We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot close to Big Bend National”

Seminole Canyon State Park and Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park with spectacular views and some quiet campsites.
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice spot close to Big Bend National”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A very nice state park! Excellent for those who are into pictographs. There are a few sites with these prehistoric paintings, one is guided by rangers, the other is self-guided tour across a lake in the park. Good camping facilities on top of a hill for RV and tent sites. Across from the park about a mile down the road further west is another pictograph site called the White Shaman Caveand is guided by volunteers on weekends. Very nice interesting cave paintings, a hike to the spot not and quite accessible for those who are fit. Prehistoric and fascinating! Put that on your list if visiting southwest Texas!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Costaadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    21
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Participated in Christmas Bird count”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was hooked up with a ranger and we walked completely down the Seminole canyon until we could walk no farther. A beautiful setting and some good birds were seen. Unfortunately the average visitor would not be able to go on as long a walk but the rock paintings and what not close to the visitor center are certainly worth the visit. Camping area looked nice, good hot water though a bit exposed to the wind if you are tent camping.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“New trail adds to the views and hikes.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Haven't stayed in Seminole Canyon for at least two years, but this last month I enjoyed a two night stay filled with new adventure. The park should boast about the latest trail that runs along the canyon rim, making it a much better hiking and viewing experience. The trail is at least a 3 or 4 mile loop. Make sure to take plenty of water! I haven't seen the length of that canyon like this before and enjoyed it so much more than taking the hike down into the canyon to see the petroglyths again.
As well, the nearby Langtry park facility is an interesting diversion with historical trivia worth viewing.
We usually hope to kayak on the Pecos River near the Seminole park, under the Highway 90 bridge, but this time the wind was blowing too hard. Love crawling up into the large cave along the clifs under the park viewing area along side the Highway 90 bridge. This site has expanded and provides better views (rest area) of the meeting of the Pecos and the Rio Grande, as well, when you drive to the entrance of the boat docking area for the Pecos River.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank susannewaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome State Park”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I really enjoyed my time at Seminole Canyon, hiking and camping. We travelled out here to participate in the TPWD geocaching challenge and had a wonderful, scenic hike (until it got dark) along the canyon rim trail. The campground was quiet and I appreciate that many of the sites had shelters over the picnic tables. My only complaint would be that the tent pad was very hard, but hey, it's the desert. I highly recommend this often overlooked park for a relaxing getaway without the usual crowds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank strontium87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Rare pictographs”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Probably few people are aware of the pictographs located in the canyons of Seminole Canyon State Park, Texas. They can be viewed only by taking a tour led by a park ranger or volunteer, who gives an interesting background of the Indian paintings. The canyons themselves are beautiful. This state park is a Texas jewel.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seminole Canyon State Park and Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Seminole Canyon State Park and Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing