We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just West of Utopia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bluff Cabins on the Frio
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Concan
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
744 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Just West of Utopia”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

You have probably seen some of the TV shows or magazine articles that report on day trips from San Antonio. Well, we decided to do that very thing and chose the Frio River area around Concan and Leaky as our destination. With the summer drawing to an end, school beginning and the river tubing crowd having dwindled, we thought it was a perfect time to do so. It's a two hour drive or so from San Antonio through the little towns of Castroville, Hondo, D'Hanis and Sabinal, but a very relaxing junket with much less traffic than the usual IH 10 or I35 traffic.

Among the numerous resorts, camps, and cabins that line the Frio, we chose the 7 Bluff Cabins in Concan after seeing their web site and reading about their gorgeous location. Driving down the river road and passing resort after resort, we finally approached 7 Bluff and could see one of the picturesque cliffs for which the property was named, towering over the campground reminding one a bit of Devil's Tower in the movie Close Encounters of the Third Kind. To get to the entrance of the property, you actually ford the Frio River on a paved road / "dam" with a couple of inches of water flowing across it . . . too cool!!

We checked in with the main office which is also a quaint little store. There we met Bree. She and her husband Brian, two UT grads who could not have been any more cordial and accommodating, manage the property. After a few purchases and obtaining directions and our visitor wrist bands, we set about exploring the campground.

There are numerous well kept cabins on the grounds with their own fire pits and porches in back nestled among the pecan tree grove and numerous spaces for RVs to park. There is also a restroom with showers for general use close to the RV area. Overlooking the river are some wonderful picture windowed "lodges" than can sleep several families with no problem. The setting is very serene and relaxing with the feel of your favorite childhood summer camp but accommodations that would meet the requirements of most discerning adults.

With a short walk from the campground down to the banks of the Frio, we found the water to be perfectly cold for a refreshing dip; very shallow in places, but also pockets of deeper water if you seek them out. Shade from the huge cypress trees bordering the banks provided a nice respite from the sun and a chance to sip a cold one.

After a couple of hours enjoying the water and beautiful river setting, we sloshed over to the newly installed swimming pool; a medium sized pool with fountains, waterfalls, and a bath house; very nicely done. The very gregarious grounds keeper, Scott, informed us of future landscaping plans and development of the area. As we enjoyed a bit more swimming and soaking, we watched the deer that ran back and forth to a feeder that was located only a short distance from the pool. We admired the spectacular view of the bluff above us and the heavily wooded grounds below the bluff in front of us - nature at its finest!

As shadows grew longer, we realized we would have to leave this little bit of utopia. We still had a stop "scheduled" in Leakey for a burger with the bikers, but that's another review. In the end, we left the resort totally relaxed and refreshed vowing that we would have to return soon and for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Tx
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a fantastic time at Seven Bluffs We stayed in cabin 12 and it was great!!! Bree and Bryan could not have been nicer!!!! We had to leave a day earlier than planned due to a health issue, and they could not have been more gracious!!! I would absolutely stay there again and would like to go in the summer to float the river!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethershe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, TXxas, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been staying at 7 Bluffs since the early 90's and have been nothing but completely satisfied with every visit. We have stayed in the cabins, RV Park, the Don... with no complaints. The pool was a great addition to the property and the kids love it in between watching the deer and turkey, tubing, and swimming in the Frio. Owners (Don and Betty) live at 7 Bluffs, work campers constantly making sure things are going smoothly/picking up trash/cleaning pool and the managers (Bree and Brian) are on-site the majority of the times we have stayed. Only complaint is that is has been getting a bit busier in the summer months but a great time is still had by everyone.
Will be our family vacation spot for years to come!!

Room Tip: RV 15 and 16 are great and all of the cabins and have fire pits, grills, satellite tv, not a bad spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We went with a group of friends, some in cabins and others stayed at the RV park. Park was clean and well maintained. Nice pool and a short walk to the river. Kids loved it and are already asking when we can go back.

The only reason that I did not give 5 stars was because the RV sites do not have cable TV. But hey, it never hurts anyone to get away from TV for a few nites.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingj254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We are just finishing our 20th stay here at Seven Bluff and have had nothing but wonderful, positive experiences with the cabins, the grounds, the staff and the owners.Before discovering this gem, we had stayed at many other places along the Frio. This is a family place and to be treated and taken care of like it is your home,as they treat us like family. We are pleased that they have rules and regulations to keep it this way.The cabins are nicely stocked in the kitchen and have always been CLEAN, which is important. I was dismayed to see a negative review as we have never experienced any of those things. There's always another side. This is South Texas so you are going to get some flies in the summer and they have a fly swatter! The river is awesome and fun whether the water is up or down. The swimming pool is a nice addition and such spacious grounds with beautiful trees.Very peaceful and relaxing.We can't wait till next year.Our grandson starting coming a few years ago and he looks forward to this also every summer.The swimming holes are great for young and old.

Room Tip: All the cabins are great depending on the size of your group. We found the duplex a little tight, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Seven Bluff for the past 6 years. It was a vacation that we would count down the days to. My kids and family loved the family feel of Seven Bluff. BUT--this year, things were much different. The owners are now off of the property. Our trash did not get picked up, there were bugs in the cabins (roaches and FLEAS!), and our children were asked to clean the swimming pool. We voiced our concerns to the management and things seemed fine when we left. Today, TWO MONTHS LATER, we get a phone call that we are not welcome to return.
I think Bryan and Bri have forgotten what family means and have enough success that they have forgotten those that have supported them in the lean years--even throughout the drought. It makes me sad that money talks even on the FRIO!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian7bluff, Manager at Seven Bluff Cabins on the Frio, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Our primary goal at Seven Bluff Cabins is to maintain a clean, peaceful, family-friendly atmosphere, including strictly enforced quiet hours each night and requirements that all guests register themselves and their vehicles at our office before entering the property. In order to preserve this atmosphere we sometimes have to turn away certain groups. The same owners that established Seven Bluff live on the property to this day and we are still a family owned and managed operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltop Lakes, TX
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My family has been going to 7 Bluff Cabins for 8 summers. It is the highlight of my year. 3 generations of us enjoy the clean, efficient cabins, the lovely grounds and river, and getting to know our "camping neighbors". The staff welcomes and treats you like family. There is so much to enjoy that a week isn't long enough. A great place for a family vacation!

Room Tip: Check the website and look at the map and cabin pictures. There isn't a bad location. All areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concan
22.5 mi away
Days Inn Uvalde
Days Inn Uvalde
#3 of 6 in Uvalde
113 reviews
21.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Uvalde
Hampton Inn Uvalde
#1 of 6 in Uvalde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
River Bluff Cabins
River Bluff Cabins
#1 of 3 in Rio Frio
114 reviews
21.7 mi away
Live Oaks Bed and Breakfast
22.5 mi away
Motel 6 Uvalde
Motel 6 Uvalde
#6 of 6 in Uvalde
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Bluff Cabins on the Frio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bluff Cabins on the Frio

Property: Seven Bluff Cabins on the Frio
Address: 4251 County Road 348, Concan, TX 78838-3845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Concan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Concan
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and comfortable Frio River cabins with modern conveniences located in a pecan orchard next to the beautiful Frio River in Concan, Texas. Our store is the best place on the river for all your summer apparel needs. We have top of the line swimwear, sandals, dresses, cover-ups, custom T's and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bluff Cabins On The Frio Hotel Concan
7 Bluff Cabins On The Frio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing