We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little overpriced but what you expect OU/Texas Weekend”
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
Ranked #10 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here one night on OU/Texas weekend in a suite on the top floor. The check in process was excellent. Valet and concierge were top notch. Location was superior. Lots of fans on the street coupled with 10 police officers per block made for a safe and entertaining stay. Room service in the morning was fast and very good. The room was hip, clean and comfortable but not worth the $1200 a night price. Will definitely stay here again but in a smaller room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soonerpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a beautiful, hip hotel in downtown Dallas. Contains a magnificent art collection featuring many interesting works including an Andy Warhol painting in the lobby. The rooms and roof top pool are also very nice. Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Gr8taste55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Dallas and a stay at The Joule. It is a very cool boutique property in a great downtown location within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. I loved the amazing art work throughout the property and nooks to pick up an art book and just relax. Ate at the new CBD Provisions which offers a great twist on American Classics. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the giant eyeball (located in new park under construction) a little creepy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was excited to stay at this trendy hotel in downtown Dallas for a quick 2 night visit. It has a cool lobby and great decor, so I was very excited as I walked in.....but unfortunately...that's about where my joy ended. Overall not worth the money and LOTS of issues during my stay.

- Reservation was cancelled: I booked through Expedia. About a month before the trip, I had to decrease my stay by 1 night. I did this change through Expedia and had confirmation e-mails for my reservation change. When I arrived, I was informed that my reservation had been canceled. I provided my change confirmation e-mails from Expedia, but The Joule said their system showed it canceled. Luckily, there were rooms available and they were able to "reverse" my cancellation. They were nice and professional, but as the Bellman said - "[I] would have been in trouble if they were booked out". I don't know if this was an error on Expedia's side or the hotel....all I know is I had my confirmations in front of me, but no reservation.

- Room: The room was a trendy room, albeit decorated just on the border of porn movie set with a round bed and mirrors on the walls. But, I can appreciate that it was a "different" decor. That being said, the room was TINY! For the cost of this room, I would have expected a much larger area. I could have easily stayed at a nicer hotel with much more room for the cost. The pictures on-line really don't represent the small size. This room would not have been large enough for 2 people, so luckily I was traveling solo this time. Definitely not worth the price per square foot.

- Valet: $27 per night. A little steep for the prices of the room, but it is what it is for a downtown location. BUT... the first time I went to pick up my car, I saw that you could text or scan your ticket to have it brought around. I thought this was VERY cool....until I arrived downstairs. I told the valet that I had texted about 10 minutes earlier. "Oh, that doesn't work anymore" was his reply, as he took my ticket. This would have been useful information to provide when they were handing me the ticket at check in. The next time I asked for my car at check out, I CALLED down. It was about 20 minutes by the time the Bellman had come upstairs to collect my bags. As we walked outside, the Valet team took about 10 minutes (in the rain) to figure out that my car had already been brought down, but then was returned to the garage. So, I waited another 10 minutes for them to bring it back. Summary: the valet was a disaster. And for $27 a day, I would expect no disaster.

- Erroneous mini bar charges: I received an e-mail receipt today, to find a $9 mini bar charge - which I did not purchase. I called the hotel and was told that the "finance manager" would need to call my bank to reverse the charge (??? Don't we just credit the credit card these days ???). I would get a call back in a couple of days when it was straightened out. Granted, it's only $9, but its the principal in the context of the entire stay.

So all in all, a great disappointment. I was excited to stay here, but it did not live up to my expectations. The property and decor were great, but that was about it. The price per square foot was ridiculous. The staff was very nice and professional, and very apologetic at every issue...but the better angle would be not to have to apologize at all.

I would not recommend this hotel and would not stay there again. For the cost, my money would be better spent somewhere where there wasn't a problem at every turn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My stay here was excellent. The level of service is a custom tailored experience that you can only receive by a smaller boutique hotel such as The Joule. They really try to make you feel welcome and anticipate any need that you may have. Their sedans will take you just about any where downtown but if you're looking for a place to eat, look no further than their own Charlie Palmer. Thank you Sony and Rexanne for a truly exceptional experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Dallas business trip. Chose The Joule for its downtown business district location. Outside facade of the building is deceiving -- looks like a renovated 1940's office building which fronts onto the street with no expansive driveway or canopy or eye-catching marquee like most hotels--just a valet parking stand and a front door which you can easily miss if not looking closely. Inside, the lobby is fairly small and simply furnished, and the elevators are not easy to find. However, the staff was friendly and helpful and appeared to be accustomed to visitors having uncertain impressions about the hotel entrance/lobby. Once inside my room, was relieved to find a well-appointed room with a very modern look, nice robes, upscale toiletries, hi-def tv, soaking shower, good mattress,etc. In keeping with the upscale modern look, the lighting in the room was a bit on the subdued side but was not an issue. Would suggest requesting a corner room on an upper floor for best light/view and less street noise. Did not eat at the hotel, because there were several nice downtown restaurants nearby. The only hiccup during my stay was at checkout--seemed to take longer than expected. Would recommend this hotel to others and would not hesitate to book a room there again when in Dallas.

Room Tip: Corner rooms or rooms at the end of hallways seemed roomier and had more windows for additional ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proudtobeanamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I wasn't very excited about Dallas, but the Joule made it all a little better.

HERE IS WHAT I LOVED!
* The free car - will take you anywhere for free within 5 miles. Fun and informative drivers who were genuinely grateful for the gratuity.
* Lots of windows in my room - loved all the light (we were in a corner room)
* The lobby and bar area - I loved sitting down here
* The coffee shop in the lobby - holy best-coffee-in-the-world Batman
* The service - everyone says hi! Super friendly and professional service. Loved it.
* Awesome pool and pool bar (small but comfy and very enjoyable)
* Very comfortable bed and pillows - one of the better hotel beds I"ve ever enjoyed

The room was a bit on the small side, and the concierge did not have the best recommendations for dinner and activities. The location is decent - this area is coming alive, so there are options within walking distance. Good gym. High end toiletries, as you'd expect from a luxury hotel. Room service was fast and friendly and surprisingly well priced (18% + $3).

I will absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 206 in Dallas
6,933 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 206 in Dallas
1,187 reviews
The Adolphus
#19 of 206 in Dallas
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 206 in Dallas
2,075 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Address: 1530 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
#6 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $283 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule Hotel, named for the international unit of energy, is the stunning product of a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic landmark Dallas building, three restored buildings of 1930's vintage, and several new structures. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of old world quality and contemporary design, while densely populated throughout by museum quality artwork from names including Tony Cragg, Tony Tasset, Andy Warhol and Richard Phillips. In addition to new guest rooms, spectacular multi-story penthouses and bespoke lobby experience, the property includes an impressive glass-fronted rooftop cantilevered pool, subterranean spa, rooftop terrace with glass pavilion, beautiful event spaces, first-class dining, vibrant cocktail destinations and one-of-a-kind shopping experiences. The Joule is an artfully delivered experience set in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the Dallas Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing