We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Old Gay Uncle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #16 of 207 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel was originally built in 1922 as the office and headquarters for the Magnolia Petroleum company - later to become Mobil Oil.

It remained the tallest building in Dallas until 1964.

The is no doubt the place has slipped from grandeur somewhat, a kind of ageing architectural rock star, but the elegance of the 20's is still there in high intricately tiled ceilings, ornate beaux arts add-ons and a kind of dilapidated sheik.

Maybe less like an ageing rock star and more of an old gay uncle…

My room was on the 5th floor and still picked up some noise from the street but nothing that actually kept me awake through a Friday and a Saturday night.
The space was generous and comfortable with a good desk/office area, lounge and even a little entrance hall. The bathroom is equally luxurious with acres of mirrors and a great double bath.
The position in the centre of downtown is as convenient as anywhere else in Dallas. Walk to the farmers market in one direction – go the other way to Dealey Plaza and the Kennedy memorial, the historic district or visit any of the great public spaces around the city.
Overall it offered a great value for money for a city centre hotel with the added extras of a history and a beauty that made me feel just a little bit special and was far more interesting to stay at than perhaps more functional hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reveget8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,624 - 1,630 of 3,410 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were welcome from the time we walked in to the lobby, to the time that we left. The Service and friendliness was excellent from everyone that we dealt with. The room was like a regular hotel room, but the bathroom needed some work. The bathtub needed to be completely replaced. It looked like it had been painted. That bathroom in a hotel without the great service would have lowered the room to a low 3.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Big pluses:
--Public spaces are beautiful
--Staff is friendly and helpful
--Great "extras" with the two free drinks at the evening happy hour, fantastic included breakfast. and bedtime milk and cookies
--Location plus free downtown shuttle
--Large suites, well appointed kitchen, tastefully decorated, in-room temp control

The minuses that made it impossible to give 5 stars:
--TERRIBLE in-room lighting
--Extrememly worn out bed...led to a very sore back, especially after two flights
--Old windows let in road noise and interior courtyard rooms have a terrible echo from the enclosed concrete...birds sound like they're on your bedpost in the morning and any late night partiers outside turn your room into a club
--No fan in the bathroom (would have used it to drown out the sound from the bullet above!)
--Perhaps a little understaffed...one shuttle driver on a Sat afternoon, one bellhop+valet on Sun morning which led to us walking a mile and a half to lunch and carrying our own bags down in the AM...it worked out but these are things you expect this level of hotel to have covered

Room Tip: Suite bedrooms have a door so an addtl guest could sleep on the couch and not be in the same room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALM0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the magnolia late february and for the price i thought it was great value,yes it is a bit dated,yes you can hear noises,but for the proximity to all downtown attractions it was perfect for me.Was easy walking distance to dealey plaza,reunion tower,even the AA center wasnt a bad walk either,the staff were very polite and friendly,and we ate at the lounge every morning and night, and really enjoyed the meals we chose.Safety is always a concern to most travellers,but i dont think i ever felt unsafe for the entire time i was there,i would recommend this hotel highly and would definately stay there the next time im in Dallas.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I visited for a quick in-town Friday night getaway. We have previously taken those getaways to another downtown hotel or another one near downtown. We were very pleased to have chosen the Magnolia on this occasion. We had chosen an online package that included a suite and free overnight parking. We were given a room with a spectacular view on the 17th floor. Having spent most of my childhood in Dallas, this building was a very popular sight with the lighted bright red Pegasus (flying red horse) that could be seen all over the city. The building was originally the headquarters for Magnolia Oil Company, the predecessor to Mobil Oil. A recreation of the original Pegasus still adorns the top of the building, and although it can no longer be seen across the city because of being blocked by much taller skyscrapers, it still remains a nostalgic sight for long-time Dallas residents. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. Having requested a room with a view, we were not able to get the room as dark as we would have liked for sleeping due to the bright city lights. The breakfast buffet was extensive, although surprisingly busy for a Saturday morning (we had to wait to find a table). This hotel would be a great choice for locals looking for a weekend away from home, tourists or business travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CyclingGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Im sitting here at 6:00am writing a very torn review. On one hand you wont find a nicer staff at any metropolotan city property. From the moment you walk in they are very polite and willing to help with anything you may need. The rooms are dated but very home like and spacious for a mid tier Dallas property. We opted for a larger suite which was broken into two rooms; living/kitchen and bedroom area. bathroom was large with a decent garden tub. The property from an archatectual stand point is stunning. The valet service was on point and even offered a text your ticket option with a return estimate on time to curb.

Here is where I am torn - we frequent Dallas from Fort Worth (30 mins away) for staycations one to two times a month. We are SPG gold members and Omni select guest 2nd tier members. Up untill 11PM we thought the Magnolia would be our new go-to in Dallas. The hotel is VERY loud from all perspectives. There are pipes making noises, toilets running, constant foot steps even with 12 FT ceilings. Street level noise and partying that even for sound sleepers kept us up ALL NIGHT. After not sleeping one wink, we left the hotel at 4:45 AM and drove home. Not what I want to do after spending $250 for a room.

We would have liked to have stayed and enjoyed the breakfast that sounds so great based on other reviews but couldnt stand not to drive home and try to get some sleep. We may give the Magnolia another try but will invest in a sleep machine or ear plugs before.

Gerald

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCFWTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved this hotel in comparison to some, great staff, I upgraded to a suite...felt like a star...good breakfast and perfectly located. I would highly recommend this hotel, I had a rental car but everything is within walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Upgraded to the suite for a sexy feel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BAP-NYC-BURBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 207 in Dallas
7,122 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#24 of 207 in Dallas
4,229 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 207 in Dallas
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 207 in Dallas
2,671 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#11 of 207 in Dallas
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range: $151 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing