We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC stay at the Magnolia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #16 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC stay at the Magnolia”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My wife and I went to Texas for some sightseeing as well as meeting up with some friends. While in Dallas we stayed at the Magnolia (this was our first trip to Texas). I booked the room from Expedia so I cannot remember the exact charge for the room since it was a package. The Magnolia definately goes the extra mile in making their guests feel welcome. Upon arrival which I was able to get into my room around 12:30 I was greeted by the manager and girl at the front desk. The manager made sure to let me know all the services the Magnolia had to offer as well as the times to utilize those.
We were given a free upgrade to a queen suite. The suite had flat screens in the bedroom and living room. We had a full kitchen. The room was very clean, comfortable, and felt very homey. The bed was very comfortable. Overall I was very impressed with the accomodations.
Amenities: well it started with the complimentary happy hour from 5:30-6:30. Jon the bartender (who was fantastic) served guests with free draft beer, and free wine during that hour. We did not stay after that hour so I am not sure of the prices after that. Jon was very helpful in sharing about local places to visit. From 8-10 each evening they have complimentary milk and cookies. They have about 3-4 different types of cookies for your pleasure. Finally each morning they have a breakfast which has eggs, potatoes, and a meat. The breakfast was excellent and a great way to start the day. We did walk into the weight room which looked nice, but the hot tub was TOO hot. They do have a business center with printers on the second and third floors.
The people here are outstanding! Everyone from the manager to the valets were very friendly, helpful, and all around welcoming! The walk to some of the attractions range from 5-15 minutes. We did all the tourist stuff (JFK 6th Floor Museum, Southfork, Dealey Plaza, Fort Worth). Hofbrau Steaks is excellent (short walk), Sonny Bryans was very good too. I cannot say enough about this hotel. The only drawback could be the parking which is 22.00 per day plus tax. It does have in/out privledges and I was able to get my car very fast. Going to other large cities, that is a fair price, but downtown Dallas parking seems pretty cheap, and the cars are parked off-site. Thanks again Magnolia!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjkcpktrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,039
    808
    292
    109
    99
See reviews for
503
942
207
1,187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2009

After reading so many reviews, we weren't sure what to expect. We felt the room was very satisfactory and the bathrooms were large with a nice shower. The evening cookies and the breakfast were enjoyable. The parking is really a problem--approaching $30/day with tips and the wait for your car can be long--even if you call ahead.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulPittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas14
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and were very pleased. The rooms are a nice size and the hotel staff was very friendly. The location was great too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This is a great hotel, right downtown. It is close to everything! Public transportation is available to whatever they are not close to! They offer wonderful historic suites, a good breakfast every morning, social happy hour and cookies every night. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. There is a no smoking rule hotel-wide. The staff will do almost anything to keep the guests happy. However, the elevators (5) are taxed at peak use periods (breakfast and business rush hours) so if the 3 minute wait for the elevator is more important than the service from a dedicated staff, then you might look somewhere else. There is a fitness center and steam room, but no pool. Valet parking is expensive ($26/day), try a nearby garage if you drive here, I will recommend the hotel to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

I stayed here after checking out of the SpringHill Suites (horrible experience) and absolutely loved it! The rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast was good and the cookies and milk at night were a plus! The staff was friendly and I will absolutely stay here again if I return to Dallas. I recommend this hotel to all of my coworkers!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2009

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the downtown Dallas Magnolia and as always we had a great time. Room was clean and well appointed and we got an amazing easter holiday rate. We spent the evening at the bar watching the Masters, playing pool and playing Wii...yes they have a Wii...it was really fun. We had the same funny bartender as our last stay about six months ago. Its a great spot for couples who need a quick getaway for the weekend. Plenty of shopping and dining within walking distance including Neiman Marcus and Iron Cactus where we had lunch. Highly recommend the cookies and milk after an exhausting round of Wii bowling!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walshfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

our stay at this hotel was superb. We got a great deal with their easter special (80.00 / night with a free suite upgrade). The suite (1302) was beautiful. Free wine or beer 5:30 to 6:30 and a cookie and milk bar before bedtime! Nice touch. Only negative (small one at that) is that there is no parking, you must use the valet... but, it's this way in most big cities if you stay downtown, so no suprise! Perfect downtown location! Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swtchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,461 reviews
The Adolphus
#18 of 203 in Dallas
2,596 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#19 of 203 in Dallas
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
1,058 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 203 in Dallas
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing