We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique pool! Great service!”
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
Ranked #17 of 212 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

FABULOUS! The pool is on the 11th floor and extends past the building to hang over the sidewalk below! Breath-taking! An overall wonderful pool area with a bar! The rooms are gorgeous, too. The one-bedroom suite had a two-person jetted soaking tub! Sooo relaxing. . . The staff was super friendly and helpful. I love this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJoule, Public Relations Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

We are delighted to hear that your visit was memorable. The Joule team looks forward to welcoming you back!

~Christie Sheffield
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

We booked this hotel under luxury hotel and resort collection. We have NEVER had a bad experience with that company until now. Booked the hotel based on the pool/pool bar. Arrived and the pool bar doesn't open until 3 pm (not mentioned when I called the hotel directly and... Who is laying by the pool only after 3 pm?!?!) AND the pool was closed for a "photo shoot" that took up the whole pool for a majority of the afternoon.


Furthermore, room service was closed at 10 pm, front desk was unhelpful (in ordering a pizza nonetheless) and Charlie Palmer was a waste of time and energy (great staff, HORRIBLE management.)

Stay at luxury hotels frequently and would recommend ANYWHERE in dallas other than this! Spend your $$$ at the W!!! Better investment!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ObjectiveBigSpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJoule, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Unfortunate waste of money



Thank you for your insight and forgive us for the issues encountered during your stay. Due to the pool reputation and design, it is in high demand for photo shoots; however, we attempt to limit sessions to off-peak hours and the space is not to be exclusively closed during those times. It is with deep regret that you were unable to enjoy the space. Based on your valued feedback we will consider commencing the official pool season earlier next year and the photoshoots should not impede future guest experiences.

As a Luxury Collection hotel, room service is provided 24 hours a day. Please contact me directly so I can learn the details surrounding your communication with the Charlie Palmer team. We strive to exceed expectations at every turn and forgive us if we missed the mark during your visit.

Sincerely,
Brendan Carlin, Managing Director
214 261 4490
bcarlin@thejouledallas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I spent 2 nights in the St. Regis in Houston prior to coming to this hotel. The Joule is not luxurious in comparison and not sure why Starwood has it branded as such. This is a W Hotel wanna-be for the over 40 set. The rooms are tiny and open like most W's and the focus on being trendy, not on customer service nor amenities. Designer soap in the bathroom does not a luxury hotel make. This hotel has a very cramped feel. Be warned, the building next door is under construction (which I am sure is temporary). It is clear this hotel has no loading dock or alley because while I was eating dinner at the award winning restaurant downstairs (Charlie Palmer's) I had big trucks pulling up within 10 ft of my table loading and unloading big crates of towels (I learned they outsource their linens) and other large pieces of equipment. It really ruined the experience for me. The pool was nice as was the fitness center but with tiny cramped rooms, lack of customer service (I tried calling the desk 3 times and never go through) and the loading dock at the front of the building, I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Go to the W Hotel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJoule, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

I was disappointed to learn that the design was not as you expected. The Joule resides in a landmark 1927 neo-gothic bank building and some of our rooms are limited in size due to historical restraints but are priced accordingly. Our larger rooms and suites are quite comfortable with two stories and are as large as 2500 sq ft. As you mentioned we are currently undergoing a substantial expansion and renovation that encompasses three buildings to the east and three to the south. Our lobby will grow in size to incorporate a lobby bar, retail space and Library by Taschen that should help alleviate the cramped feel you experienced. Also included in our expansion is :

-31 spacious guest suites, and three architecturally significant penthouses.

-A second celebrity chef restaurant by Charlie Palmer incorporating farm fresh to table ingredients and open cooking stations.

-An airy 4,000 sq. ft. rooftop terrace and garden

-A subterranean 8,000 sq. ft. spa by ESPA

-A private screening room with seating for 25

Additionally, the expansion will relocate the loading dock so the Charlie Palmer patio dining experience is not interrupted. Again, thank you for your insight and please do not hesitate to reach me directly with additional thoughts so we can exceed your guest expectations in the future.

The fact that you were unable to get through to the front desk is quite disturbing and truly unacceptable. Feel free to reach me directly with any additional feedback.

Brendan Carlin, Managing Director
214 261 4490
Bcarlin@thejouledallas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A friend and I (females in our early 20's) stayed at the Joule on the night of the 7th April. From the moment we arrived, the service was impeccable.

Check in: staff were friendly and efficient and very happy to provide recommendations for activites/meals in the local area.

Room: we stayed in a Deluxe room with two double beds. The room was immaculately clean, modern and very spacious. The view left somewhat to be desired but we weren't there to look out the window. There was a very large shower but no bath. A point to note: there was no door separating the bathroom from the bedroom, instead there was a large pull-across curtain which acted almost as a room divider. There was a separate cubicle with door for the toilet. This didn't bother us too much but it was a bit of a strange arrangement, particular when the room isn't set up for couples. The beds were large and very comfortable.

Pool: The pool was wonderful. There were plenty of towels and comfortable seating available and the staff couldn't do enough to help. The service was great and drinks not eye-wateringly priced.

Transport: The hotel provided a courtesy car which was available to take us for dinner. The restaurant that was recommended to us for dinner was excellent but very pricey (make sure to check before accepting that this is what you're looking for). The hotel also arranged a car to take us to the airport early in the morning, which charged the same as the cabs' flat rate from the airport to downtown.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again if I return to Dallas.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends, check on the bathroom arrangement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If first impressions are lasting then my experience at The Joule will be a pleasant memory for quite some time. The customer service, bar none,was simply the best. I received a warm welcome from the gentlemen at the front door followed by prompt and courteous service from my check-in agent Mr. Myron Robinson whose attention to detail was impressive. Every hotel should be so fortunate to have a go-to -man as personable and professional as Myron. He set the tone and the bar for the rest of the staff and they, too, exceeded my expectations.
The room was on the 7th floor and I was quite pleased. I was not disturbed at all by any noise from the construction project. The bedroom could be closed off from the sitting area which included a sofa, bar area and flat screen T.V. The furnishings were upscale and comfortable. The bathroom was designed perfectly: A separate toliet area, a separate shower and my personal favorite...a jacuzzi bathtub.
The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of nice eating places, all types of stores and shops and entertainment establishments. I did have breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel and it was delicious. The hotel also has a nice gift shop.
If you are looking to treat yourself, then look no further than The Joule!

Room Tip: I usually rely on the recommendation from the front desk staff, in my case, Myron Robinson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

if platinum and wanting an upgrade, probably better for you to stay at one of the other Starwood properties in Dallas. I've stayed here 4-5 times and NOT ONCE been upgraded to suite based on availability. The hotel is small and the hotel runs a special ABA rate for suites; thus, hotel suites are very limited. Based on my experience here, suites are never available. Also, we are staying here for 2 night stay (over Easter holiday), and even though hotel is empty on Sunday night, front desk did not offer to bump us up to a suite even for the night hotel was empty (and suites available). Very annoying, stay elsewhere if a platinum member. Stay at W Hotel at Victory Park if platinum if trying to get upgraded to suite.

Other than room situation, hotel is nice, new and beds are comfortable. Very nice hotel if need to stay downtown (very nice hotel downtown if cool with standard issue room). The lobby is very nice and smells wonderful and the bath products are BULGARI which are very nice products.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidRing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The very nicely decorated lobby says a lot about this hotel. Everything from the lobby to the rooftop pool has a very modern look. I stayed in a suite on the 9th floor and had no complaints. The furniture was nice, the bed was extremely comfortable, and I loved the lighting system.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 212 in Dallas
1,231 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 212 in Dallas
7,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Address: 1530 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#8 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $249 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule Hotel, named for the international unit of energy, is the stunning product of a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic landmark Dallas building, three restored buildings of 1930's vintage, and several new structures. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of old world quality and contemporary design, while densely populated throughout by museum quality artwork from names including Tony Cragg, Tony Tasset, Andy Warhol and Richard Phillips. In addition to new guest rooms, spectacular multi-story penthouses and bespoke lobby experience, the property includes an impressive glass-fronted rooftop cantilevered pool, subterranean spa, rooftop terrace with glass pavilion, beautiful event spaces, first-class dining, vibrant cocktail destinations and one-of-a-kind shopping experiences. The Joule is an artfully delivered experience set in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the Dallas Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing