We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view from the window made it worth it.”

The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.99*
and up
Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza
Ranked #2 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the sixth floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (formerly the Texas School Book Depository) from which Oswald fired those infamous shots, this historic exhibition chronicles the life, times, assassination and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Online ticketing is now available through our website.
Midwestern, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The view from the window made it worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The museum itself is mostly storyboards to read, a few actual items, but not many. The view on the 7th floor above the sniper's nest on the 6th floor alone was worth the cost of admission. Very moving experience to see the view in person that you have seen on TV over and over. Whether you believe Oswald acted alone or not, the view drives home the very sad, somber fact that at that time, it would have been very easy to change the lives of a nation of people in an instant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank stkn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,310
    1,734
    405
    79
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“The Sixth Floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

A very thought out and informative experience. Buy tickets online for a specific time instead of waiting in line. Crowded on the weekends especially with the 50th anniversary approaching. You may also walk across the street to the Museum cafe and buy tickets. Another way to avoid the lines.
AAA and Senior discount. I would not bring small children or a stroller. Tight spaces and small children will be bored. Excellent for teens to learn history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingtourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibit for such a tragic event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was so well put together. I am not traditionally a history buff but this is something you can genuinely spend hours in. I would recommend for all ages. I loved that it was self guided with an audio tour that included multiple types of visual aides. It's worth a trip but give yourself around 3 hours to really get through it all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scrappy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were scheduled to attend a conference in Dallas, a few weeks ago. Realizing that we were approaching the 50th anniversary of President Kennedy's Assassination. We scheduled our flight to arrive early and allotted 2 hours for our tour. Because of the high crowd volume it was hard to read and experience it all in 2 hours. We shuffled along with our earphones and were fascinated and moved by what we saw and read. It really is a very bizarre and surreal experience to actually see the spot where the shots were fired as well as the "x's" on the road which mark the 3 places where President Kennedy was shot.
Since returning from Dallas I've watched several TV specials commemorating the 50th Anniversary of President Kennedy's assassination and it is amazing how clear and heartbreaking it is to of been there and to reflect on what a different world we had before his assassination and now.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Informative Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This turned out to be of the best things about my visit to Dallas. I had no idea that the visit would be so informative. The lines - especially in the run up to the 50th anniversary - can be rather long. We bought our tickets from the museum store but it was 90 minutes later before we could enter the museum itself as the visits are timed. You should allow for up to 2 hours to visit this museum, which includes an audio guided tour through JFK's life and legacy. I found the photographs of the shooting rather poignant and sobering. Overall, a great museum (and far better than the city monument to JFK that is around the corner behind the old court house).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RunnerJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository also viewed

 

Been to The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing