We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly in need of an upgrade.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #16 of 204 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Badly in need of an upgrade.”
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I've stayed more than 30 times at the Magnolia, having monthly business in Dallas. Frankly, I'd stay elsewhere if my employer didn't have a deal with the hotel. The good: thick walls, high ceilings, doors that don't slam loudly, short hallways (no kids running up and down them, fewer loud late-night conversations), free full breakfast. The bad: When the hotel is full (which is often, since they have a deal with the federal govt), you can wait more than 5 minutes for one of the slow, creaky, mildly scary elevators, half of which tend to be out of service at any one time. Beware of outdoor rock concerts on warm nights, even during the week. Staff are friendly but clueless, the exercise room is substandard, and the loud top 40s pop music in public spaces can make you want to throttle Lady Gaga. Overall: Not a horrible hotel, but not worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figarospeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,055
    812
    294
    109
    101
See reviews for
504
947
208
1,203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, AR
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

The Magnolia Hotel is as beautiful as its namesake. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and spacious. The gym was well-equiped and clean. The food was delicious and the cookie buffet was a unique and thoughtful touch. I had a few little problems with internet connectivity, but with as smootly as everything else runs at the Magnolia, I'm sure that it will be fixed soon if it isn't already (and it could've just been MY computer, anyway). The crowning jewel of the Magnolia is the valet and shuttle service. They were prompt, knowledgeable and very charismatic. It's a bit pricey, but the Magnolia is worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryceNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I have stayed at The Magnolia Denver and truly enjoyed the hotel and service. The Magnolia Dallas was just as wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dallas for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbmosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Magnolia was amazing! We checked in late and we got to enjoy some milk and cookies and sit by a fireplace! We then were walking distance from the Main street bars and clubs and danced the night away. We went back to the hotel and fell asleep instantly on their amazing bed! We also made sure we woke up early and enjoyed their hot continental breakfast buffett. It was an amazing experience and we'll be staying at the Magnolia time and time again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindato2871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We had a wonderful experience at the Magnolia Hotel in Dallas. We needed a quick in town getaway and chose this older, established hotel. It was beautiful, comfy and cozy and the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The bathroom tub was big enough for the wife and I to sit and relax and enjoy a nice soak.

The club room was elegant and we enjoyed a wonderful time of complimentary beer and wine at Happy Hour and then later that evening enjoyed a neat time of cookies and milk as a night time treat!

Overall our stay was excellent. Being in the heart of downtown Dallas, however, the night life didn't die down until around 2:30, so sleep was a bit difficult until that point. We were on the 5th floor so it is possible if you were higher up it might not be heard so much.

We would certainly consider staying at the Magnolia again, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof8Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
league city
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was very good. We were out to late so we didn't get to try the cookies in the evening. The only problem is parking. You have to valet park which is $22. If want to park yourself then you'll have to walk 2-3 blocks and yo don't have in and out priviledges which puts you back to valet parking. The valet guys are GREAT! You do feel comfortable letting these guys take your car. The location is excellent as well. Easy to get to and from the freeway.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzieleaguecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I spent 3 nights there on the 12th floor corner room, the vews were awesome. The second floor offered comfort, warmth and excellent service. Thanks for making my first trip to Dallas a memorable one!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 204 in Dallas
6,669 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 204 in Dallas
1,989 reviews
The Adolphus
#19 of 204 in Dallas
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#12 of 204 in Dallas
1,069 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 204 in Dallas
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing