We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Stop”
Review of Hodie's BBQ

Hodie's BBQ
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Dalhart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Beaumont, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Regular Stop”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We found Hodie's by accident several years ago, and it has become a regular stop on our treks to Colorado. Good, solid homemade food in a family atmosphere, at a reasonable price. Whatever the homemade dessert of the day is, GET IT! We've had the peach cobbler and the apple dumplings, definitely homemade and tasty. The service is folksy and friendly, you feel right at home. The flies are a distraction, and the place could stand to be a little cleaner,,,but the BBQ, the desserts, the price, and the friendly service keep us coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElSanchez54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    38
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

After driving nonstop all day, I was starving to death and this place hit the spot. Noticed a lot of locals, nice families with well mannered kids, the place was jumping. Ample selection, generous servings and good service. Nice down home place, nothing fancy, just great food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EEMDallasTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent BBQ!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Very good food. Our family had brisket, ribs, chicken.... Each served with beans, coleslaw, and toast. Small town cafe atmosphere, friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tons of food for the $!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here because it was still crowded at 1 pm on a Friday. We were not disappointed. The food was really good, & at about $9 a plate, there was enough food for lunch & dinner that day. Fries & onion rings were average, but there was enough great meat that you don't need sides!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleehorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Out-of-Towner's taken care of”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Colorado because we were hungry and the parking lot was full (usually a good sign). Seated ourselves quickly and got in our drink order. The flies are unrelenting and the service is slow, but we were treated very well. We got a kids order of chicken strips, chopped BBQ beef sandwich, and the chicken sandwich. All was very tasty. I really enjoyed the chopped beef sandwich with the potatoes. A basket with containers of chopped onions and sliced jalapenos was available as well. The prices are average, the tables were kept full of patrons, and if we every go through Dalhart again, we would make the same stop for a good lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funtravels001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hodie's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing