We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising gem!”

Double D Family Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Comfort
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A surprising gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Not a particularly attractive place on outside but terrific food and very friendly folks inside. I asked our waiter, Bo, about the area and he told me lots of most interesting history. Coffee very good and food plentiful and quite tasty. Will go again when in the area!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
2 reviews
“Accidentally Found - A Keeper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stopped in Comfort and accidentally found this gem. The hamburgers were hand-formed, big and down-right yummy. The buns were grilled warm and the onion rings were one-of-a-kind hand-battered with a batter unlike we had eaten before. And the portions were very generous! Would return just to eat those again! The grilled cheese sandwich with jalapeños was ooey, gooey and tasty, tasty. Carol the waitress really helped to make our time there memorable by being very accommodating and genuinely sweet. Thank you Carol for the great service and for laughing with us!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UofW-Husky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The burgers & onion rings are great! The chicken fried steak is huge & homemade mashed potatoes are awesome...we will definitely be coming back :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jfour77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hamburgers to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place was impressive, once we got inside. There are several indoor and outdoor dining areas, with excellent hamburgers of all sorts. They are freshly prepared and really good. They have an extended menu, but we opted for the burgers and hand cut onion rings. Prices were good, and so was the service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JayNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“New management, same bad atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ok, I said I'd try it again after new management took over. I went back on a Sunday morning recently and it was just gross again - or still. The table "cloths" nasty, torn plastic were sticky. I asked the waitress to please clean the table off and she slopped coffee all over. I had to ask her to come back and please soak that up. She had us change tables. Not a problem since there were no other customers in our end of the place. We had to ask for cream for the coffee. Then we had to ask for sugar. Food came and we had to ask for several things one at a time because the comprehension of what has to happen to set up a table is non-existant. The waffle was cold. Eggs and bacon passable. This place need a good scrubbing and maybe they should just complete the remodeling once and for all so we don't have to experience the crud that comes with it. I am NEVER going back to this place. I've given it several tries, at different times, with different management and it's just not acceptable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chapparral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double D Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Double D Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing