We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Barbeque”

McKenzie's Barbeque & Burgers
Ranked #5 of 229 Restaurants in Conroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For a taste of traditional, Texas-style barbecue, join McKenzie's Barbecue & Burgers for lunch, dinner or both! Try our sandwiches with your choice of filling: sliced beef, chopped beef, turkey, ham, chicken, hot link, sausage, sloppy jo, pork loin or pulled pork. Can't decide? Try our plates with your choice of 1, 2, 3 or 4 meats with two sides. For the real carnivore, you can have the plate with meat only, no sides. Hosting an event? You can order our meats by the pound.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Good Barbeque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is my favorite place to eat barbeque. Sauce has good flavor and the meat is very tender. There has been a couple of times that I thought my sliced brisket or chopped beef had too much fat, but some people might not think that is a bad thing. I usually get the baked potatoe with meat. Very good, but the potatoes are not very large. Still good place to eat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    48
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CONROE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Great ribs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of the best BBQ in Conroe it has great ribs and beef brisket.. The service is quick and good. The buffet has all the addition condiments for a good meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“It's all about the barbeque.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

With several chains having come and gone in the barbeque business, it's great to have a place like this. Fast service, great food and downhome ambience, it's great. You try it and you'll be hooked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

No one can ever complain about this BBQ!!! This place is amazing and they always have great food. The BBQ sauce and the meat is always so good and tender and I would never complain!! Please, if you are in the Frazier area you should swing by and eat here. You will not be disappointed!! EVER!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jimhandy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Family friendly and affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The quality of food is not as good as it used to be. The baked potatoes have always been superb but recently they are overcooked. Ribs are still great but the last time we got sausage it was dry. Staff is not as well trained as in the past. Something has definitely happened to the management. We prefer take out and eat at home. The prices are affordable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKenzie's Barbeque & Burgers also viewed

 

Been to McKenzie's Barbeque & Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing