We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Much More to Ask For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #13 of 212 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at The Magnolia Hotel. Couldn't have been more pleased. EVERYONE was friendly and helpful. I'm a "seasoned" senior and always felt safe. The morning buffet was wonderful; wine at night heart warming; warm cookies and milk in the evening (do I need to say more). The shuttle service was very helpful since the weather was AWFUL - sleet, rain and wind!! The bed was GREAT!! Room was VERY quiet (and it even faced streetside). WiFi worked like a charm. Location is great!! I have no qualms about recommending The Magnolia; would absolutely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear sandra s,

When "seasoned" travelers such as yourself have no qualms...that just puts a smile on our faces. Qualms! You used the word qualms. For this alone you are our favorite.

Our shuttle, our staff, our WiFi, and our service will all be here, and just as qualm-free for your next stay - we hope it's soon.

Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 3,429 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was my 3rd trip to Dallas, but my first time staying at the iconic Magnolia Hotel. I was looking forward to my stay for quite some time & was not disappointed. It was everything I had hoped for. The room was very clean & quiet, so I had no trouble sleeping at night. The staff was friendly & very helpful when I needed directions. The breakfast buffet offered a variety to choose from & was quite good. I would definitely stay at the Magnolia again & would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Dallas.

Janet - Massachusetts

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hey Janet S,

We're so happy you had such a great experience during your stay! Thanks for the kind words and we love being called, iconic. Such a wonderful ring to that. Thanks for the review.

Keep us in mind for the next one.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during JFK's 50th memorial ceremony. We arrived at around 1 p.m. and were able to check-in right way. We found the staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a bit dark but it didn't bother us at all. Breakfast was very good and adequate. We just loved the happy hour, good atmosphere and fun! The cookies and milk before bed time was a treat! The shuttle service was a plus feature too. We would definitely stay in Magnolia again should we ever return to Dallas.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th Floor and we have really good internet connection all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiselust888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear hector2002,

Thank you for writing this review and thank you for helping the city honor such a somber and historic moment. We are proud to be a part of Dallas and her history, and look forward to providing our guests the quality of service they've come to expect for years to come.

Thanks for helping us keep the bar raised.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I travel to the Dallas area several times each month, and try to stay at the Magnolia whenever I can. I've stayed here at least 8 times this fall. As a business traveler, these are aspects that I appreciate:

Robust Wi-Fi. Except for an occasional router issue, I've generally found the internet to be secure and strong throughout the hotel--at all times, day/night. I've noticed that AT&T's headquarters is across the street, and many of their executives stay at the hotel. AT&T is the provider throughout the property.

Food. The morning breakfast buffet is generally very good and varied, with eggs, rotating breakfast meats, fruit, cereal, yogurt, various breads, juices and lots and lots of good coffee. (My only irritation (recently) was that the hotel did not provide cloth napkins with breakfast, as it once did, and the replacement paper napkins were cocktail size-not good with suits.) The same area is a lounge/restaurant in the evening. Food is very reasonable and very good. Until 7 pm each night, the "appetizers" are half-price. In some cases, these are nice meals. Traveling alone, I find myself eating here each trip. While I wish the hotel had more craft beer options, the bar is a nice place to hang out in evening and socialize. Bartender are great! Others have mentioned the evening cookies and milk.

Great Service. I really like the staff at this property. They are friendly, intelligent and helpful. Not just front desk-everyone. Everyone seems intent on helping make the experience nice. The valet crew, too!

I really like the historic feel and variation in the property. It has its quirks (elevators), but those give it a unique feel. I've been informed by the staff that the elevators are being renovated (saw evidence of that this week) to modernize. That will be helpful during particularly busy periods.

Room Tip: I prefer higher rooms with exterior views to North and East, which showcase a cool skyline. Lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hey treyleah,

Reading reviews like this - deep analysis, precise mentions of pluses and minuses, attentive eye to details using direct and eloquent language - makes us want to hire you to create our staff training manuals.

But we know you're a world-traveler and have no time for this, so we've taken your review and shared it with our staff.

Thank you for taking the time, and dedicating your talent, to penning this review. It will help us keep our already high standards of service, raised.

See you next time.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have been checked into this hotel for approximately two hours and have been moved twice, been kicked off the internet three times and can barely see in this dark hotel room;not happy.

In our first room, we listened to the people in next room have a very loud argument complete with the f word; why are the walls so thin that we can hear every word? That was in addition to no internet access and trash bags laying in the hallway of this dump.

In the second room, there was still no internet access and we were informed that they were having technical difficulties on the higher floors and there would be no internet access until Friday.

We are now on the 15th floor, I keep getting kicked off of the internet and can barely see in this ridiculously poorly lit room. We are leaving first thing in the morning; the Courtyard Marriott that we have stayed in before looks like five stars compared to this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Chaz2,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience with us. We also appreciate you drawing our attention to areas where we can improve customer experience.

While we cannot guarantee that if our other guests are arguing, they will be quiet and use respectful language, or that our WiFi will always be working, we can guarantee that we will do whatever it takes to make sure you are comfortable and have access to the services we are able to provide at that time.

Without valuable feedback, both positive and constructive, we wouldn't be able to constantly revise and raise our already elevated standard of service. Your concerns have been noted and addressed to the appropriate parties.

Thank you again for your time, and we hope to have another chance to serve you.

Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were obnly in town one night, but the Magnolia crew was incredible. We arrived at 10:30 and decided to swing by to see the hotel. They allowed us to check in at 11am, and that allowed us to drop off our luggage instead of taking it around town. Allen at the front desk gave us some lunch ideas, and was super helpful. We were in town to see Pearl Jam at AAC, and they shuttled us to/from the show that evening. Beautiful suite, great service and a clean friendly atmosphere. A+. Cheers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjdeering7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hey jjdeering7,

Well we love Pearl Jam, we love to hold onto people's bags while they explore, we love shuttling, and we love your review.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope you do it again for the next gig.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Amenities included free WiFi, free beer/wine/soda, free milk and cookies, free breakfast buffet, and free shuttle service nearby.

Great location downtown. Stayed there for the weekend of the Dallas Margarita Ball. Staff was extremely friendly and desired to make the stay as pleasant as possible. Already planning on utilizing the hotel for next year's visit. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarthRuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hi DarthRuler,

You write a pretty nice review for being a Sith. We appreciate you taking the time to write about what worked for you and everything - from the cookies, the happy hour, the WiFi, the service - will all be here next year.

May the Force be with you,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 212 in Dallas
7,367 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#24 of 212 in Dallas
4,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Dallas
#16 of 212 in Dallas
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#24 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $146 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing