We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas at its best”
Review of Vernon's Bar B Cue

Ranked #50 of 229 Restaurants in Conroe
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: We tried Vernon's Barbecue after being very pleased with Vernon's Kuntry Katfish. It was also a great place. They have kind of a mix and match menu with great barbecued brisket, sausage, turkey and ribs. their coleslaw is delicious as are the assortment of southern favorites, fried onions, peppers, hush puppies and stuffed potatoes. You order at the counter and they bring the food to your table when it is ready. A casual and friendly place with great food for a very reasonable price. It should be on your list of suggestions for Conroe.
Restaurant details
Description: We tried Vernon's Barbecue after being very pleased with Vernon's Kuntry Katfish. It was also a great place. They have kind of a mix and match menu with great barbecued brisket, sausage, turkey and ribs. their coleslaw is delicious as are the assortment of southern favorites, fried onions, peppers, hush puppies and stuffed potatoes. You order at the counter and they bring the food to your table when it is ready. A casual and friendly place with great food for a very reasonable price. It should be on your list of suggestions for Conroe.
Conroe, Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Texas at its best”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I could eat here every day. The food is really that goooood. All the barbeque is great - I have tried it all. Lots of sides, not just the potato salad and beans - maybe ten others besides. Their chicken fried steak is also tops. Real Southern Sweet Tea. Beer Garden is on the sign, but there is a family atmosphere and outdoor seating for those who want it. These folks know how to satisfy an appetite.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank norbrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Locals Know the Best Places”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I live in the Conroe area and eat at Vernon's Barbeque at least once a week. The food is outstanding and the atmosphere is very casual. You can sit inside or on nice days on the outside. The outside tables are covered and there is a fan on the back porch to keep you cool during the summer. I have several favorite meals, but the hamburgers and french fries are hard to beat. Many times I order the Turkey Bake which is a baked potato with cubed smoked turkey, barbeque sauce, and all the trimmings. The cooks there are fantastic because they have a lot of people to serve everyday and they do it in a timely manner. Each day they have 2 specials to order from. My favorite day to go is Thursday because they have a pork steak, green beans, and real mashed potatoes. There is always plenty of sweet & unsweet tea to have refills. The tea is a serve yourself place and as much as you want. I love that! When you see a long line every day, you know the food is delicious! By the way, the line moves fast. Try it! I know you will love it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ribs, Brisket, Chicken, Sausage- take your pick”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you are in Conroe, TX area Both Veron's Kuntry Catfish and right down the road is Vernon's BBQ- Same owners- totally different menu. Love both. WE both had the 2 meat and 2 sides for 12.99 each. I chose Ribs and Chicken - got a half chicken and 3 huge Ribs that fell off the bone. My husband got the Ribs and Smoked Sausage. We sat outside and it was VERY busy. Service is so-so (Order at counter and then it will be delivered to your table-unless there is a line at the register, then you go pick it up) But..... it was worth it. My ribs and chicken were more than enough for two meals. We both had take out boxes. Oh, and the pinto beans and green beans were delicous! The french fries were fresh cut potatoes and just the way I like them. Great place. Not too expensive, and not too fancy. Just good eating

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, TX
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“All around great place”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

No matter what you choose from their vast menu, you will enjoy it. The Bar-B-Que is excellent, including the chipped beef sandwich (my favorite). The hamburger/cheeseburgers are like we used to make at home- the best around.
Onion rings are also something to write home about.
And the iced tea is so good, we stop by there to get a to-go cup, even if we are not eating something.
There are also peanuts in the shell on the table to snack on while you wait.
Portions are generous enough to fill even the most hearty appetite!
You won't be disappointed. Dress and atmosphere are casual.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldilocks0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place is always packed but the barbeque is just ok”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The service is slow and the barbecue is on the dry side

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lakepeople-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vernon's Bar B Cue also viewed

 

Been to Vernon's Bar B Cue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing