We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is quaint, but not the best..”
Review of Rise no. 1

Rise no. 1
Ranked #4 of 3,609 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It is quaint, but not the best..”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The server did not know much about French cuisine and tried telling me that wine in France is served in juice glasses. After she conferred with her boss she came back an apologized and said that it was their restaurant's thing, but indeed France uses wine glasses. ( no kidding) I was told if I wanted a wine glass I should request it in future because as a standard they use juice glasses for wine. As for soufflé it was okay, but the soup was fantastic! It was a bit pricey for the type of service, not sure I would go back, but I did like the wine list, so it might be worth it for that and the soup.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dubelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    176
    35
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving week in Dallas”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went, en famille, on two occasions. The decoration is very "quaint" and the souflees are excellent. The service is a little amateur but all in all very good.
A suggestion - bottles of sparkling water look a little more sophisticated than the current dispensers

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter_glazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Soufflé!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Haven't had a soufflé in years. So it was a special treat when, meeting friends here today for an impromptu lunch, I found that soufflés are a specialty. I ordered the sundried tomato/goat cheese and it was A-maz-ing. Light and fluffy, seasonings spot on, what a treat! Service impeccable and professional. Cannot rave enough!

Helpful?
1 Thank FoodiesAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper, Texas
2 reviews
“Overall, a good place.”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Great food, cool atmosphere. Our waitress was good, but I guess with the price of the food, I was expecting a little more from her. We went around 5 o'clock and there were very few people there. The hostess was not very pleasant, and tried to seat us out on the patio instead of in the dining room. The patio is dog friendly, which is cool, but it smelled like dog urine.... So, as long as you can sit in the dining room, you should have a good experience....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teiner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers FL
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A Favorite Place in Dallas”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

There is something very comforting abut Rise. From the minute you enter the shabby chic dining room until the last bite of souffle, you are transported to a back street in Paris. This restaurant is.a favorite of my niece and nephew who live in Dallas and who eat here often. There is a hidden frog that when found, provides the kids with a free dessert souffle. I enjoyed the salad, ham and cheese souffle and a pumpkin dessert souffle that was very creamy and good. The service on this occasion was efficient but not over enthusiastic. I would have liked a little friendlier service to match the warmth and coziness of the restaurant. I will be returning soon as I like the souffles and the idea of being transported to France.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rise no. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing