We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for Valentine's night, beautiful hotel with wonderful staff. Several good restaurants within walking distance. The common area are very nice and the rooms are large along with spacious bathrooms and lots of counter space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a beautiful stay at The Adolphus.

Thank you for letting us - and other travelers - know about your recent experience.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    578
    249
    134
    90
See reviews for
345
843
167
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I knew that my two recent stays at the Adolphus would be wonderful, and I was right! Since I grew up and lived in Dallas for many years, I watched with envy when friends and relatives would get to stay at this historic and elegant hotel. Now we know what they must have experienced - beautiful comfort with a staff attentive to our every need, delicious food and an unusually quiet and restful environment. I have stayed in several downtown hotels, but The Adolphus is the BEST. I plan to return and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Glenda,

We are so glad we lived up to the recommendations of your family and friends. This is high praise, indeed.

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences, especially what made it perfect for you.

All of us at The Adolphus look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very nice, this is where you stay to be treated right. Clean and meets your needs on call. You are in the heart of downtown and you have food, drink and whatever else you could need a short distance away>

Room Tip: Look for a deals on cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pizza_steve2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to compliment us. We all appreciate your kind words and recommendation.

The Adolphus is in the center of everything, to be sure.

Wishing you the best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nice hotel but an older facility. Front desk and greeting service is good but ongoing service missed on the little things. Simple things like testing light bulbs to make sure they all work when servicing the room, replacing soaps and shampoo. The facility has a great classic feel and is centrally located downtown. A little bit of polish would make this a classic place overall and worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your very helpful feedback and wise counsel.

Rest assured, our management will act on what you wrote.

Thank you!

Best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed for a two day business meeting. The hotel check in was great, I had a bit of a unique situation wherein I was paying for one day but the organization I represented paying for another and the front desk was prepared and easily navigated the situation, being extremely clear what my cost might be.

The room was spacious, but the furniture was certainly showing wear with nicks, wear from use and difficulty . It was merely very clear that it is time to upgrade. Bed was comfortable enough. Wi-fi worked great and was a pleasant surprise as it was free - unlike many other hotels and chains.

When I arrived in the room, the TV remote did not work properly. I went to the front desk, let them know, went for a quick 10 minute walk, when I returned to the room it was fixed! Great service.

Conference room was nice, food was tasty and warm, staff from front desk to server in the breakfast restaurant to bellman was all perfect.

Overall, a very nice hotel. I hope that they upgrade furniture as some have mentioned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S-Flo408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your thorough review is incredibly helpful in our training programs. We appreciate your taking the time to touch on all areas of your recent experience.

The Adolphus considers complimentary Wi-Fi a must for today's travelers.

Much is in store for The Adolphus in the coming years, and we look forward to sharing it with you.

Thank you!

Best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkins, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I attended the University Risk Management Regional Conference held at the Adolphus and can say that over the 25 years I've attended conferences, this is the best conference hotel we've ever had. The food was great, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and comfy with a combination of the old original style furniture and fixtures mixed with the niceties of free wifi and lots of plug-ins for my technology.

Thanks Adolphus for a great stay. I love your elevators by the way!
Mike Bale

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Mike,

What terrific feedback! Thank you.

To know that our staff created an experience that surpassed the past 25 years at other hotels truly warms our hearts. You are most kind to share that with us.

We are delighted that you appreciate our modern conveniences and technology - and our elegant elevators.

All of us at The Adolphus look forward to your next visit.

With warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was so pleased with staying at the Adolphus Hotel. Everyone from the arrival to departure was kind, fast and professional. Our room was very nice, the elevators were fast and made it easy to come and go. The restaurant was nice and the wait staff was very friendly. Would stay again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great hotel in downtown Dallas.

Room Tip: Did not have time to check out the swimming pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you so much for posting a review. We love hearing from our guests.

A great experience is what we strive for every day.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,091 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing