We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Delight”

Old Mexican Inn Restaurant and Cantina
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Corsicana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ennis, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mexican Delight”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Of course, in Texas, most of us love Mexican cuisine. I had an enchilada dinner (cheese).
The food was superb and the atmosphere charming and makes on feel relaxed.

The hosts were wonderful and the food arrived at the table, hot and delicious. This restaurant is worth attending and we drove from Ennis TX to go there. Outstanding...
Daurice Cody
Shine

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ollie88888T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Only fair mexican food.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A local favorite that is always busy. Good service with average Mexican food. Would not fare well in a bigger town I fear. Good salsa and chips, but I was not impressed by the orange dip. The dining room is dark, crowded, and very noisy. They do have excellent drink specials like $1.50 frozen margaritas. I think this is one of those places that the locals like just because they have eaten there for years and know what to expect.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a favorite.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

First of all the chips and tortillas are store bought. The salsa was different without a fresh garden fresh taste which might be from a jar. I didn't care for it at all. The queso was good. I had the Complete Mexican Dinner. Hard shell taco - ground meat was not seasoned well. Bean burrito was yummy. Next a plate of beans, rice, tamale and enchilada. The whole thing tasted the same. It was smothered in too much cheese. Guess I'm used to places that make their own tortillas at the very least and have great salsa. Sorry- just wouldn't recommend this place and will not try it again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harleygal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go on Wednesday Night!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Wed is the hot night, two dollar margaritas, four dollar enchilada dinner, you can walk away with a cool meal for two for $13.00. You have to get their early on Wednesday as the line goes out the door. But it is the best meal deal in town on Wednesday night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kudzie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The food is good. I had the Fajita Salad (chicken) and the chicken was very nicely seasoned. It came with pico de gallo and guacamole. Husband had chicken enchiladas and he enjoyed them. The food is a bit higher than some but it's been there forever.

The building is older, inside it is darker than I like but that was the style when they built the place. Our waiter was excellent. However, the man that checked us out wasn't very business oriented. He took our money and never said a word. I had also approached him to get a to go cup for my tea and, again, had nothing to say. Maybe he was having a bad day.

I recommend the restaurant. And make sure you try the orange dip for your tostadas. YUMMY

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mexican Inn Restaurant and Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Old Mexican Inn Restaurant and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing