We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great South American Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Duni Latin Kitchen & Baking Studio

La Duni Latin Kitchen & Baking Studio
Ranked #26 of 81 Bakeries in Dallas
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Cee Vee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great South American Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have eaten at La Duni several times and always had a good meal. Tonight we had great meals. I had Carne Asada and my wife had Chicken Enchiladas. Both were very good. This is one of only two or three Dallas restaurants that can make a Caparrina, a common drink in Brazil that takes a unique sugar cane vodka. Two drinks, a shared appetizer, and entrees were $68 plus tip.

They are moving to a new location on Oaklawn and Maple. They say this will happen June 22, but I do not think they can make that date.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conrad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Small, cozy restaurant with fun atmosphere and excellent food and great wine selection. The desserts are incredible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dallasdiva85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Latin Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fabulous Latin restaurant! Three co-workers and myself had dinner here. We split the queso verde dip and none of us could get enough! For my entree, I ordered the Rice Salad with Chicken. It was aesthetically pleasing and completely delicious! Others at the table had food envy. For dessert, we split a banana split and the cautro leches cake. Fantastic! Also, the original Mojito is fabulous!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashes358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cee Vee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Popular Neighborhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a favorite of my wife. They have a fun, eclectic menu and a good bar that can fix a large variety of special drinks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Conrad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Used to be the best, but no longer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have been coming here for weekend brunch for many years. Not only did they have amazing, imaginative dishes, but they also had the highest standards of quality and consistency I've ever seen. Then, a couple years ago, an immigration issue changed all that. And they never recovered. I kept going until recently, but the inconsistent quality, particularly the soggy potatoes that most likely sit for hours so that no one has to take the time to fry another batch, have forced me to cease my patronage. I even tried another location on McKinney, but my huevos rancheros had a salsa that more closely resembled canned tomato sauce. And, of course, I got the same old excuse that two years isn't enough to solve their problems. Whether it's their labor issues or just a consequence of opening too many locations to handle effectively, this does not even resemble the La Duni I used to know.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Knoxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Duni Latin Kitchen & Baking Studio also viewed

 

Been to La Duni Latin Kitchen & Baking Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing