We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown place with good home cooking”

Vernon's Kuntry Katfish
Ranked #1 of 230 Restaurants in Conroe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated, Vernon's Kuntry Katfish provides home-style cooking in a casual and comfortable environment. Just like walking into a family member's living room and having a relaxing dinner, Kuntry Katfish has the same homey atmosphere with its panel wood walls, carpet floors and personal touches. We also feature a large room that is perfect any event. Our large menu features many Southern favorites along with a broad spectrum of seafood (shrimp, scallops, oysters). Customer favorites include chicken fried steak, and of course, our famous katfish. Everything on our menu is cooked to order and made fresh every day - we guarantee consistent flavors and quality. We believe in high-quality products, large portions, and fast, friendly service. Whether you're having a casual outing with the family or you're grabbing lunch with co-workers, Vernon's Kuntry Katfish is the perfect place to go. Also be sure to ask us about our full-service catering!
Montgomery, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hometown place with good home cooking”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I go here about once a week. The kind of place you always see someone you know. Also best catfish in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    110
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
386 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Conroe”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We were craving some catfish so we headed to Vernon's. I had the small catfish plate and my partner had the combination with shrimp, oysters, and fried catfish. It was all very delicious and always the best catfish. We love the hush puppies too. It's a must when you are craving catfish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BedCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Like Stepping Back in Time”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've been to this restaurant several times, and have enjoyed it each time. It's not fancy, and it reminds me of restaurants back in my childhood. You pay at a register, and there are things to buy, like T-shirts in the glass case under the register. The food is good, again, nothing fancy, but the blackened tilapia with etouffee on top is excellent. They bring out hushpuppies with a great green tomato relish to the table. The relish is really tasty. The service was good, and it's a place where elbows on the table would not be frowned upon. There was a big meeting going on the the back room, so apparently, this is a good place for groups.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoozieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
102 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vernon's Kuntry Katfish”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Typical fish house. If they can fry it, they have it. Several times they didn't have catfish. It's good comfort food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandomNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Fried Catfish”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Fried catfish is the best selection on the menu. The southern sampler platter is the best appetizer with fried squash, fried green tomatoes, fried pickles and fried catfish bites. There is something on the menu for every member of our family. The good pie and the brownie supreme are our favorite desserts. There is a charming small town atmosphere. The wait staff is friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom23TeenBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vernon's Kuntry Katfish also viewed

 

Been to Vernon's Kuntry Katfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing