several times. We also tried room service, it was great. If you need ice, just call room service. It comes up immediately. No tip required. Everyone who works here gives 5-star service. Everyone we passed acknowledged us with a smile and pleasant greeting. Very nice job, guys! Workout facilities were new and nice. Starbucks on the corner or there is a coffee bar in the lobby. Free wifi!! There are restaurants onsite or you can venture out, lots and lots of dining choices are available. I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed the stay. Just so you know, the carpet is floral and dated as well as some of the furnishings but the bed is soooo comfortable and the tv is new so I didn't care about the things that seemed dated. There's a supposed haunting on the 19th floor. Didn't see or feel anything paranormal during our visit but we did go up and try to see the ghost of the jilted bride. :). Take a departure from the boring and try the Adolphus. It's a very special place. P.S. I'm hard to please.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvansvilleEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a terrific summary of The Adolphus and all of its attributes!

We appreciate your taking the time to walk prospective guests through the hotel. It is invaluable for those who have not stayed with us before.

You said it all.

Thank you, kindly.

Best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A nice place to visit if you appreciate historic hotels. Front desk staff efficient, not overly friendly. Room service delicious and delivered in timely manner by a wonderful gentleman who took pride in his job. Valets very quick and professional. Visit during Christmas if you can. The decorations and afternoon tea are wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalmom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

You are most kind, and we appreciate your thoughtful review.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was in Dallas for a Historic House Specialist class at Preservation Dallas on Swiss Avenue. The Adolphus puts the consumer first with impeccable service in an elegant and historical 100 plus year old building in Downtown Dallas. All staff were kind and seemed to be impeccably trained. OK, so is this the "Stepford" hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTravelorR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for recognizing our century of service. We are most appreciative.

Your sense of humor made our day.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 206 in Dallas
6,929 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#12 of 206 in Dallas
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 206 in Dallas
2,073 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 206 in Dallas
1,186 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#25 of 206 in Dallas
4,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: $212 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing