We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax and Work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #15 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Great Place to Relax and Work”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have a consulting engagement in Dallas which requires work in the evenings. The facilities are excellent and the free wifi is great. We also enjoy the great breakfast and evening reception. The Magnolia Dallas becomes our home away from home. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,030
    804
    290
    109
    98
See reviews for
500
935
206
1,182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
distroff
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked a room in this hotel, which used to be the office for the Magniolia Petroleum company, which later became "Mobil Petroleum", the famous flying red horse (PEgasus) used to be on top of the hotel. The building was built in the 20s was the highest building of the USA during 20 years.
The room was on the top floor so we had a great view on the surrounding skyscrapers, illuminated for Halloween. The room was very big, with a kitchen and the basic equipement, 2 flat-screen TVs, one in the living-room, one in the bedroom. The bathroom was OK.Wine was offered between 5 and 6:30 at the hotel bar, we found a comfortable seat in front of the chimney to enjoy it. Breakfast was delicious with almost anything you could want to eat.
Be aware that there is nothing to do in this area, hardly any shops or bars..

Room Tip: Our room was in an anle so we had many windows to admire the skyscrapers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thierry-hirtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
217 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

it does, as they say "feel good here". You won't find any Texas oil tycoons here though---unless
they're frugal. The building and decor feel a bit tired, but not the service, which is super friendly, always helpful. Buffet breakfasts included. Free shuttle service to anywhere within a three-mile radius. Easy access to downtown Dallas, the convention center, and lots of restaurants. Good value! Add my recommendation. (Ayed and Sayeed will help you get around town.)

Room Tip: If they can upgrade you to a suite, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I had booked this hotel in preparation for a weekend away with my fiancé, as well as my sister and her fiancé. They had just recently got engaged since he had returned from his third tour of duty in Afghanistan and we wanted to get away. He is a huge Chicago Blackhawks fan and since there was a game on Saturday the 9th in Dallas I figured, "Why not." The hotel was very nice and historic and the staff was incredible. From the valets to the people at the front desk, especially a front desk employee by the name of Jon. He helped me print out tickets for the hockey game and a concert I had bough tickets for instead of paying the $7 to use a computer for 15 minutes. The happy hour reception is a great thing and the location of the hotel is amazing. Walking distance to almost anything you can think of. I'm so glad I booked this hotel for all of us and would absolutely book it again. The only downside is the pricey valet parking, which is almost required, but the staff is so nice I didn't even mind it.

Room Tip: My room was on the 9th floor, it was very nice with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels. We booked a suite with a living room and kitchenette and we could not have been more impressed. We were traveling with children and the hotel staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. You can book this hotel with confidence.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you are not traveling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This old converted office building does the job, it is in a downtown location which was good for the convention I was attending (about a 9 minute walk to the convention center) and the price was better then the ones closer. There is a daily buffet breakfast which was excellent and complientary lite beer or wine at happy hour. My room was very normal on the small side room, I was expecting a suite of some sort, pehaps a sitting area. Maybe it was the slightly discounted price I paid that got me such a small room, but I really fealt that I was mislead, lied to about getting a suite. I would definitley have booked a different hotel had I know the room would have been what it was. But for $20 a nite, I would have had a room that was closer and bigger. And add to this, there is no airport shuttle and the local shuttle (supposed to be free) for the 3 miles around cost me the same as a cab beacuse of the pressure of the tip and I had to wait much longer....

If there is no other choice nearer to the convention center, this hotel does the job. Just don't expect a suite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lost_bobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Awesome Downtown location, lots of little extras. We had a suite that was VERY roomy. Historic building was neat. Great customer service. Valet Boss kind of reminded me of the "Soup Nazi from Seinfeld" but still gave pretty good service. I don't really like my car being off somewhere unknown to me and not being able to run to it for one thing but that is just my own personal preference. Otherwise outstanding service all the way around.

Room Tip: Lovely & Large Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank repstein75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 203 in Dallas
6,339 reviews
The Adolphus
#19 of 203 in Dallas
2,581 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#7 of 203 in Dallas
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,886 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 203 in Dallas
3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing