We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service”

Saltgrass Steak House
Ranked #18 of 228 Restaurants in Conroe
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This restaurant if well worth the visit. The service was excellent and the food was even better. There a a very good selection of steaks and seafood.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Right_Path
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    43
    19
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
390 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Good Experience w/ Very Large Group, but Only So-So Steaks”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to Saltgrass the Saturday after Thanksgiving with extended family. We had my wife, two of our sons, their wives and children, one daughter-in-law's parents, four of her adult brothers and two of their wives - 20 folks in all! We had a large table in an almost semi-private room near the front windows. That was nice. We had a variety of appetizers: Range Rattlers, Crab Stack, Artichoke & Spinach Dip, and Fried Mushrooms. All were excellent. We had a mixture of soft drinks, wine and iced tea. Entrees ranged from kid's Mac & Cheese, Chicken Fried Steak, Fish Tacos, Center Cut Filet and several of the luncheon special, a 10-oz Ribeye. Most entrees were good, but the Ribeyes were overcooked and were tough. Danny, our server was very attentive and did bring me the total bill which I had requested early when we arrived in spite of my daughter-in-law's father insisting he was going to pay. It was a nice meal and family get-together, I only wish the lunch special steaks had been better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaroonDawg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Traverse County, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Slowww service and OK food”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We went here on a Wednesday night and it took nearly 10 minutes to get waited on to start with. The place was not very busyvut it just seemed like service was not a top priority. The food was OK...nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank Yachtsman1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Ate here a year ago with a friend and talked about always coming back. Well, I'm in Conroe again and just had to come back. Just as I remembered. The food was excellent and our waiter was great. I will definitely come back if I'm in the area again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank La2step
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, lacking service”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staff turnover seems huge. The food is normally prepared well/ correctly, but the staff is horrible. The management is always willing to correct issues; however, there shouldn't be as many issues as we have encountered over the past...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tkc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing