We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must to see!”

The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.99*
and up
Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza
Ranked #2 of 236 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the sixth floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (formerly the Texas School Book Depository) from which Oswald fired those infamous shots, this historic exhibition chronicles the life, times, assassination and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Online ticketing is now available through our website.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is a must to see!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed going to this piece of history! If you go anywhere in Dallas, this is a must. The audio tour was very informative and I wish more places had that as an option when visiting. I was only in second grade when JFK was killed, but I remember watching everything on TV. The only thing that was disappointing to me was the gift shop.

Helpful?
Thank cathy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,464
    1,791
    417
    80
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Moving”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was a worth while visit on our short stay in Dallas. A well presented attraction of photographs, film footage, wall boards which were all explained by the use of headphones. Finish it off by going up to the 7th floor where you can get a good view from above the suspected window used.. Enjoyable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well Done!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The audio tour was well done and not too long. We went early in the morning and it was rather crowded which sometimes made it hard to move around. Make sure you check out the 7th floor as well!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuzePA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A museum to visit!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A very interesting place even for canadians... Very moving! Slightly pricey but the entance fee included an audio guide which was great. Parking extra...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very moving history”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Excellent audio tour of all the exhibits, includes pictures,wall boards,films, artifacts,etc. Presented without apparent bias. It covers the history of JFK from the 1950's, not just Nov. 1963. The events of the day from the time he and Jackie landed at Love field throught Parkland Hospital are covered together with politics,other history of what brought JFK to Dallas that day, and of course alot of known info on Lee Harvey Oswald. I had visited the site of the grassy knoll in the 1970's,but to gain the visual perspective from the actual window was amazing. For all the times we've all seen the tape of the motorcade,you have to be in the building to understand how small the distances were.
That is perhaps the most surprising experience. My husband,who is an avid history buff,commented many times-"I never knew how close Oswald was. All the films and other documentaries make the window to car distance look more like a long shot than the length of a football field." Tons of information laid our chronologically and very well explained.Easy to spend 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 hours to absorb it all. Parking on a Sat. AM was very easy next to the museum,doubt this would be the case Mon.-Fri. Everyone of us born before 1953 clearly remembers this tragic day and will be moved and fascinated by the exhbit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank EMMAFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing