We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adolphus Hotel is a great restaurant find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adolphus Hotel is a great restaurant find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We came downtown to view the first time every lighting of the tree at the newest park downtown: Main Gardens and the light show at AT&T Plaza, which is across from The Adolphus Hotel. We went to the Rodeo Bar and Grille at The Adolphus for something to eat. What a great find. Great service, with lots of flat paneled TV's to view the news or games. Great food that was reasonably priced. Service was excellent. Downtown and Main Street Historic district is rocking with lots of restaurants and bars, including CVS pharmacy, Neiman Marcus store windows for the holidays was beautiful. I will be back to enjoy the restaurants around The Adolphus and in the hotel again soon.

Room Tip: We did not sleep over, however, the hotel was rocking with music in the Lobby and I will try the Fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    578
    249
    134
    90
See reviews for
345
843
167
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great place for a sisters weekend get-away. Lovely room. Fantastic staff. Fabulous location. The hotel gym was great, too. We had an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

There are few words that are more pleasant to the ear than awesome, especially if one is hospitality.

Your high praise for our staff means the world to us. Much of our beauty springs from their outstanding service.

Thank you.

Best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London / Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Really nice hotel, good staff, great location, fabulous Elvis-Bellhop. Only drawback is that it's very (very) brown. I had a suite on the 18th floor, good space, very comfortable, big bed, two flat screen etc, but bathroom a little tired (and even more beige).

Great bars and restaurants, good in-room dining too (corned beef hash and eggs for breakfast was really, very good).

Good hotel overall, no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

You are most kind and generous with your praise. Thank you.

Elvis appreciates the recognition. He is still in the building, at least at The Adolphus.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have to admit at being very skeptical about this birthday weekend planned for me because of an amazing rate that included food credit, which was an added bonus at this wonderful Dallas grand hotel of hotels. Without asking, we were given an upgrade, and this particular area was freshly painted, and the spacious room crisp and well-cared for. Food in the bar was very "Texas" and very tasty. Room service breakfast was right on time, hot, well-prepared and on a wheeled-in table. The stay was quiet, and restful. The only negative was the traffic jam while checking in, and then getting my car the next morning which took longer than usual. We will be back for other special occasions.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to an upper floor, with a more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwpks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I spent our wedding night in the bridal suite of the hotel 28 years ago. We have come back for various anniversaries, but this year's was very special. Our son and his fiance will be married in June 2012 and the reception will be held at the Adolphus. He too will spend his wedding night at this fabulous hotel. This past weekend, we flew to Dallas to meet the parents of our soon-to-be-daughter-in-law for wedding preparations. They are from St. Louis and loved the history of the hotel. In short, our children will be married during the 100th anniversary of the Adolphus, which was built by Adolph Busch of St. Louis as a gift to Texas when he began shipping his beer to Dallas. It's a sweet St. Louis-meets-Texas story. And wouldn't you know, when we arrived for the weekend, guest services presented us with a celebration tray of various pastries -- just a little reminder of why we keep coming back as often as possible. The elegance of the lobby and the guestrooms will keep you coming back as well. The French Room is a must and high tea is delightful.

Room Tip: The executive king is really more of a suite with plenty of space for entertaining or relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

It lived up to everything that it advertised. Beautiful hotel in downtown Dallas. Only took us 20 minutes to get to Arlington for a Dallas Cowboys game. All sorts of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaigogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

You say it all in your headline, and we are most grateful for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Adolphus soon.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights with my boyfriend. It was about a $50 cab from DFW. There is also an AVIS car rental office next store to the hotel so we used that for the one day we needed to rent a car which was really easy.

Beautiful historic property. We had dinner at The French Room one night and it was outstanding. You must eat here!

We took advantage of the free town car service to take us elsewhere in Dallas. The driver was incredibly nice and offered great tips along our ride. The service overall was excellent and everytime we called for a bucket of ice or anything else we got a prompt and polite response.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enilk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,091 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing