We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Traditional Downtown Hotel”
Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine Traditional Downtown Hotel”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Not musty or stuffy, this is a comfortable, traditional downtown hotel, with especially professional service. It was a landmark to my Dallas friends meeting me after business obligations, and its proximity to the original Neiman Marcus permitted a quick shopping excursion before my flight home. Priced quite below newer built chains at airport and downtown. Standard king spacious and quiet, comfortable, firm mattress. Cafe for breakfast great, well priced and fast. Neighborhood dead at night but some buzz at bar downstairs, it appeared from a distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CVATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Public Relations Manager at The Adolphus, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
We are, indeed, a landmark. In fact, we are on the National Register of Historic Places. When the clock strikes twelve on New Year's Eve, we will be celebrating our 100th anniversary. Very few luxury hotels have survived to mark that occasion, and we are honored to be among that number.

In 2007, we helped Neiman Marcus - another luxury landmark in Dallas - celebrate its 100th anniversary. As they noted that year, it's not just about celebrating the past, but looking forward to an exciting future.

We hope you will return often to make some history of your own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    589
    251
    135
    91
See reviews for
349
856
169
843
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The Adolphus expertly mixes elegance and class with genuine friendliness and comfort. The public areas of the hotel are breathtaking, and the upkeep, cleanliness, and special touches continue in each private room and suite. I have found many beautiful hotels put great effort into the lobby, but neglect the guest rooms; this is not the case at The Adolphus. The staff is very friendly, always with a smile, a greeting, or an offer to assist. No request has ever been denied or fulfilled begrudgingly. The guest's satisfaction seems to be a personal victory for each member of the staff. Each time I stay here, I leave feeling that not only was my stay special, but that I am special. Enjoy the hospitality of The Adolphus the next time you need to feel special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tregantx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Public Relations Manager at The Adolphus, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
What a joy it is to hear from those who stay with us regularly and know us best. To meet those high expectations, stay after stay, is the ultimate praise.

Rest assured, you are very special in our eyes - and dear to our hearts. We strive to create that same experience for everyone who stays with us.

Thank you - and thanks to everyone who makes The Adolphus their "home away from home" year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

A group of friends and I booked 2 rooms for the weekend. Upon booking, we were told that we would be able to secure 2 rollaway beds, one for each room, to accommodate our party of 6 (no rooms with double beds were available).

Upon check-in, we reminded the desk clerk about the rollaways and were told we could expect them in the rooms shortly.

We had to switch rooms shortly after check-in due to not being in side-by-side rooms as requested upon booking. After switching, we reminded them again about the rollaways and again were told that they'd be up shortly.

After returning from lunch and shopping later in the day, we still did not have rollaways in either room. We reminded them yet again - at this point we had asked for them 4 times - and once more were told they'd be in the room very soon. When we left for dinner and an evening out, we still had nothing in the room (and no phone calls explaining the delay).

When we returned to the hotel at the end of the evening, we were told that there were no rollaways available in the entire hotel - they were all being used. The front desk clerk was unwilling to let us speak to management and claimed that the hotel was 100% booked and no additional rooms were available. When we went down to speak with her in person, 5 other gentlemen were in the lobby with the same problem - promised rollaway beds to accommodate their party, and now being told to sleep on the floor.

The front desk clerk chose to stand in the middle of the lobby and shout at everyone, rather than stepping behind the desk like a staff member of a 4 star hotel and dealing with the numerous unhappy customers professionally. Furthermore, she informed us (again - there were 7-8 people down there at this point, all upset about not having rollaway beds) that we were all "out to screw her."

When we finally spoke with management the next morning, they made excuses for the behavior of their employees and made absolutely no effort to correct their mistakes.

At the ridiculous prices customers pay to stay in this hotel, in addition to the $24/day parking charge, the treatment we received was unnacceptable. We were paying for 4 star service and we absolutely did not get it - one of the gentlemen in the lobby commented that we may as well have stayed at a Motel 6, considering the way this hotel treats their customers.

I will never stay here again.

Side note - while I was waiting for 20 minutes for valet to retrieve my car, after they informed me that they couldn't find it, another unhappy couple came down requesting new bedding - because they found BLOOD on the blanket in their bed.



While this ordeal was being sorted out, another couple came down to request another blanket after finding BLOOD on their bedding.

Room Tip: Book at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DallasRoadWarrior14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Public Relations Manager at The Adolphus, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to explain what happened.

The demand for rollaways that weekend far exceeded our supply. No hotel has an unlimited number of rollaways, and most hotels treat requests for rollaways as “requests,” not guarantees. The reason is that on any given day the available rollaways can swing widely – guests who are currently using rollaways extend their stays, rollways become damaged, guests decide to request a rollaway on arrival (with no previous notice), etc. Our reservations staff is very careful about explaining this nuance to guests because it can – as in this case – become a great disappointment.

The hotel was sold out, as you mentioned, and this added to the problem.

In trying to be helpful and accommodating, our staff “over promised, and under delivered.” It is in the nature of those in the hospitality business to want to please everyone. In the process, we sometimes find ourselves in situations that are physically impossible to accomplish, when the unpredictable rears its ugly head. Those occasions are rare, but they do happen.

We failed also in not being proactive and following up with you when it was determined that we could not accommodate your request for rollaways. You should have had the opportunity to stay elsewhere.

As for the stains, they turned out to be coffee stains accidentally made by those occupying the room. (We investigate everything stated in these reviews to determine their authenticity, in fairness to those relying on them for recommendations.)

We apologize that we disappointed you and inconvenienced you in the way you described. The Adolphus, to be sure, is just not a good fit for you and your lifestyle. We should have recognized this in the beginning and guided you to more suitable lodgings in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

wonderful experience..only problem room was very warm...service was way above par..made me feel very important..any problems resolved instantly..very clean and luxiourious..good value for money..would def recommend

Room Tip: new side rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gillie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My girlfriend and I booked an executive suite through Sniqueaway. The room description on Sniqueaway's website indicated that an executive suite would be from 700-750 square feet. The room we received, #1909, while beautiful, was only 12.5 feet by 35 feet. In other words, less than 450 square feet. I expect to receive what I pay for, and if I pay for a 700-750 square foot suite, it is reasonable to expect to receive such. The Adolphus own website even indicates that a deluxe room would be approximately 500 square feet in it's room description, and the executive suite is an upgrade over that! I contacted the front desk and spoke to a front desk manager named Chris who insisted that I was booked in an executive suite and would not resolve the issue. Chris claimed to not be aware of the general size of an executive suite, and would not send someone to investigate the size of the room, nor did he appear willing to do anything to resolve this issue. Chris acknowledged that deluxe rooms are up to 500 square feet, and that executive suites are an upgrade but the upgrade is based on appointments, not size. Chris was the hotel manager on duty last night, and was therefore the primary decision maker for customer service at the hotel. Unfortunately, he did not appear to be inclined to utilize any customer service skills to resolve this issue. This is not the first time I have stayed in a luxury hotel, more than likely it will not be the last. My girlfriend and I have been repeat patrons at other hotels that we enjoy, and we always spend a large amount of money on incidentals. Despite the flap with the room, we proceeded to spend a large amount of money on room service, dinner, the bar, the honor bar, and the valet parking. The hotel received a large amount of money from us through incidentals, but this did not seem to matter to Chris at the front desk. Unfortunately at this time, I do not believe that I will be inclined to return to the Adolphus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Public Relations Manager at The Adolphus, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
What happened to you is completely contrary to our business philosophy. You should receive what you paid for. Period. You have been issued a full refund.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

While my wife and I were looking forward to celebrating our 10th anniversary at the Adolphus, we were shocked the second night of our two night stay. The room assigned upon checkin was neat, clean, tastefully decorated, spacious, and comfortable. Staff was welcoming and friendly. We had a wonderful first night. The second night, however, was completely different.

When we returned to the hotel at 3:30 pm after a day of shopping in Dallas, it appeared housekeeping had started to service our room, but had left. The bed was completely stripped and apparently nothing had been done. I thought they just hadn't finished, and it was still relatively early. We left to attend a baseball game without a concern given the attention we recieved earlier.

Returning from the game around 11:45 pm, we were shocked the room was as we found it earlier. Bed was stripped, linens and bedding wadded up on the sofa, nothing else touched. Not what I expected from a hotel of this caliber.

I called the front desk and was told our only option was to move to another room. At midnight. The front desk manager said housekeeping was gone but she offered to move us to a suite which we agreed to. Well, the bed in the suite was also stripped and bare! We were then moved again to a room that was clearly intended for another couple. There were items commemorating a special occasion for this couple. I was told by the manager they were in another room.

It seems to me, based on the number of guests complaining at the time I was trying to get our issue resolved that somebody on the previous shift abandoned the night shift woefully undermanned. The desk supervisor the next morning assured me I would hear from the front office manager personally. That has yet to happen.

The property is indeed lovely and a reminder of the glory days of vintage hotels, however, if management isn't aware of the service that's being provided on their property, this hotel's days will be numbered.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScramblinSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball, LA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The staff is amazing! Very friendly and accomodating. However the rooms are pretty pricy, and I even had a military discount. There is valet but it is not free for overnight stays as most of us stay overnight at a hotel. The atmosphere is nice, and clean but just be warned that in the downtown area, most things close around 8p. even the pharmacies. Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend anyone as well, as long as you are willing to pay a little more.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdupont79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Public Relations Manager at The Adolphus, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for honoring our staff with your kind words. They were delighted to hear that you were pleased with your stay.

We are grateful to all those who serve in the military. You deserve the best, and we are glad you found it at The Adolphus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,342 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#7 of 203 in Dallas
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,886 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
1,154 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 203 in Dallas
3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing