We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$15.99*
and up
Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza
Ranked #2 of 236 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the sixth floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (formerly the Texas School Book Depository) from which Oswald fired those infamous shots, this historic exhibition chronicles the life, times, assassination and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Online ticketing is now available through our website.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited this museum during a weekend trip to Dallas. It is very well done. The self guided audio tour allows you to move through at your own pace. There are additional videos throughout that allow you to relive those emotional moments in history. I'm glad I got to visit during the 50th anniversary.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,465
    1,791
    417
    81
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
“visiting area seeing what happened oun your first birthday”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

area was informative of what happened that day. it was interesting of what happened on my first birthday. after it happened my mom was first prepairing a cake for the birthday but no party happened. its nice haveing thanksgiving fall on the day but it will be still the day that a presendent got killed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gregg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A must see part of history”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I went here from Irving on the train and recognized it instantly from the train, even though the majority of pictures an film are from the opposite direction.
The area is much smaller in person than it appears on TV.

After being there the possibility of a conspiracy really opens up. with all the security surrounding the president, how was that place open, and how did he have the window open with a rifle hanging out of it with nobody out of the hundreds of police, FBI, etc. noticing him. I mean they were traveling through a urban canyon and the security detail had to be looking at the buildings.
It just makes me wonder Jessie Ventura has a interesting program "Conspiracy Theory" about JFK on True TV.... http://www.trutv.com/shows/conspiracy-theory/videos/deathbed-confession.html

makes me wonder even more.

One other thing don't pay the bootleg tour guides unless you just want to waste your money. just go past them down Houston street and you will see the entrance on your left.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfrquently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“6th Floor Museum”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The museum is very informative, but was packed due to the number of school visits. I am all in favour of keeping the assassination alive in the minds of the young, but can these visits not be scheduled to avoid peak tourist times? Can't be that difficult.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Depository”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Moving, authentic and very well organized. Crowded over a holiday weekend, but visitors could move at their own pace and the museum limited visitors to 100 at a time. Very emotional and educational experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynnBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing