We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, larger room in a dated hotel”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, larger room in a dated hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our room, 423, was very large, clean and comfortable. The amenities included a comfortable king size bed, typical mini-bar, bath with two separate marble-topped vanities, and a powerful, quick-to-get-hot shower. The bedding and towels were clean, with no real surprises. However, if you're looking for up-to-date interior design, or even 10 year old up-to-date interior design, you'll be very disappointed. If our room is typical, you'll find a comfortable, clean room, desperately in need of any design solution you'd see in a typical HGTV program. Yes, this is a 99 year old hotel, and a great landmark in Dallas, with a wonderful history. It would be even more wonderful it the owners spent the investment needed to make the rooms worthy of the historic past, while acknowledging today's traveler's tastes and needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TominPlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    589
    251
    135
    91
See reviews for
349
856
169
843
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The Adolphus Hotel is one of a kind! Checking in and out was absolutely smooth, and handled by efficient and helpful staff. Everything I asked for was in my room, and the room was clean, smelled really nice, and was more than comfortable. The location was perfect, as the business I came to visit was located in the Adolphus Tower, attached to the hotel. However, I would stay at the Adolphus again regardless of where I was visiting because I rarely find service and amenities as nice as this hotel. I was pleased to be able to have dinner in The French Room, which is definitely not an experience to be missed. The waiter(s) were amazing as was the food and ambience. I also enjoyed a lunch at the Bistro - great food and service there as well. I definitely plan to go back to the Adolphus, this time taking my husband, to enjoy a lovely relaxing weekend away! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

Room Tip: My room on the 15th floor,had a view of the adjacent buildings and was nice. It was not noisy, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyjean_larson2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your thorough descriptions will help guide other travelers, and we appreciate your vote of confidence.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

From the time I get out of my vehicle, the bell hops are just so nice and friendly trying to do everything you need. Its first class service from the time I check in to the hotel to the time I check out. Finally, the Adolphus is centrally located to great places to eat. I will be back again in a week!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed at the Adolphus at least 6 to 8 times and every room I stayed in was great!! Staff is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Dear John,

Your kind praise for our bellmen and valet staff is most appreciated. In spite of the extraordinary heat wave this summer, they have kept their good humor and have given their all.

Thank you!

Best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We came 4th of July weekend, and I know traveling during holidays can be tough, but he Adolphus was wonderful. We had a flat tire on the drive up, and I called the hotel to let them know we would be late checking in, and they were very gracious. Even though we finally arrived close to midnight, the staff was friendly and understanding. The rooms are beautiful and the atmosphere couldn't be better. The French Room is like a step back in time . Literally I can not say enough good things about this hotel. My boyfriend and I are planning another trip back soon, its perfect for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: they offer a great deal on last minuet reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dory z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you, Dory, for your beautiful compliments. Our staff appreciates the praise.

We do our best to offer the kind of caring service one used to find everywhere. The hotel's European luxury, too, lends itself to romance and relaxation. It's the next best alternative to a trip abroad - and no passport is required!

We look forward to your next romantic getaway.

With kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Adolphus delivers the full experience of a revered big city hotel.

We were initially put off by the bustle of preparations going on for a big wedding, but our room was a spacious and beautiful haven. The room service dinner was terrific and delivered with aplomb. Casual breakfast in the bistro was equally fine. It's worth noting, however, that those meals plus valet parking added rather noticeably to the bill. No complaints, though.

Room Tip: Our standard king was spacious and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
We were delighted to read that you had a grand time at The Adolphus. You were kind to be so understanding about the big society wedding that created much excitement and activity at the hotel that weekend.

As you saw, we make sure that every guest's needs are attended to and that service in every area is exceptional. The staff may be busy, but they strive to exude grace under pressure.

In these challenging economic times, The Adolphus also strives to offer value.

Thank you for staying with us.

Best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Hotel was wonderful and had a great stay. I would stay again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I took my granddaughter for an overnight adventure. We had a great time! The lobbies and our room were elegant and comfortable. Room service was fast, delicious, elegantly served by very professional, polite staff. Beds were very comfy, with lots of pillows. We really appreciated the complimentary car for brief trips around town. Dave was our chaffeur/ was very professional. polite, very kind to my granddaughter. Great location, downtown Dallas. Without exception the staff was professional, efficient, polite.
The only drawback for us was the lack of a pool on-site; Guests have access to a pool some blocks away, for a fee.
Would highly recommend this hotel, especially if pool not desired.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,339 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,884 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
1,154 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 203 in Dallas
3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing