We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We Were Not Disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
Ranked #5 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We Were Not Disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Often staying downtown means an older hotel building with smaller room. Not the case at the Joule. You will have the convenience of staying downtown but the luxury of a modern, spacious and beautiful room. I think the room would be best described as SEXY! Although the Joule is in the heart of downtown, the room was extremely quiet and great block out blinds. We slept sooo well. The fitness facility is one of the best I have seen in a boutique hotel and open 24hours. I loved the pool area...felt like I was in West Hollywood. Only suggestion to the hotel is turn the heat up on the pool a few more degrees. We will definitely be staying at the Joule the next time we are in Dallas!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFtheTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    161
    40
    22
    25
See reviews for
79
322
52
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed at this place for the first time last week and loved it. The service was impeccable. I was fortunate to stay in a suite which had a fantastic bathroom with an oversized (and boy do I mean oversized) tub and separate shower. The Bvlgari toiletries were an elegant touch, and the mattress would give a Heavenly Bed a run for it's money.

Seriously, I loved the new soft mattress - but if you prefer firmer mattresses, check with the front desk as they might have rooms with those as well. The room also had a great Bose sound system (it actually had two systems, one for each room in the suite). I was able to use my iPhone to feel right at home.

The only irritating thing about the hotel is that there is no escaping the $27 a night valet parking. Valet is a scourge of Dallas, so it's not different here than at many other hotels. There do not seem to be many other parking options in the downtown "historic" area, so if you are staying here for vacation, just make sure you plan for that expense.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyfun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Joule last weekend for my best friend's bachelorette party. The first thing that went wrong, is they told us that they werent going to allow us to bring in our own alcohol to the room, even after I had called and was told that was fine. They offered us a free bottle of champagne to be sent up to the room, which of course never showed up. The next day we were laying by the pool on the couch/bed things, and were told that people wanted to rent them for $200 so we had to get off. They ended up renting everything out there to people so there was NOWHERE else to sit unless you wanted to be in the pool. Don't charge me $400 for a room per night and then expect me to pay $200 to sit by the pool. ridiculous. We requested ice to ice down our cooler full of sodas and they said there was no ice machine so sent us up ONE bucket of ice. Don't think that did any good at all. When we ran out of toilet paper, we had to call twice to get some sent to us, and at which point they sent us ONE roll of toilet paper. The day we were leaving we asked that a luggage cart be sent up. We asked that it just be left outside our room so that we could load it as we go, but they arent allowed to do that- because they want us to tip them. all they want is MORE MONEY! The staff was very friendly, and I knew that it wasnt their fault that all of these policies had been put in place, but it's a customer-serving business people! So whoever did come up with all these rules needs to re think their policies! I will not stay there again- not worth paying that much money for having to obey such strict rules.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kaci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Awesome hotel with an amazing staff that was the perfect end to the best day of our lives!! We have already decided that this will be our anniversary spot :) oh and the hotel smells amazing!! Room service was great, especially the fries!! Loved the pool area, great view and great lounging! Only down side would be the parking: $30 a night..After a $400 room you'd think it'd be covered! Other than that we were very pleased and will definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladymattox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Joule. From the moment we checked in the service at this property was top notch, the door was always held for us. We were greeted with bottled water and cool towels and the gentleman did a great job to remember our names. From our first glance at our luxury king bedded room we knew it was going to be a great stay. I have never seen a place that was this modern and this clean. The lighting was fantastic. It is definitely a hotel that does a great job at catering to not only business guests, but leisure travelers alike. The level of service was incredible, when we called the front desk to ask for ice, a heaping bucket was at our door before I could even walk over to answer it. My favorite touch was the chocolates at turn down, absolutely delicious ghirardelli chocolates. We were about to go out for dessert, but the turndown service hit the spot. We were stayed at The Joule on a pleasure trip to visit my girlfriend's parents. We went out at night and the area around the hotel was very adequate for our evening desires. Our stay at the hotel was awesome, we would love to come back.

Room Tip: currently we caught wind of the hotel expanding, therefore there is construction, ask to dodge this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penguinsfan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
254 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Joule last weekend, and it was a great stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the atmosphere was trendy, and the Joule Poule is definitely the place to hang out on a hot Texas afternoon. The music was setting the mood and the drinks were outstanding!

We were upgraded to a deluxe room, so it was pretty big. The sitting area had a couch and a credenza, and a Bose sound system. The bedroom had an iPod docking station, TV, desk, and a very comfortable bed. For turndown service, there were nice Ghirardelli chocolates left on our pillows. The bathroom was a bit dark, but the shower was pretty awesome and I loved the Bvgari toiletries.

We ate at the restaurant for breakfast, and the eggs Benedict were disgusting. That would be my only complaint.

Other than that, we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel, very modern. Great ambiance in the pool bar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruz_Rosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 5,189 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt DFW
#1 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,733 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
The Fairmont Dallas
#13 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Property: The Joule, Dallas
Address: 1530 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#4 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule Hotel, named for the international unit of energy, is the stunning product of a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic landmark Dallas building, three restored buildings of 1930's vintage, and several new structures. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of old world quality and contemporary design, while densely populated throughout by museum quality artwork from names including Tony Cragg, Tony Tasset, Andy Warhol and Richard Phillips. In addition to new guest rooms, spectacular multi-story penthouses and bespoke lobby experience, the property includes an impressive glass-fronted rooftop cantilevered pool, subterranean spa, rooftop terrace with glass pavilion, beautiful event spaces, first-class dining, vibrant cocktail destinations and one-of-a-kind shopping experiences. The Joule is an artfully delivered experience set in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the Dallas Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing