We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING! A Must See!!”

The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.99*
and up
Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza
Ranked #2 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the sixth floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (formerly the Texas School Book Depository) from which Oswald fired those infamous shots, this historic exhibition chronicles the life, times, assassination and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Online ticketing is now available through our website.
Carl Junction, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING! A Must See!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

While vacationing with friends in Dallas we went to the Sixth Floor Museum.

When we arrived we waiting for about 20 minutes in line to get into the museum. Once inside we were given a headset and given quick instructions on how to use it. We then proceeded to the museum.

The museum is made up of different collages of items about Kennedy's legacy, his assassination, and the legacy he left. The tour is self guided and easy to navigate. It goes into great detail with the narration on your headset. Lots of original artifacts from the shooting itself. It was very surreal to also stand and look out the window on the place that a US President was assassinated.

Very much worth the price of admission & we would all highly recommend this to anyone!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LPBENW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,386
    1,766
    412
    80
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Look back in history”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Definitely worth 2 hours of your time to relieve a moment in history. I thought it was pretty cool where they showed the actually layout and rifle where the supposed shots were fired. There is an X on the street only seen from above where tragedy happened.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Galactus1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quick but worth it”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I ended up getting here just abut 40 minutes before closing so I had to move a little quicker than others. I would recommend an hour and more if you are a history buff.

The museum itself is jam packed with info and great photographs - it is set up to take you on a time-based journey.

If you're in Dallas, it seems like a must-stop place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MGood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“enjoyed, very informative”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family enjoyed our short tour here. Although, if you have small kids, you may not get to read or look at everything. But our kids (7 and 3.5) seemed to like learning about this historical event.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
2 reviews
“Kind of Dissapointing”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I didn't realize there wouldn't be any original items on display such as items of clothing worn by Jackie Kennedy or anyone else in the motorcade. There are a lot of captioned photos and of course the area where the shots range out. But it's very sterile and not that fascinating. It's hard to crane your neck around all the other observers, as well. Too me the most interesting thing there was the original teletype text of the assasination and the comments people wrote in the guestbook at the end of the tour. People don't believe the "magic bullet" theory and they really want the true story.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pattipoo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository also viewed

 

Been to The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing