We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend ”

Lake Colorado City State Park
Humble, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend ”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful gem of a park off and away from the Interstate. It was very quiet at the park this beautiful Sunday morning. This was our first visit and we just snooped around checking out the park. They have nice camping areas, cabins, picnic areas, a fishing pier, beach and boat launch. The grounds were kept up very nicely and there were a lot of bluebonnets. We also saw prairie dogs, roadrunners and a bobcat!!!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank msch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    16
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Adequate RV parking without charm”
Reviewed March 23, 2017

...it was the only thing available for spring break camping in the area, so it was a good find. There is free firewood near the park entrance and the rangers seem friendly. It was not crowded at all. Fires are allowed only in fire rings and barbecue grills. We did not use the baths/showers. There is a playground in the center of one of the loops, but watch out for lots of sand spurs!! There are no trees or foliage between RV pads, but each pad seems to have one or two small trees. I would recommend for a one night stopover on the way to somewhere else.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaW319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Al
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Almost deserted in January. Overpriced”
Reviewed March 19, 2017

We stayed for a couple nights while in route to Arizona for an extended stay. There were only a couple campers in the entire park so it was pretty quiet. There is a hiking trail along the lake, not a mile long but a nice walk. The prettiest camp spots are down by the cabin rentals they have but they are primitive with no hookups. There are water hookups with the electrical sites but no on site sewer hookups. The water is a nasty brown color and I had to change my whole house water filter after using it for two days. I thought the campsite was reasonably priced until they added $8 extra for the two of us. If the water had been clean it would maybe have been worth it. The bath houses were old and badly needed some cleaning and updating. Probably would not stop again. There was a lot of broken glass all along the lake shore so it would not be safe for swimming. The boat dock was closed when we were there so we could not sit by the water. There is a gas power plant across the lake that is rarely operating but normally in standby.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank HDSlowride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice campsite and wonderful employees”
Reviewed March 17, 2017

The lake itself is not all that beautiful. It has a hydroelectric plan right on the lake. However, the employees are super nice, and the facility itself is nicely kept. Our campsite has water and the bathroom was kept warm on cold days. Most of the campground we looked at has a burn ban, but this park still allows us to have a campfire which was fun for our kids.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kaye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice park off the beaten path”
Reviewed December 2, 2016

We stopped at this park as we camped across Texas. Really enjoyed the fact that it was out of the way and secluded. We stayed at an electric site at the back end of the park and had the place to ourselves. Very quiet and enjoyable. The town of Colorado City is small with a lot of charm - there are a number of downtown shops and we happened to catch a flea market where we bought some fresh produce. One note about the park - all of the grass areas have stickers( called Goatheads) and they will get everywhere and our dogs got to where they would not even venture into the grass due to the stickers.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiliagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Colorado City State Park also viewed

Colorado City, TX
Colorado City, TX
 

Been to Lake Colorado City State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing