We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
Ranked #5 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful, hip hotel in downtown Dallas. Contains a magnificent art collection featuring many interesting works including an Andy Warhol painting in the lobby. The rooms and roof top pool are also very nice. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gr8taste55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    167
    43
    24
    26
See reviews for
83
335
52
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Dallas and a stay at The Joule. It is a very cool boutique property in a great downtown location within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. I loved the amazing art work throughout the property and nooks to pick up an art book and just relax. Ate at the new CBD Provisions which offers a great twist on American Classics. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the giant eyeball (located in new park under construction) a little creepy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was excited to stay at this trendy hotel in downtown Dallas for a quick 2 night visit. It has a cool lobby and great decor, so I was very excited as I walked in.....but unfortunately...that's about where my joy ended. Overall not worth the money and LOTS of issues during my stay.

- Reservation was cancelled: I booked through Expedia. About a month before the trip, I had to decrease my stay by 1 night. I did this change through Expedia and had confirmation e-mails for my reservation change. When I arrived, I was informed that my reservation had been canceled. I provided my change confirmation e-mails from Expedia, but The Joule said their system showed it canceled. Luckily, there were rooms available and they were able to "reverse" my cancellation. They were nice and professional, but as the Bellman said - "[I] would have been in trouble if they were booked out". I don't know if this was an error on Expedia's side or the hotel....all I know is I had my confirmations in front of me, but no reservation.

- Room: The room was a trendy room, albeit decorated just on the border of porn movie set with a round bed and mirrors on the walls. But, I can appreciate that it was a "different" decor. That being said, the room was TINY! For the cost of this room, I would have expected a much larger area. I could have easily stayed at a nicer hotel with much more room for the cost. The pictures on-line really don't represent the small size. This room would not have been large enough for 2 people, so luckily I was traveling solo this time. Definitely not worth the price per square foot.

- Valet: $27 per night. A little steep for the prices of the room, but it is what it is for a downtown location. BUT... the first time I went to pick up my car, I saw that you could text or scan your ticket to have it brought around. I thought this was VERY cool....until I arrived downstairs. I told the valet that I had texted about 10 minutes earlier. "Oh, that doesn't work anymore" was his reply, as he took my ticket. This would have been useful information to provide when they were handing me the ticket at check in. The next time I asked for my car at check out, I CALLED down. It was about 20 minutes by the time the Bellman had come upstairs to collect my bags. As we walked outside, the Valet team took about 10 minutes (in the rain) to figure out that my car had already been brought down, but then was returned to the garage. So, I waited another 10 minutes for them to bring it back. Summary: the valet was a disaster. And for $27 a day, I would expect no disaster.

- Erroneous mini bar charges: I received an e-mail receipt today, to find a $9 mini bar charge - which I did not purchase. I called the hotel and was told that the "finance manager" would need to call my bank to reverse the charge (??? Don't we just credit the credit card these days ???). I would get a call back in a couple of days when it was straightened out. Granted, it's only $9, but its the principal in the context of the entire stay.

So all in all, a great disappointment. I was excited to stay here, but it did not live up to my expectations. The property and decor were great, but that was about it. The price per square foot was ridiculous. The staff was very nice and professional, and very apologetic at every issue...but the better angle would be not to have to apologize at all.

I would not recommend this hotel and would not stay there again. For the cost, my money would be better spent somewhere where there wasn't a problem at every turn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My stay here was excellent. The level of service is a custom tailored experience that you can only receive by a smaller boutique hotel such as The Joule. They really try to make you feel welcome and anticipate any need that you may have. Their sedans will take you just about any where downtown but if you're looking for a place to eat, look no further than their own Charlie Palmer. Thank you Sony and Rexanne for a truly exceptional experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Dallas business trip. Chose The Joule for its downtown business district location. Outside facade of the building is deceiving -- looks like a renovated 1940's office building which fronts onto the street with no expansive driveway or canopy or eye-catching marquee like most hotels--just a valet parking stand and a front door which you can easily miss if not looking closely. Inside, the lobby is fairly small and simply furnished, and the elevators are not easy to find. However, the staff was friendly and helpful and appeared to be accustomed to visitors having uncertain impressions about the hotel entrance/lobby. Once inside my room, was relieved to find a well-appointed room with a very modern look, nice robes, upscale toiletries, hi-def tv, soaking shower, good mattress,etc. In keeping with the upscale modern look, the lighting in the room was a bit on the subdued side but was not an issue. Would suggest requesting a corner room on an upper floor for best light/view and less street noise. Did not eat at the hotel, because there were several nice downtown restaurants nearby. The only hiccup during my stay was at checkout--seemed to take longer than expected. Would recommend this hotel to others and would not hesitate to book a room there again when in Dallas.

Room Tip: Corner rooms or rooms at the end of hallways seemed roomier and had more windows for additional ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proudtobeanamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I wasn't very excited about Dallas, but the Joule made it all a little better.

HERE IS WHAT I LOVED!
* The free car - will take you anywhere for free within 5 miles. Fun and informative drivers who were genuinely grateful for the gratuity.
* Lots of windows in my room - loved all the light (we were in a corner room)
* The lobby and bar area - I loved sitting down here
* The coffee shop in the lobby - holy best-coffee-in-the-world Batman
* The service - everyone says hi! Super friendly and professional service. Loved it.
* Awesome pool and pool bar (small but comfy and very enjoyable)
* Very comfortable bed and pillows - one of the better hotel beds I"ve ever enjoyed

The room was a bit on the small side, and the concierge did not have the best recommendations for dinner and activities. The location is decent - this area is coming alive, so there are options within walking distance. Good gym. High end toiletries, as you'd expect from a luxury hotel. Room service was fast and friendly and surprisingly well priced (18% + $3).

I will absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've never stayed in downtown Dallas before and wasn't sure what hotels were available and also close to Gexa Energy Pavillion. I chose The Joule. From the moment I stepped into the lobby, I knew that I made the best choice. When the room wasn't quite ready, we were escorted to the bar by Helvius, the gentleman behind the desk, for a complimentary cocktail for our inconvience.

Walking into our suite, The Joule Suite, we were astonished as the attention to detail. The bed was very comfortable and pillows very plush. The bathroom resembled a spa with awesome bath products. Turn down service was a treat!

Just when we thought it couldn't get any better, we had massages at the ESPA spa. My only disappointment was that I didn't factor in any extra time to enjoy the incredible services they had to offer from the sauna and steam room to the incredible pool inside the spa.

I will make all of my Dallas stays at The Joule!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,621 reviews
The Adolphus
#15 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#16 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Property: The Joule, Dallas
Address: 1530 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule Hotel, named for the international unit of energy, is the stunning product of a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic landmark Dallas building, three restored buildings of 1930's vintage, and several new structures. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of old world quality and contemporary design, while densely populated throughout by museum quality artwork from names including Tony Cragg, Tony Tasset, Andy Warhol and Richard Phillips. In addition to new guest rooms, spectacular multi-story penthouses and bespoke lobby experience, the property includes an impressive glass-fronted rooftop cantilevered pool, subterranean spa, rooftop terrace with glass pavilion, beautiful event spaces, first-class dining, vibrant cocktail destinations and one-of-a-kind shopping experiences. The Joule is an artfully delivered experience set in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the Dallas Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing