We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buffet is so good!”

Schobels' Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbus, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Buffet is so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Schobel's is our hometown restaurant. It has great food on the buffet as well as a full menus. The BLT is a great choice for a light meal. Pies are homemade and yummy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamalyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    90
    32
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
287 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wide variety of very good fresh tasty breakfast choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

From basic breakfast items like omelets, pancakes, waffles, French toast, poached eggs and breakfast burritos to steaks and chops, there are loads of options from which to choose. You can check their menu on their website. We both ordered Western Omelets, which came with biscuits (or toast), and hash browns or grits. We found the food to be very good, fresh and tasty.
This is certainly not a 'fast food' place, but the wait was reasonable.
Only a few customers were in the restaurant when we were there; however, across the dining room, our waitress was talking to another waitress almost the whole time we were there, and that chatter made our wait a bit less than a desirable experience, and it continued until we left.
Probably if there were several more of customers in there, the chatter would not be noticeable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Very good buffet. Lots of choices ...all good. Excellent service. Sslad bar unbelievable great. I recommend.

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“glad to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We love this restaurant. It was an accidental find two years ago and now we go when we have the chance. The food is excellent, so many options! The staff is also courteous and efficient.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank germangirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Level Contributor
600 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Very good German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had the Weiner Schnitzel and the German Platter, which had some excellent sausages, red cabbage, sauerkraut, and German Potatoes. Lots of wonderful food for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schobels' Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Schobels' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing