We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #15 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very old building, but the hotel was in good condition. Perfect location in the heart of downtown. The cleanliness of our bathroom upon checkin was not acceptable, which makes this an average rating. Great location for watching the Childrens Medical Center Holiday Parade.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,992
    791
    283
    105
    98
See reviews for
498
916
202
1,153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Magnolia this past weekend. I was very impressed with the service - the staff was very accommodating even though we arrived 30min before our scheduled check-in. The room felt luxurious and cozy at the same time. We missed out on the complimentary cocktails/cookies, but enjoyed the free hot breakfast the next morning. The hotel is also conveniently located to many hot spots in downtown Dallas. We walked about 15 min to the House of Blues and 10 min to the Dallas World Aquarium. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiphany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel was clean, the complementary drinks were great, and I would definitely stay here again! We were able to get a suite on "sale" and the room was very nice for the price paid. It was relatively close to where we were headed (the House of Blues) and the free shuttle service was a bonus. They will take you anywhere in a 3 mile radius for free until midnight!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobofosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Cannot say enough about the valet staff in helpfulness and courtesy. Hotel room set up like apartment and bedroom and bathroom small. Lack of any information about hotel services and area from front desk or in room surprising and were told by front desk the hotel does not do "paper". But the location to nightlife and valet staff more than make up for the minor irritants of room. Talked to many people at other hotels all saying they wish they had stayed at the Magnolia! Plans are to stay again our next trip to Dallas!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maserati2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. They kindly upgraded us to a King Superior on the 26st floor the views over Dallas were amazing. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was huge with a large bathtub. Walking distance to JFK sights and was close to many restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozitis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My daughter and I just came back from a girls weekend away and we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night. The hotel has a special charm to it because of its historic background. That said, don't go expecting a fresh, modern room with updated anything. Walls and doors are grey, and while the rooms have plenty of lamps, the grey surroundings just made the rooms seem dark. I specifically asked for a higher floor to cut down on traffic/downtown noise...which we got...but, unfortunately, the sound of buses and sirens kept me tossing throughout the night. Again, I think that has to do with the age of the building.

We had a corner room on the 17th floor...it was very spacious and clean. We parked with the valet and never had any problems coming and going. The bellmen were friendly and helpful. We requested new towels on our second night and they were prompt bringing them to our room. We did not take advantage of the free breakfast, but did go down one night for the milk and cookies...they were delicious.

Overall, it was a nice stay. However, I don't think we'll be staying again due to the outside street noise and the dark rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmommyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel provided us with the perfect location for dinner, access to the American Airlines Center for our event, and nice picture moments due to the Christmas decorations near the hotel. The hotel offered a nice cocktail hour that Saturday from 5:30 to 6:30, which included two complimentary cocktails (beer or wine) per occupant. It also offered cookies and milk from 8-10 PM, but we were unable to participate in this due to plans. A complimentary breakfast was also provided, which offered more than what I thought it would. I enjoyed it! I would have liked more than one mirror in the room besides the one in the bathroom, but that was manageable. I would stay here again if I were attending an event downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alana2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,939 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#7 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
The Adolphus
#16 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing