We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' weekend in a wonderful B&B”
Review of Stone Green Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mersham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Green Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Mersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Girls' weekend in a wonderful B&B”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stumbled across Stone Green Farm on TripAdvisor as I searched for a nice country B&B to take my mum to for her 50th birthday - and I seriously hit the jackpot with Stone Green Farm! From the moment I emailed Caroline & Geoffrey, they were wonderfully helpful and friendly and no request was too much for them.
When we arrived, mid-afternoon on a rainy Saturday in September, Caroline had 2 delicious slices of her Victoria sponge waiting for us, even though her and Geoffrey had only got home moments before we'd arrived. She served us a wonderful afternoon tea in the guests' lounge, and we snuggled by the fire as the rain lashed down outside - the only shame was that we couldn't sit on their lovely-looking patio outside!
Geoffrey showed us to our room, the Bosworth Room which is in the highest, and oldest part of the house (I wouldn't fancy the stairs after a few glasses of wine, is all I'll say!) We had 2 twin beds in a gorgeous room under the beams at the top of the house (but the ceilings are still a perfectly normal height!) Our bathroom was just outside our room, but it was just for us and that was no problem, as it meant we got to sneak out in our wonderfully fluffy white robes!
The beds were incredibly comfortable, but it was the small, finishing touches that really made a difference, like their own branded Stone Green Farm soap, and the provision of toiletries like cotton pads and deodorant in the room in case you'd forgotten yours. There were even local fudge pieces on our bed, and a cereal bar in the tea/coffee making area, which was ideal for our adventures the following day.
Mum and I went out for dinner at the local (ie. 2 minutes' drive!) Farriers Arms pub, which was quite smart and served delicious food. The set menu is quite a bargain for the quality of food. We ended up back at the B&B after watching a film around half 11 and, after an embarrassing incident with the key in our door, we had a brilliant night's sleep.
I woke up very excited for my breakfast, as I could smell it cooking whilst we got ready. Caroline and Geoffrey didn't disappoint, and the spread was quite something. I am a self-confessed breakfast addict, so I was very excited by the pancakes I'd chosen, which were absolutely delicious and kept me full for hours. But I also couldn't resist the chunky muesli and Caroline's fruit compote. Mum very much enjoyed her full English - although she would have perhaps liked seeded bread for her toast (a very minor remark!) I've never been to a B&B which serves breakfast at a communal table, and I must say that I really enjoyed the experience, as we got to meet a lovely American couple and another mother/daughter who had stayed for a friend's hen party in the same pub where we'd had dinner. It was a very civilised breakfast - and I could barely move afterwards, I was so full!
All in all, Caroline and Geoffrey made for a very welcoming stay and a special weekend for my mum, for which I'm very grateful. I'm sorry I wrote so much, but my only regret is not being able to stay another night - I would quite happy have devoured more of Caroline's cake and another breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelMary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyandCaroline, Owner at Stone Green Farm, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are delighted you had such a good stay at Stone Green Farm!! Your day at the lovely Leeds Castle and Smallhythe Place seemed perfect too. We always like to be thought of as part of our guests' stay rather than the place they have chosen to stay. Your comments about our breakfast are very kind. We have mentioned to the local baker about adding sunflower seeds to the bread as well as on the outside - a great idea. Do come back to us soon - we have an autumn offer and you can re-use your annual Leeds Castle tickets!! Regards to you both and happy birthday again!! Caroline & Geoffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
198
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Delightful and helpful hosts, a charming bedroom with excellent modern en-suite bath/shower room, and a really outstanding breakfast with nearly all local Kentish ingredients. Easily accessible from the M20 and therefore convenient for Dover. Certainly worth a return visit!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyandCaroline, Owner at Stone Green Farm, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it fitted in so well for two people heading from different places to meet. Your day in Canterbury and Afternoon Tea at Eastwell seem to have been a perfect way to spend a day too!! We do hope you make it back again - look at our Autumn Fruits offer on Trip Advisor!! Regards from Caroline & Geoffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka-shi, Fukuoka, Japan
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Clean and comfortable place with warm and friendly hosts. It was a really lovely cottage we have never stayed before in this area. We had a relaxing time although it was only one overnight. Next time, we should stay longer to enjoy the extensive garden and the grounds. I will recommend this cottage to Japanese travellers, because this cottage is located at a ideal place when exploring the southern part of England.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoshinori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyandCaroline, Owner at Stone Green Farm, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words - we are delighted to have visitors from around the world stay at Stone Green Farm and would welcome many more from Japan! We do hope to see you both again very soon. Regards from Stone Green Farm Caroline & Geoffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at Stone Green Farm on our way home from our family holiday in France. We were made to feel very welcome by Caroline and Geoffrey. We even enjoyed delicious homemade cake and afternoon tea in our own sitting room overlooking the large garden. Everything is spotlessly clean and all you could need is provided for. Would definitely stay again and cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyandCaroline, Owner at Stone Green Farm, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We are so pleased you all enjoyed your brief stay with us. It's great to have families here using the trampoline and football pitch!! Come back to discover everything Kent has to offer families - from castles, good food, shopping and lots to do in the countryside. Regards Caroline & Geoffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the PLUTO room for a wedding we were attending locally. On arrival we were greeted by Caroline and Geoffrey, shown to our room and offered tea and Caroline's excellent homemade Victoria Sponge in the guests sitting room, which is fully furnished with everything you would expect in your own lounge, TV, dvd's, books, sofas and chairs. The PLUTO room itself is wonderful with comfortable beds, a magnificent shower and bath, flat screen TV and what I thought a wonderful touch, a range of snacks to have with your tea or coffee. Plus the views from the room of the back garden and fields beyond are lovely. We played croquet on the lawn and football on the pitch with the family dog Gus joining in, begging the question why he hasn't been called up by England. The breakfasts were superb with local produce and a wide choice in the lovely dining room. To sum up, this is a truly exceptional B&B, in a building full of character and with hosts who make you feel like part of the family. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyandCaroline, Owner at Stone Green Farm, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We were delighted you all enjoyed your stay. After Dover Castle was such a success, don't forget Kent has many more castles to offer!! We hope to see you all again. Regards Caroline & Geoffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A delightful place to stay coupled with warm and friendly hosts. Stone Green Farm offers excellent value for money with spotlessly clean accommodation and a delicious breakfast. Caroline knows exactly how to make you feel welcome and has tried to think of everything you and your family might need for your stay. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyandCaroline, Owner at Stone Green Farm, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for making us your first TA review!! We were so pleased that your family chose to stay with us. Do come back for a longer stay if you are looking for a UK break!! Regards Caroline & Geoffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gildersome, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights here while attending a family wedding. As we arrived we were greeted by Geoffrey who took our suitcase to our room, Caroline came with coffee and delicious lemon drizzle cake. During our stay we felt very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was superb with our own sitting room, bathroom and bedroom with the bed being one of the most comfortable we have ever used. We would recommend Stone Green Farm to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffreyandCaroline, Owner at Stone Green Farm, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We always enjoy being part of family celebrations so having mother of the bride staying was really special. We are so pleased you both had a good stay. We look forward to meeting you again when you can have a more leisurely stay! Hope you are keeping well. Regards Caroline & Geoffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersham
5.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
10.1 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
11.9 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
941 reviews
3.8 mi away
Downsview GuestHouse
Downsview GuestHouse
#1 of 2 in Kennington
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Green Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Green Farm

Property: Stone Green Farm
Address: Stone Green Farm Flood Street, Mersham, Ashford TN25 7HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Mersham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stone Green Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Green Farm is a friendly but professional family run business in 15th century farmhouse. Grounds and garden available for guests. We pride ourselves on being part of our guests' visit to Kent whether holiday or business. Daily tour plans and suggestions available. Special dietary requirements catered for if notified when booking. A perfect introduction to a traditional Kent farmhouse and relaxed retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing