We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value/quality”

Saltgrass Steak House
Ranked #19 of 229 Restaurants in Conroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good value/quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Shared a light dinner--16 oz slice of rib roast, plus salad and baked potato. It was made to order and very good. Including a glass of Argentinian malbec (so, so), the bill was less than $25, and we had leftovers for the next day. Service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fihalper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    18
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still a solid choice for quality/value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stopped in for a light meal. We split a 16 oz slice of rib roast and the fixings--salad and potato. It was all good--and a great value. Including a glass of Argentinian malbec (not as good as hoped for), we had had a very satisfying meal at less than $25. Even took home some rib and potato for lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fihalper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We visited again for my birthday. I love the steak. So tender you don't need a knife. We use this as our 'go-to' for special occasions. The wait staff is always attentive. We got prompt and friendly service. We love the chocolate cake, which they now have a special box for since it's so large although the price has gone up to almost $9 for a slice. We take it home and can eat it for a week. This last time, it seemed to have more icing than cake so I think I'll pass on that in the future and go for something else. I still look forward to our visits there. Coming up again in February for my hubby's birthday!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Steak House Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We enjoyed our food so much, we went back 2 times, Our first visit was on a Saturday night. Place was packed! Even though we had called ahead, our wait time was about 30 minutes. But, it was worth EVERY second. I ordered a 12 ounce Prime Rib with a loaded baked potaoe and a side salad., My husband ordered Shrimp and Rib combo. Neither of us could finish our meal and took some home. The prime rib melted in my mouth and the Ribs fell off the bone. Salad was crisp and fresh. Our second visit was for lunch and we enjoyed the juiciest burgers ever. I would definitely go back and would recommend. Atmosphere- busy western décor and a little noisy Price mid range $12- $18 entrée

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, TX
Level Contributor
200 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Four of us ate at Saltgrass for lunch and ordered the lunch steaks. I had the lunch prime rib, and others in our party had the lunch ribeye and top sirloin. We all agreed that our steaks were really good and cooked exactly as ordered. Our waiter, Michael, gave us excellent and prompt service. This was the first time my husband and I have eaten at a Saltgrass Steak House, but it definitely will not be our last.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing