We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Texas BBQ”
Review of Hard Eight BBQ

Hard Eight BBQ
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Coppell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Texas BBQ”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place is as comfortable and homey as any place on the Texas BBQ Highway from Lulling to Waco BUT it is up in North Texas. Delicious brisket and ice cold beer. Stop by. You won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank O T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    418
    112
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
821 reviews
549 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,550 helpful votes
“Top notch brisket....”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I just had Hard Eight BBQ for the first time this week. I really enjoyed the beef brisket sandwiches (chopped). The beef is juicy and flavorful. The smoked meat melts in your mouth. The potatoe salad was tasty and the cherry cobler was warm and delicious. There are two lines to help speed the line of customers who are overflowing during the lunch hour. You pick your meats and weigh them to determine price. The BBQ sauce was average. I would come back again for sure. The atmosphere is very rustic and cool. Good times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexanderDelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“meat fest”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Like the baby back pork ribs best. Nice rustic atmosphere. You place your order outside. The menu is on a large chalk board hanging above the smokers. You buy everything by weight.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers Paradise”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wow! You smell if from the moment you open the car door...BBQ. You walk in and the first thing you see is a giant grill with ribs, brisket, sausage, chicken, etc. You stand in line like a ride at Disneyland, waiting for your turn to order. Not the best BBQ I've ever eaten, but it offers great variety. You pick what you want, but be careful not to order more than you can eat. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
368 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Texas BBQ Done Right!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Oh My Goodness! That’s about all that I can really say to describe this place! I’m a Native Texan, raised on my Daddy’s home-cooked BBQ so trust me, I KNOW BBQ! You know that you are in for a treat when you walk up to the entrance and smell the fabulous aroma that is filling the air. You are then able to choose your meat directly off the pit and they have everything: brisket, ribs, turkey breast, bacon wrapped shrimp, sausage, corn, potatoes – everything! You pick and pay for it by the pound. Of course, you are further tempted once you get inside as there are many additional sides and desserts to choose from.

Warning! Stick to the meat because your eyes will be bigger than your stomach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaswinesnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Eight BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Hard Eight BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing