We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection for a Staycation”
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfection for a Staycation”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wife and I needed a small stay-cation to refresh from a very busy 2nd quarter. We booked at the Joule for the weekend of the 4th and had a great time.

The pool is great, the room was fabulous and the service was top notch. Location was perfect, close enough to get to everything we wanted to do.

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new tower, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    183
    47
    27
    28
See reviews for
90
360
54
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights after a disappointing stay at the Omni in town. The Joule is nearly the ideal hotel. It is a smaller boutique property filled with character and filled with great staff. The room was a wonderful mix of modern technology, awesome architecture, and elegancy. Who isn't impressed by motorized curtains and blinds?!?

Room service food was excellent but the restaurant on property was somewhat disappointing. Not bad food, just not what we were hoping for. The pool area was a great post to watch the rain while relaxing. Overall a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ours was one upgrade from the standard room but hard to imagine a bad room in the entire hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Joule is an exceptional hotel to stay at. Newly renovated with massive rooms. The service is exceptional and friendly. Great location. But I suppose you would not expect anything less because you get heavily billed for it all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Charmaine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Joule in downtown Dallas brings together outstanding food (CBD provisions), luxurious accommodations (pick a Deluxe Suite), excellent service (everyone who works there), and relaxing spa (ESPA). And all just a short drive into the city from the 'burbs! We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful decor that felt like a home away from home. The ESPA is an oasis to let time run away and relax. CBD food is outstanding, bartenders and staff welcoming and it's easily connected for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The retail stores are quaint with unique products and great service. We will return very soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, Front Office Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi DFWvisitor,

I wanted to thank you on behalf of The Joule for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had such a great time during your stay with us and that you felt " The ESPA is an oasis to let time run away and relax", as we 100% agree!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Kristin Assad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel has an excellent location downtown close to significant historic locations. The building has been faithfully restored - pleasing to see the Art Deco heritage has been preserved and new life being breathed into the rather quiet, austere city centre. The CBD restaurant attached was excellent - well priced and great modern food prepared with finesse. Unfortunately there was a few areas that marred our stay. I make some allowance that the hotel was apparently at capacity BUT we paid top dollar - reflective of hotel occupancy, relegated to the lowest floor, did not get adjoining rooms for our family when we booked and requested months ago. We had views of the air conditioner, both nights awoken by late night revellers partying on the outside balcony and in their rooms (ie post 2am). We had an unfortunate mishap with the town car - waited 90 minutes and ended up in a taxi after 6 calls to hotel. Things happen but I would have been fine if my expectations were appropriately set and we caught a taxi earlier to cut our losses. So I suspect this hotel is much better than this. Rooms well appointed,staff friendly and helpful - but this was our experience and therefore my rating reflects this.

Room Tip: Confirm and reconfirm room requests. Have a local ( not international) phone number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Come for the spa, the spa is AMAZING! The best facial ever with a lady by the name of Rula! The rooms are very comfortable with huge bath tubs. The staff is very accommodating and attentive. Love their home-made granola with berries in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The best thing about The Joule are the people who work there. Absolutely everyone, from the valet parking attendants to the front desk staff, bell staff, cleaning personnel, in-room dining staff, and others we encountered in elevators and hallways, is friendly and attentive, and they really go out of their way to inquire about and accommodate your needs. You feel very well looked after here!

The Joule hotel offers luxurious modern comfort in the center of downtown Dallas. The hotel is modern but beautiful, with a lot of unique and interesting artwork and displays in the lobby and other areas. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, modern and practical, with all the amenities you would expect, including robes, bedside slippers, shower amenities, plenty of towels, ironing board and iron, etc.. Beds are comfy (soft but reasonably firm), and they include both a comforter and top sheet, so you can peel off the comforter if you are warm but still remain covered. The bathroom in our King room had a separate walk-in shower stall with an opaque glass wall and door, and a separate toilet room with an opaque glass wall and door, very nice. The A/C worked perfectly for us, and is easy to control. Lighting control panels appear throughout the room and offer a choice of high and low light, as well as a night light and a privacy/service indicator light that appears just outside the door. There are plenty of electrical outlets, most of them in convenient places. The flat-screen TV is large and sharp and offers plenty of channel options.

Room service, which we used twice, takes a little time (30 minutes), but the food is mostly excellent, and they are VERY accommodating (we asked them to completely modify the options on the room service menu, and they were happy to do it, reviewed the order meticulously with us, and delivered exactly what we wanted).

The ONLY negative, if you can call it that, is that housekeeping did not make up our room until about 4:30 or 5:00 p.m. each day, a bit on the late side. This may have been because we were on the 14th floor and among the last to be serviced. This was not a big deal. The room was quite clean and orderly when we first arrived, and the daily cleaning was typical, fast but decent.

Breakfast is taken in the adjacent restaurant (through a door from the lobby), CBD Provisions. They offer fairly standard breakfast food, but it was of high quality, and the personnel were very nice. They did mix up our order a little one day, but that was a minor incident. The food was great (we ate oatmeal, buckwheat pancakes, eggs, fruit).

The hotels' spa, ESPA, is outstanding. My wife enjoyed two treatments there, and she said iti is superb. The staff were very nice, professional, well-trained, and the environment is modern and comfortable.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying downtown. I definitely prefer it to the Omni Dallas, where we stayed last. It is much friendlier, warmer and better located.

Room Tip: Be careful when reserving to ensure you get the type of room and bedding you want. I reserved a Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,335 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 203 in Dallas
2,581 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Property: The Joule, Dallas
Address: 1530 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
#5 Spa Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule Hotel, named for the international unit of energy, is the stunning product of a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic landmark Dallas building, three restored buildings of 1930's vintage, and several new structures. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of old world quality and contemporary design, while densely populated throughout by museum quality artwork from names including Tony Cragg, Tony Tasset, Andy Warhol and Richard Phillips. In addition to new guest rooms, spectacular multi-story penthouses and bespoke lobby experience, the property includes an impressive glass-fronted rooftop cantilevered pool, subterranean spa, rooftop terrace with glass pavilion, beautiful event spaces, first-class dining, vibrant cocktail destinations and one-of-a-kind shopping experiences. The Joule is an artfully delivered experience set in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the Dallas Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing