We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Out by the Sea Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed August 10, 2007

My partner and I stayed here and we really enjoyed it. Todd wasn't a great host, but the house itself is lovely.
We stayed there for two nights and loved the close proximity to the beach and quiet surroundings. The deck is huge!
All in all, it was a great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ericasmileyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 66 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2007

We recently stayed at Out By The Sea Bed & Breakfast.
We cannot say enough about the stay. It was just wonderful.! The room (The Lafitte), was just lovely, with a private bath and Satellite TV.!
The B&B was very clean and the breakfast was excellent.
The grounds were very nice, with fresh flowers to pick daily for your room. It is very close to the beach, with easy access.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and plan to return again soon and tell our friends about "our find"
We highly recommend this lovely B&B to anyone seeking tranquility in a great setting!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank paradiseseeker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My girlfriend and I booked with Todd, the innkeeper, after looking at their website (which completely misrepresents this property). We arrived late afternoon...Todd was involved in a building project in the driveway...tools, etc were scattered everywhere...two very rundown motorhomes "grace" the property. We entered the house through a rotted out entry door...into a scene of dirty dishes, laundry, etc. (the great room consists of very rundown couches and an open kitchen). This is where guests are supposed to relax!
We were then shown to the Regatta bedroom...the air conditioning vents above each bed were covered with mold and the ceiling fan was encrusted with dirt/dust...after a walk on the beach to calm ourselves we informed the innkeeper that we would be leaving first thing the next morning (we didn't want to sit in the very long ferry line returning to Galveston).
In fairness I must report that Todd recommended a good restaurant for dinner. The other couple staying at the "B&B" were so disturbed by the kitchen filth that they cleaned it prior to retiring for the evening.
I love the Bed and Breakfast concept and use them frequently...Out By The Sea is a complete misrepresentation...no hospitality, no cleanliness standard, etc.
Bottom Line: This place is a disaster!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank liketotravelUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outbythesea, New Manager at Out by the Sea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2007

I'm sorry that you had a bad experience at our B & B. The former manager is no longer working here and I can assure you that we have worked hard the last few weeks to fix anything that has been broken and clean the place up. We appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention and hope that you will reconsider visiting us in the future.
Sharone Belt, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

I have stayed in several bed and breakfast locations before, and I have never enjoyed my stay as much as I did at the Out By the Sea. We arrived on a Friday evening and had made arrangements to get married on the beach that evening. Eventhough the weather was inclement and not the best for a wedding setup, Todd (the operator) went way above the call of duty and prepared the arch, tiki torches, a unity torch and everything else to make our wedding incredibly romantic and exceptional. In addition to all that, he even arranged for the minister and when we returned to the room after the ceremony, there were roses and sparkling wine in the room that he had arranged for us himself. The hospitality was superb, the food was the best I've had anywhere, and I would highly recommend Out By The Sea to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, pretty, and terrific place to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

Late August 2006 we made plans to spend our Labor Day anniversary at Out By The Sea and were booked into the 'Honeymoon Suite'.

We drove from north Texas and arrived late that night to find our room had been sold. The operator attempted to place us in a rundown, travel trailer parked beside the property. We declined the offer and drove back to Houston. We were told our money would not be refunded.

The on-site operator is not the owner. Neither the owner or operator have much in the way of business sense or integrity.

Imagine navigating the holiday Bolivar Ferry twice after a 6 hour drive, no warning of not having a room and then having to drive to Houston...on your anniversary...without a refund.

Stayed: August 2006
13  Thank TripperTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

NEVER STAY HERE! The owner is a certified nut. She reminded us over & over that she has a masters and was the owner and we had to do exactly what she said. We were there for a wedding as part of the bridal party. The second night there, after throwing tantrums at the bridal party, including the bride and almost ruining the wedding, she went one step further and around 1130pm kicked us out of the B & B saying it was her home, not a business, and we were not welcome any longer (even though we had already paid for the night). All weekend she wrongly accused random guests of "breaking" items in the house, and told us we couldn't eat at the dining table because she needed a place to fold towels. She apparently rented all of the rooms, including an "overflow" room that consisted of a matress lying on the floor, leaving herself no where to sleep except on the couch in the living room. VERY UNPLEASANT EXPERIENCE!! The rest of the staff were extremely caring and wonderful, but even they could not stop the owner ruining everyone's weekend AND the wedding! My advice is if you do visit the area, rent a beach house!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
19  Thank alwasyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Beach
15.5 mi away
Gulfway Motel
Gulfway Motel
#1 of 1 in High Island
63 reviews
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
14.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
779 reviews
13.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
15.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out by the Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out by the Sea Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2134 Vista, Box 2046, Crystal Beach, TX 77650
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Crystal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crystal Beach
Price Range: $150 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out By The Sea is a lovely coastal bed and breakfast in Crystal Beach. We are located on the Bolivar Peninsula. The peninsula is 30 miles of sandy beach and the audubon migration route for many species of birds. We are a well-known biding mecca with several sites for bird watching. We are a great family vacation site with our gentle warm water of the gulf, great fishing and shelling. Out By The Sea has 5 areas; The Regatta; a ;large room with 2 queen beds, The LaFitte; a lovely room for 2. These rooms are located in the main home. The Honeymoon Suite and the smaller room, Amour de le Mer are located in the attached building with a private deck which looks over the gulf and beach!The Honeymoon Suite is very romantically decorated and has a very large double heart shaped jacuzzi. There is also a large family area, The Pirates Den, has room for 5 guests, a bedroom, a living room area, a fully equipped kitchen and full bath.Small pets are allowed in this area only. Our tropical gardens make this truly a tropical paradise. Please join us to relax in one of our hammocks while the tropical breeze relaxes you as the waves gently break on the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Out by the Sea Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out By The Sea Hotel Crystal Beach
Out By The Sea b&b
Out By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Crystal Beach, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing