We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hill country surprise!”

814- A Texas Bistro
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Comfort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Temple, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small hill country surprise!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Nested on High Street, this cafe was a pleasant addition to our day! Fairly priced wine, wonderful fish, mussels and steak. Would return again when in area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HC8557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    13
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

It's funny, I've been to Comfort plenty of times because it's close to Kerrville and I have a friend there who does some work for me. But I've never actually stopped in town and had something to eat. I can tell I've been missing out. My advice to any travelers that are staying in Kerrville and want a great meal would be to drive a few miles to Comfort, because no place exists in Kerrville that is anywhere on this level. This place is simply excellent. I think what made it even better is I had assumed beforehand that because it was in Comfort it would decent at best, but I was mistaken.

The menu is very simple and only has a few choices. Before I go any further I want to make a general observation that restaurants that serve this way tend to have the best food in my opinion. You're not getting something they have hidden at the back of the freezer, but a few well executed and fresh dishes. I started with the salad with poached egg which was different but quite tasty. For my entree I had the New Zealand Lamb which was cooked perfectly and extremely tender. It was draped over andouille sausage and spiced grits with crawfish. The entree was certainly one of the top five I've ever eaten. I finished with a raspberry cheesecake which was smooth and moist and quite good as well.

I would urge anyone who's in Comfort or Kerrville to give this place a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jexes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy brunch!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Interesting menu that changes often. Brunch was so good, the French toast is fantastic! Made from a croissant, not bread. Presentation is lovely.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Because we are locals we can enjoy this great restaurant often. On Front Street in a former Post Office building, it is in the heart of the antique stores and shops in the little town of Comfort. Everything we have ordered here has been just great. The service is prompt and friendly. They have a nice selection of wines and beer to accompany the food, but it is not a bar. Reservations are recommended because there is limited seating and many tourists are finding Comfort. When the weather is pleasant, there is additional seating on the patio.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of TX's little hidden secrets”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Comfort, TX is a (somewhat) out of the way community between Boerne and Kerrville, one of the old German towns of the Hill Country, with a moving history and modern charm that is made ever more delightful by the great efforts to restore the old historic center of town and bring it back to life. A center piece is A Texas Bistro, a place of great ambiance and delicious food and drink, definitely upscale, and definitely worth the effort to get there. The menu is not large, but definitely every offering is worth considering and well done. Seating is limited; calling for a reservation is a "must". It is a very popular place with the region's connoiseurs.

ME

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 814- A Texas Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 814- A Texas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing