We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stay at the Springhill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Ranked #57 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Jacksonville, AR
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good stay at the Springhill”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We parked the car and left it there for two days. Many tourist attractions are steps away. Excellent restaurants are close by. The rooms are very large and spacious. The beds are only double beds. This is stated on the web site but it didn't really register with me until I got in the room. Oh, well. The breakfast cereal, bagels, waffles and yogurt are what you would expect and they serve the purpose. There was a dish they called scrambled eggs that was simply dreadful. The pool was tiny. The facility is very neat and clean and the staff is extremely helpful. I am a Marriott gold member, but this was my first visit to a Springhill Suites. It is slightly above what you would expect at a Fairfield, but definitely below a Residence Inn. All in all, though, if traveling with the family I would stay there again. If alone on business, I will go back to the Marriott City Center.

Room Tip: I had no problem with any street noise on the 10th floor. The garage staff is particularly helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brad120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have passed along your kind comments to our staff.


Sincerely,



Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    176
    100
    34
    23
See reviews for
94
97
38
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Not a 5 star because that would suggest pretentiousness it lacks...this is a great location for a first time visit to Dallas...easy walk to JFK sites, Aquarium and lots of great restaurants...short drive to Bush Library and stadiums...very spacious, clean suite at a bargain downtown price...affordable parking across the street to avoid valet fees...only down side? The worst scrambled eggs I ever had at comp breakfast...highly recommend!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rwheless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are centrally located, as you mentioned, to most of the downtown attractions ad restaraunts.

I will review our offerings with our breakfast team to see how we can improve on our eggs. With so many different guest, with different tastes, we have been offering simple scrambled eggs on our complimentary breakfast buffet.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.



Sincerey,


Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is an average hotel with a good downtown location. The shuttle does not leave prior to 7 AM. The beds are very comfortable; probably the best part of the stay. Small kitchens are useful; microwaves only. Traffic noise can be overbearing. The breakfasts are basic at best; mostly pre-packaged items devoid of real taste. Staff is courteous. I would stay elsewhere next visit. I was here for business.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jhongell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. As you outlined in your review, we are a limited service hotel with select offerings where we can offer our guests a more competitive rate than some of the full service hotels in the market at higher price points.


Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.


Sincerely,


Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the House of Blues and it worked out great. We parked the car and never got back in it. The House of Blues is a short walk down the street and there are a number of eating choices nearby. We walked across the parking lot to a good Thai/Chinese restaurant called Zenna and had dinner, after having some drinks at Gators around the corner.

As for the hotel, it was nice, except for the air conditioner unit that is placed right beside the bed, under the window, like a motel. A little noisy for me but my wife didn't seem to mind it at all. The valet parking will run you about $20, so be prepared to deal with it or park off street yourself.
We had a great time.

Room Tip: It was nice to have a small fridge, so bring some things to keep in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlefler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. I will share your comments with our staff.

We are in the pocess of changing out some of the older in-room heating/cooling units for a new LG unit that is definitely quiter.

Thank you again.



Sincerely,


Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a standard Springhill Suites property but modified for an urban location. The room was very big, but the heater / air conditioning fan was loud. The breakfasts were just as expected and perfect for my agenda. Edwardo, the shuttle driver, was very friendly and got me where I needed to go.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe-chicago-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I will share you comments with our staff.

Our hotel is centrally located within walking distance to most of the downtown attractions. We are in the process of replacing our older heating/cooling units with a newer unit in hopes of minimizing some of the noise.


Thank you again for the review.



Sincere,


Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I recently stayed here during a business trip for a week. I wanted something that offered a good package which this place does! I had a room with a microwave and fridge, there is a free shuttle that will take you out within a 3 mile radius from 7am to 7pm, and also has a great breakfast each morning. The hotel and rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean. I had some issues with the tub not draining and the sink, but upon notification to the front desk a maintenance person quickly came up and addressed these. In terms of location, it is near a few restaurants like Fridays, Spaghetti Warehouse, Hooters, House of Blues, and Ellens. CVS Pharmacy is also near. Nearby attractions include the Dallas World Aquarium, Perot Museum, 6th Flood Depository, and Dealy Plaza where JFK was shot. The breakfast was really good too….fresh oatmeal with toppings you can add such as brown sugar, walnuts, raisins, almonds, honey, and pecans. They even have nice greek yogurt too! Most hotels never offer that! I was excited there were healthy cereal options too (Kashi, Cheerios) and not just some blend of sugary cereals. You also have your basic breads, muffins, and fruit (apples, bananas, and one day freshly cut pineapple too!). When you want to use the shuttle, just let the front desk know so you can book a time. Mornings are generally the most busy…between 7-7:30AM so plan ahead if you have a group.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4GTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for takng the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel. I will pass along you kind comments toour staff.


Thank you again!!


Sincerely,



Jeff Durham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was our third visit in 12 months. We like this hotel for the convenient location for music venues we enjoy. This trip we were booked using "points" from our frequent sty account. Landing in room 303 (you'll want to remember this number) was a mistake on our part. The room was fine as far as being clean and comfortable. Decor I'd about two generations behind newer locations, but not shabby looking. The beds are a drawing point, always comfortable and inviting. Now the low point, when we arrived from the concert about 11:30 there was music seeping in from somewhere. Not overly load but definitely distracting when trying to go to sleep. In the past we stayed on higher floor and next time we will request a room that doesn't face West End, ask for one facing the Aquarium, and on on a higher floor. Will we go back? Of course, it's still to convenient and the staff is great ( Matt in the car park was super helpful).

One last thought, West End seems to be going down since the opening of the American Airlines Center across the freeway. New venues are opening there as West End looks half empty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east, away from the noise of West End and on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeff d, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for continuing to choose our hotel in the Dallas West End and for taking the time to write a review. Our hotel rooms were renovated in the summer of 2013 and are the current decor packge that will be found in newy renovated SpringHill Suites.

Being in an entertainment area, the West End area of Dallas, there are many establishments that have live outdoor entertainment. We work with the establishments in the area if we receive noise complaints and generally the local establishments adhere to the noise ordinance, which is 11pm in this area.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.


Sincerely,


Jeff Durham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
The Westin Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End

Property: SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Address: 1907 N. Lamar St, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to comfort and convenience, SpringHill Suites by Marriott Dallas Downtown/West End delivers big. Elevate your adventures in the Dallas West End area while visiting our hotel, and enjoy proximity to top Dallas attractions including Dealey Plaza and American Airlines Center, home to the Mavericks and Stars games. Everything is bigger in Texas, and our Dallas West End hotel suites are no exception. Boasting 25 percent more space than traditional hotel rooms, our stylish suites offer separate areas for working, relaxing, and sleeping. They are perfect for unwinding after a day of excitement near our Dallas West End hotel. We invite you to stay with us and wake up to enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet, or grab something on the go from The Market, which is open 24 hours a day and now features a beer and wine selection. When you want to unwind, you can work up a sweat in our state-of-the-art fitness center or enjoy a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool. If you are in town without a ride, we welcome you to take advantage of our free shuttle service to destinations within 3 miles, or travel around the city on the DART -- there's a station just half a mile away. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Dallas Downtown West End Hotel Dallas
Dallas Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing