We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
Ranked #4 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at your hotel 2 weekends ago for one night. We were celebrating his birthday and I want to thank Myron who works at the front desk for setting us up with a great corner room and got us a great rate. Myron wasn't there the night we stayed but he did a really nice job of getting us in and set up. The bellman and valets are also very friendly and helpful.
Marcia M

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    164
    41
    22
    25
See reviews for
81
324
51
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Joule December 2 for 1 night! This place is totally amazing! It's a beautiful boutique hotel! It is clean, posh and super cool! The staff is fantastic. From the bellman to the cleaning crew, everyone is super friendly and accomodating! The pool on the roof was my favorite. It is built hanging over the edge of the building! I've never seen anything like it before! And Maurilio the bartender at the pool was great! He had the patience of a saint trying to take care of a group of rowdy guys! He handled things like a pro! A real professional! And kept his cool the whole time. Make sure you go visit Maurilio when you are there! He will treat you like a king/queen and will make your trip the best ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Wow, be ready to be treated well and relax! The rooms are top notch and the staff spares no expense to make sure you are comfortable. Great workout room and nice to have room service from Charlie Palmer's restaurant next door!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Joule is my go-to hotel in downtown Dallas. It has a great location, the rooms are chic and comfortable and the staff always goes out of their way to help. Look for Myron at the front desk. He's made my last two trips particularly enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I have written this review over a number of days, to ensure it is balanced.
Well located in downtown - central to most downtown activities & landmarks
We had booked to stay here for my husbands birthday.
On arrival we were greeted at reception warmly by staff & offered champagne while we checked in- nice touch.
The rooms are very nice & well appointed. We stayed in a joule suite- there is a sitting area, bedroom & spacious bathroom. There is a complimentary fruit & nut bowl in the room on arrival. The nightly turndown service leaves chocolates & water. So some nice touches.
I requested for all feathers in the room to be removed due to allergies & this was done very quickly & efficiently.
As it was my husbands birthday I had contacted Karla at the hotel to organize a birthday cake & champagne to be delivered to our room at 8:30am- as a surprise. Which was done efficiently on time & beautifully detailed. Karla also organized our dinner reservations at five sixty & transfer to and from the restaurant which went seamlessly. Excellent attention to detail & follow up Karla did a fabulous job.
We did have breakfast at the hotel & this was very nice- I have to say I found the greeting of the waitering staff a little off putting - hi my name is xxx & I will be your servant ( I just did not like the servant bit - maybe being Australian I would prefer a less formal & more equal greeting like hi my name is xxxx & I will be assisting you today). This is a minor point - as overall the service is excellent- attentive & very helpful.
Breakfast service on the last day was slow. So consistency of service varies in the restaurant.
The area that could improve is the level of cleanliness- our sheets were not changed on the last night there- which was disappointing... We did speak to reception about this & apparently sherts dont get changed daily they get changed every four days for continuous stay....a little more attention to detail required in the area of housekeeping I would suggest.
On the last day our bill was placed under our door- it had a number of errors on it. Which again was disapponting to see. We did contact reception & to their credit they did get on to it & make the required adjustments promptly.
It would appear that the level of attention to detail varies greatly depending on the day- which is not what you'd expect from a hotel like this- but to give credit when we raised the few issues we had they did get on to they promptly & resolve the issues.
Overall I would recommend the Joule-
it is a lovely hotel, while service consistency is an issue we are talking about a variance of good to super excellent . I think the initial level of service is so exemplary that it sets a very high standard for the entire stay which may or may not be met. Would stay here again if we were to return to Dallas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheonixzengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is amazing and the staff was by far the best I have ever experienced. Deborah and Karla were the best and I want to thank them personally for the dining recommendation to the car service. Next time I'm in Dallas no question I will stay at the Joule.

Aji Eapen

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aji E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Joule, Dallas is my preferred hotel for my frequent visits to downtown Dallas. Ask for Myron at the front desk. The restaurant is excellent, especially for business-related meals. The rooms are well-appointed and very comfortable. But the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff across all the departments is the main draw. They are very successful in making you feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 5,294 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adolphus Hotel
#14 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,418 reviews
Grand Hyatt DFW
#1 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,778 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#15 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Property: The Joule, Dallas
Address: 1530 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule Hotel, named for the international unit of energy, is the stunning product of a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic landmark Dallas building, three restored buildings of 1930's vintage, and several new structures. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of old world quality and contemporary design, while densely populated throughout by museum quality artwork from names including Tony Cragg, Tony Tasset, Andy Warhol and Richard Phillips. In addition to new guest rooms, spectacular multi-story penthouses and bespoke lobby experience, the property includes an impressive glass-fronted rooftop cantilevered pool, subterranean spa, rooftop terrace with glass pavilion, beautiful event spaces, first-class dining, vibrant cocktail destinations and one-of-a-kind shopping experiences. The Joule is an artfully delivered experience set in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the Dallas Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing